Customer Reviews for

All Souls: A Family Story from Southie

Average Rating 4.5
( 43 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Sad book but very interesting.

I was raised during the same time as this author but I do not live in a huge city so growing up the way he had to is completely foreign to me. The book held my interest all the way through and I found myself wanting to know more about the author and his siblings when I...
I was raised during the same time as this author but I do not live in a huge city so growing up the way he had to is completely foreign to me. The book held my interest all the way through and I found myself wanting to know more about the author and his siblings when I finished the book.

posted by 10704879 on January 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

OK

Not as good, but not as depressing as "Angela's Ashes."

posted by anonomas on April 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Sad book but very interesting.

    I was raised during the same time as this author but I do not live in a huge city so growing up the way he had to is completely foreign to me. The book held my interest all the way through and I found myself wanting to know more about the author and his siblings when I finished the book.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    The other parts of Boston most dont know

    Very well written and eye opening book. I even lived in Boston and had no idea this kind of crime and poverty existed in the late 90's. Gritty and honest, this story helps you see poverty in a different way. Loved this book.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    great book

    Having lived in Southy while my children were young, I found this book somewhat accurate. Great book

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2011

    Loved it

    Great story, it made me laugh and almost cry all at one. Michael tells a great story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2013

    OK

    Not as good, but not as depressing as "Angela's Ashes."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    <3

    I completely love this book. It's dear to my heart. Very moving and touching. No matter how hard we think growing up was, this book is humbling. I've read it twice and will surely read it again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2015

    Anyone who has ever lived in Boston should read this heartbreaki

    Anyone who has ever lived in Boston should read this heartbreaking story of the disintegration of an Irish family from South Boston (the greatest place on earth).  From the police to the politicians and Whitey Bulger, everyone extracted their pound of flesh from these poor, proud people who would never snitch.  To be a rat was the lowest form of sub-human life, and yet it turned out that the biggest rat of all was the king of Southie, Whitey Bulger.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2014

    Soul Eater Fanfiction-CHAPTER THREE: Brothers & Sisters. Wait, Kid has a sister?!

    "Kid, Shinigami-sama wants you in the Death Room." Stein said, tugging on his sleeve. I glanced up from where I was, putting down my pencil.
    "Alone?" I asked, then got up. Liz and Patty shot me looks of curiousity as I was leaving.
    •••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••••
    "Father? You asked for me?" I asked, walking into the room.
    "Kiddo!" My father chirped, "Wanna join us?" He asked. Us? Who el-
    "Hello." A girl about my age sat next to him, a shy smile on her face. I was speechless. She-she was beautiful. Symmetrical? Yes. But also gorgeous. Her black hair fell around her shoulders, the three lines that I despised on me matching her looks beautifully. Her gold eyes bore a similarity to mine, but hers had no pupil. She was perfect.
    "He-hello." I stammered.
    "Kid, this is Marie. She's your younger sister. Marie, this is Death the Kid. He's your big brother." Father introduced, oblivious as usual. I sensed Marie's soul, and was shocked. Witch, Kishin, AND Shinigami? She seemed completely at ease, though.
    "Pleased to meet you." Marie said politely.
    "Kid, could you please show Marie home?" My father asked.
    "What about Peytan?" Marie asked, worried. I nodded.
    "Peytan? She said she thinks she has family here. Which is true. One of my Death Weapons, Justin Law, is going to be her guardian." My father reassured her, putting his hand on her shoulder. "Now, Kid. Take your sister home, will you?"
    ••••••••••••••••••••••••
    "What was she like?" Liz asked.
    "She looked a lot like me." I replied, picking at my food. "Her soul was extremely powerful."
    "I could sense it, too. A soul like that is extremely dangerous. Especially now." Maka agreed. I looked up, sending a small nod in her direction. The whole way home, Marie was silent, nearly falling over from exhaustion.
    "Not as powerful as the almighty Black*Star's!" Black*Star shouted, irking me.
    "She seems pretty cool from what I can tell." Soul said. Patty was quiet, making a giraffe out of her food. I could hear conversations going around of the powerful soul that was in the DWMA, and if it would help with our invasion of Arachnaphobia. I hoped it helped. I hope my father was doing the better thing, letting Marie and her weapon come.
    ••••••••••••

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    very good

    disturbing, but the raw truth...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Must read

    This was so sad n yet this is a family that went Thur hard time in their life.Out of all the kids that was killed n injury.,life goes on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2014

    Mostly sad

    It makes one happy that they were born in the rural south. Also, it makes you realize that blacks are not the only people living in slums in the larger northern cities.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 7, 2014

    Incredible, Important - YOU MUST READ!

    I am a 67 year old African-american woman and I remember the absolute ugliness of Boston during the busing period. Alabama had nothing on south Boston. The white Irish "southies" were animals and rabid racists. All Souls documents one typical "southy" family's existence and pain during this period of U.S. history. It is tragic. One hardly ever counts the costs of poverty, urban decay, corruption and racism to the majority community but ALL SOULS lists the costs to the last red cent. I was deeply moved by the heartwrenching story of the MacDonald family and hope I will be a little more open to the experiences of others due to it. While racism is intolerable and unexcusable, it is not the sole opressive issue facing our society. ALL SOULS and the the MacDonalds make it clear that all people must begin to recognize and demand change from corrupt, self-serving systems, otherwise WE will all remain victims. A very good read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    One of the best books ever

    I will never look at people like I did before I read this book .
    This book will open your eyes. A real page turner.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2014

    Teagan

    Great! I love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Mystery

    Yay new chapter! It's sooo good...by the way I'm starting a story a 'trigonometry' res 1-3. Nothing to to with the search term, just though math textbooks = virtually no existing reviews or Rps...Keep going!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Zack

    Wow!!! Keep writing!!! It is so good!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    I wanna know more

    -fox &#23256

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Wonderful wonderful

    Jpw

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Their Story: Dismay Stormcloak.

    Lightkit wandered through the forest. She wasn't looking for a clan, nor was she looking for a Twoleg place. She wanted to be anassassin. Why not? Her clan was dead. Might as well be. Though, sh would need a new name. From the stories she heard from Skyrose, her mother, most assassin clans weren't too keen on “clan” names. Also, the gruff rogues that killed her parents had names like Katana, and Woe. <br>"What's a young kit like you doing in Bloodclan territory?" Sneered a voice. Glancing around, Lightkit realized she was in an alley. The cat in front of her was rather underfed and quite pitiful. So, she did whatever normal(ish...) kit would do. She puffed up twice her size and snarled at him. <br>"l can go where l want. Where is your leader?" Clearly taken bak by this small kit, he managed to lead her to a dumpster. <br>"Scourge, sir...the-there's a c-cat he–"<br>"Shut up, you idiot. I can smell her." A slender black and white cat came from under the dumpster. He had a collar studded with teeth.<br>"Who are you, intruder? Answer quickly, l'm a bit hungery and have no problem eating kittens."<br>Lightkit lashed her tail. "I am Lightkit, daughter of leader Ninestar. Tell me about this Bloodclan. I want to...join."<br>Scourge licked a paw for a while, considering. "Well. I like your spirit. However, a name like Lightkit can bring trouble. You will be Dismay. If you have any interest in learning some skills, you shall be trained by December. Go. Now." <br>She turned and smirked. 'This is what l wanted.' She thought before a cat jumped in front of her.<br>"Hello, “Dismay”. I am December. December Stormcloak."

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2014

    Awesome!!!

    -B R 0 |< E /)/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 43 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3