Customer Reviews for

All She Ever Wanted

Average Rating 4
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed this book very much

I don't agree with blah blah either. I found this book at my local friends shop at the library. It's the first book I have read by Lynn Austin and I really like her style. I thought that the story being told in reverse, from the main character, Kathleen, back through he...
I don't agree with blah blah either. I found this book at my local friends shop at the library. It's the first book I have read by Lynn Austin and I really like her style. I thought that the story being told in reverse, from the main character, Kathleen, back through her mother and then her mother was wonderful style, original. It made it interesting and I felt like I was actually digging through her family history too, learning how she became who she was, how her mother because who she was, and so on. I liked forming an opinion of a character then learning more about them later on and reforming an opinion. It was eye opening and enlightening. I haven't finished it yet, but I am really enjoying it and plan to read more of her books! Thanks, Lynn Austin!

posted by MotherGooseVA on June 8, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

3 1/2 stars...

If I could give this 3 and a half stars I would. But on here you either give a book 3 or 4 stars. I really just had this book on my TBR list and decided to finally get it. It was well worth the read. The only part that kind of lost it's touch for me was Fiona's part. Bu...
If I could give this 3 and a half stars I would. But on here you either give a book 3 or 4 stars. I really just had this book on my TBR list and decided to finally get it. It was well worth the read. The only part that kind of lost it's touch for me was Fiona's part. But it was a wondeful book that I couldn't put down. It really makes you think about family and how important family is.

posted by KasiLou on December 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2013

    Fantastic

    Real women. Real families. Real tragedies. A smart, riveting story of life, sadness, hopelessness, and redemption.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    highly recommended

    I like Lyn Austin's books. I believe I have read every one of them. This one is very good and is a must read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Great generational saga!

    I loved this book! If you ever wonder why your mother or grandma is the way she is...this story is for you! Very unique and lots of heart. A great love story...but so much more than just that.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Great book!

    Lynn Austin is one of the besr!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    highly recommended

    This book was quite inspirering. So many families today are disfunctional and there is always that tendency to try to forget the past as you start a future of you're own making. However the things that have happened to you in the past will always be a part of you, thus will always affect you in some way. So facing these things and dealing with them is really the only way to get on with you're life. This book illustrates that fact. Forgiving and loving you're family is the only way that you can have love for yourself, which then allows you to love others. Also where Fiona was concerned it helps you understand how people can get themselves in situations, that causes them to go against things they believe in. Very Stirring book as all of Lynn Austins have proved to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    3 1/2 stars...

    If I could give this 3 and a half stars I would. But on here you either give a book 3 or 4 stars. I really just had this book on my TBR list and decided to finally get it. It was well worth the read. The only part that kind of lost it's touch for me was Fiona's part. But it was a wondeful book that I couldn't put down. It really makes you think about family and how important family is.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2009

    Enjoyed this book very much

    I don't agree with blah blah either. I found this book at my local friends shop at the library. It's the first book I have read by Lynn Austin and I really like her style. I thought that the story being told in reverse, from the main character, Kathleen, back through her mother and then her mother was wonderful style, original. It made it interesting and I felt like I was actually digging through her family history too, learning how she became who she was, how her mother because who she was, and so on. I liked forming an opinion of a character then learning more about them later on and reforming an opinion. It was eye opening and enlightening. I haven't finished it yet, but I am really enjoying it and plan to read more of her books! Thanks, Lynn Austin!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 24, 2008

    400 pages i couldn't put down !!!

    no way blah to me. i read several books per week and this is the first review i have ever written. it's just too good not to reccommend. thank you lynn austin.....

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2007

    very good book

    This book was very good. It gives the backround of the main charecter. It kept my attention and that is ussually hard to do when it comes to reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    This book started off getting my attention right away and it kept my attention throughout the whole book. It was a truely wonderful book who I would recommend to anyone. Easy to read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    I couldn't put it down

    I really enjoyed the way that this story was woven together with pieces from the past. The different points of view and varying life events bring the story full circle and give detail without loosing momentum. I recommend this book to those who love read for the pure enjoyment of a book. Loved it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2005

    Super Fantastic !!

    Lynne Austin is a master at story telling. There is no other way to put it! This book is her best to date -- my other favorite is Eve's Daughters. In fact if you like ASEW then you must read ED!! Thanks Lynne for giving us decent meaty novels to devour!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2005

    Another wonderful book by Lynn Austin!

    This is a great book about three generations of women. I can't put it down!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2008

    A reviewer

    Lynn Austen¿s All She Ever Wanted is four hundred pages of blah. Austen¿s book examines the complexity of the mother/daughter relationship by telling the stories of three generations of mothers and daughters. The story follows Kathleen, a woman of strong Christian faith, who fled her home 35 years earlier, to escape her disgraceful family. But as Kathleen attempts to salvage her relationship with her own daughter she is forced to examine her family¿s past. And the more she discovers the more realizes that she is just like all the other women in her family. She was a runner, when life got tough she fled. And that¿s exactly what her own mother and grandmother did, they ran away. But Kathleen doesn¿t want to make the same mistakes her mother and grandmother made with their own daughters. With the urging of her daughter, husband and her daughter¿s therapist Kathleen returns to her family¿s home in New York with her daughter in tow. She hopes that by sharing her story and her family¿s story with her daughter she will be able to salvage their relationship before it¿s too late. Her faith in God and the Christian religion forces Kathleen to reexamine her own mistakes and pushes her to forgive. The idea of Austen¿s book is an interesting one, but the actual story is too slow paced to hold the reader¿s attention long. Austen often loses touch with the reader as she loses her focus and makes a left turn instead of going straight. She spent too much time on the minute details rather then the story itself. Unless you are an avid fan of Austen¿s work, I would suggest you steer clear of this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2