Customer Reviews for

All Souls

Average Rating 3
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Couldn't Get Past The 1st Chapter

    I guess it's true what they say - Don't judge a book by its cover.
    I really liked he cover of this book, so obviously I gave it a go. Too bad I couldn't even get past the first chapter. I found it too confusing and too many characters with few detail were mentioned before the second chapter.
    I couldn't grasp the concept of the book, though I liked what I could understand of the plot. I'm not one to simply give up reading a book, but as much as I tried I couldn't get into the story.
    A real dissapointment.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    All Souls

    This book was AWESOME!! I loved it!!! This book kept me reading and wanting more. I thought this book was good because in a way I could relate to Astra. I mean not the part about being sick but the part about not being able to dance. This book really made me stop and think about all the things that I can do and not all the things I can't do. I can dance in my entire dance in all my dance shows, unlike Astra who can't dance because she has that really bad disease there for causing her not to dance. My feelings about this book were very sad. They were sad because I felt like I could have done something to help her and to be her friend because she didn't have any friends. So I felt like she needed a friend. Those are my thoughts and feeling about this book. I would recommend this book to teenage girls, especially girls who take dance classes and love the sport of dance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2009

    this was a dud to me

    I tried, I really tried - I began twice, in fact, and found the book to be superficial, with shallow character development. From now on I will not read reviews, I will see if I can read the first few pages before I waste my money.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2009

    An insightful read

    All Souls is an amazing character development of a group of girls in a private school who are touched by the seemingly terminal illness of one of their friends. The interplay between the friends and themselves, the sick girl, and their parents, mirrors many of the issues that face families and students today, even though the novel is set many years before.
    All kinds of jealousies occur. An overwhelming desire of several senior girls to get into Brown makes the college plans of others in the class seem less worthwhile until the end of the book. Those who considered themselves "the best friend," of the sick young girl are nonplussed by the fact that the outcast of the group is the only one who actually visits her regularly. Two teachers, who can never seem to address their actual feelings, find catharsis in their visits to the hospital. And, one friend actually addresses the true fate looming, even though she does so in blunt and untactful words.
    For the reasons outlined above, and the dysfunctional family situations portrayed, the characters of this novel amuse, entertain, sadden, and challenge the reader. But, the real value of the book is the fact that the reader has to stop cold several times and ask, "have I acted like that?", "do I feel like that?", "has my life been like that?"
    There are so many mirrors placed before the reader that this book continues to bring pause long after the last page is read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    'WHO DO YOU THINK YOU ARE?' 'A DU PONT.'

    There aren't any descriptions of tranquil happy school years, those 'good old golden rule days' are prehistoric in Christine Schutt's spot on story of the students, parents, and teachers at Manhattan's Siddons School for Girls. A New York prep school teacher herself Schutt well knows of what she writes, and she does so with always delicate, sometimes sparse yet revelatory prose. Characters are displayed to a farthing in snippets of conversation or thoughts. At the center of the story is Astra Dell, a senior class girl who is suffering from a rare form of cancer. She is that 'pale girl...the dancer with all the hair, the red hair, knotted or braided or let to fall to her waist, a fever, and she consumed.' Her father is scarcely able to cope with his beloved daughter's illness. He longs for Grace, his late wife who was killed in an auto accident. Despite Astra's suffering, knowing his sorrow, it is she who tries to console him. Carlotta Forestal, known as Car, is Astra's best friend. Car has an eating problem, devoting the tense meals shared with her mother to simply pushing and mashing the food on her plate. She has a retreat - her father's apartment to which she has a key. She would go there simply to wander about and phone. It is there that she can light a cigarette and 'ash it on the table.' Mr. Forestal had an unlisted number and her mother didn't know it, so she was safe. Car thinks of Astra and writes frequent notes to her, which are added to the surfeit of good wishes, balloons and flowers that decorate her hospital room. Another who often thinks of Astra is Marlene Kovak who visits her often, and pens lengthy letters to her. These missiles are sometimes single spaced and three pages long. Marlene will sit in a corner of the school lounge, listening, taking notes, all to be relayed to Astra. A misfit among the daughters of wealth Marlene is an enigma. She attends Siddons solely because her mother, Theta, borrowed money to keep her there. Theta works in a dentist's office to maintain their modest home and make payments on her debt. Theta is as out of place among the mothers as Marlene is among the students, most of whom are economically privileged and emotionally deprived. Some other soon to graduate students are Alex and Suki, best friends, who yearn to be party girls and whose college acceptance is assured thanks to family wealth. Although in a group they often engage in sub rosa conversations. As obsessed as they are with their own futures they, too, are affected by Astra's illness, remembering that she came back to school the day after her mother's funeral and agreeing, 'She's perfect.' Add to this mix the teachers, specifically Anna Mazur who had come to New York from Michigan seeking 'sophistication and experience.' She found neither, is attracted to Tim Weeks, the most popular teacher at Siddons, and continuously confuses the names of two black girls. When asked, 'Do we all look alike, Miss Mazur?' The thought is 'The problem was the girls did look alike.' Another faculty member is Dr. Meltzer, 'a fat man who smelled like the movies.' After a mishap in class, he screams at a girl, 'Who do you think you are?' The reply is 'A Du Pont.' This is the world Schutt invites us to enter, and it is a fascinating one peopled with finely wrought characters and quite memorable. - Gail Cooke

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1