Customer Reviews for

All Souls: A Family Story from Southie

Average Rating 5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted March 2, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A MUST READ! GREAT FOR BOOK CLUBS!

    Thank you Michael Patrick MacDonald for having the strength to write this book. I can't believe you lived to tell this story. You are truly an inspiration. This is an awesome piece of American History and I urge everyone to read this powerful book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2008

    Outrageous

    I have never reviewed a book before but I had to share this one with everyone. I read alot of true stories, this one is the best. The way it is written, it really holds your attention. I'm not just saying this, it truly is hard to put down.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2005

    Such a touching book

    I saw both sides of the culture clashes when I was growing up in the 1970's. I went to both a lower class neighborhood school, and an upper class private Catholic school. I am the same age as Michael McDonald's siblings, the twins, Mary and Joe, born in 1958. I related so much to many parts of this book, and thought it was so wonderful that I have bought a copy of it although had originally checked it out from the library. I would recommend this to anyone in social work, teaching, suicide survivors, recovering addicts and alcoholics, and anyone wanting to relate to family and relationship issues in any way. It's just a great read.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2005

    A+ work!

    Hands down one of the best memoirs I have read in years. Truely compelling. At times I felt so bad for his family. It is such a shame that this still goes on in America. But this is a good eye opener for some.A must read for all fans of Irish-American history. I wish the author all the luck in the world.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2005

    All Souls

    Thank you Michael MacDonald for having the courage to piece together so many painful memories in order to create All Souls. No book has ever touched me like this. You are a true inspiration to all oppressed people looking for hope. All Souls has helped me in my healing/recovery and given me insight into the place where my grandparents emmigrated to, South Boston. Thank you again.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2014

    Highly recommended.  Gripping!!  Excellent Writing!!!

    Highly recommended.  Gripping!!  Excellent Writing!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2008

    Great book..

    This book was great. growing up in a suburb of boston i could relate to the 1970's political issues and also growing up in that same time-frame. very sad at times, but definately a good read..

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 9, 2007

    A reviewer

    I can't believe that these kids made it out of Southie! The author took a seeminly hopeless existance and added the sense of pride he felt from growing up there so that the reader felt both emotions. God Bless them!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2005

    A MUST READ

    This was a truly compelling story. This should be a must read for all high school students to realize the dangers that lie out there and how they may affect all of our lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2004

    An amazing story

    I loved this book so much I read it twice, and I NEVER read books twice. It's amazing that a world the author created actually existed. This book is by far one of my most famous books of all time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2004

    AWESOME CHOICE FOR YOUR BOOK CLUB

    We read this book for our most recent book club discussion. Everyone loved it! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    THANK YOU MICHAEL PATRICK MACDONALD

    Thank you to Michael Patrick MacDonald for having the strength to write this book. You are truly an inspiration. This is an awesome piece of American History and I urge everyone to read this powerful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2002

    Brutal honesty

    MacDonald's book is written with the brutal honesty of someone who has been in the eye of the storm. He took on a subject that is often a dirty word - Class.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    A great story!

    I thought this book was absouletly amazing! The author did an excellent job writting it while going through an emotional rollercoaster!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2002

    Fighting Irish

    An amazing tale of courage, patience, luck, loyalty and family. The author adds more depth to the phrase Fighting Irish. Having read Angela's Ashes and 44 Dublin made me; I assumed that this would be a re-write of those great books. I was so very mistaken! Michael Patrick MacDonald's writing cuts clear to the bone. His story and survival are amazing. If you have never heard about Southie you must read this. This is Southie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    Southie!

    After reading this book I could relate to it because I myself am from Boston and I know how it is to grow up in the economy. Michael is a great writter and had great detail in it also! Oh yeah And Michael Patrick Mac Donald Is Sexy!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2001

    Good Ol' Southie

    Growing up just outside Boston, you hear of the struggles in the urban neighborhoods of the city. Even with this knowledge I was unprepared to read of the trauma suffered by one family and the code of silence (fear) throughout the community that only served to perpetuate the drugs and violence that plagued the streets. I began reading the book on the bus on the way to work one morning and could not put it down. Despite a 10-hour work day, I finished the entire book just after midnight. A truly engrossing book. I live a mere five blocks from MacDonald's childhood street, and driving past it conjures vivid thoughts of life in the Old Colony projects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2001

    VERY GOOD BOOK

    This book was full of triumph and drama. I loved this novel in and out, it never became boring. I hope Michael MacDonald would write another!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2001

    This book will both haunt and inspire you!

    I bought All Souls shortly after reading Angela's Ashes, expecting to read the U.S. version of Frank McCourt's saga, that of an Irish family living in poverty. But All Souls was a story even more compelling. MacDonald's story leaves nothing out - the victims of Southie's crime, drugs and violence are given names, faces, and families. The reader will be rivited to each and every story, hoping for every victim's eventual happy ending. But happy endings in Southie are few and far between - with the exception of the author's. Though his life was marred by tragedy, Michael Patrick MacDonald is a survivor whose experiences have made him the compassionate advocate that he has become. The book's conclusion is inspirational. MacDonald is a brave man to have written such a brutally honest book. This is a book you will not want to put down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2001

    You will not want to put it down!

    I grew up in another section of Boston at the same time as the older kids in the family. My grandparents were from Ireland also but somehow we ended up in one of the 'tonier' neighborhoods. When I finished the book, I studied the pictures for a while and then read the first chapter over and then the last few pages again. It could have easily have been my family.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 39 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2