BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The All-Soul's Faire

Average Rating 5
( 6 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2012

    Intense, Gripping - Excellent read

    A good suspense filled mystery. From the very beginning this book quickly grabs your interest, but then it slightly tappers off for a short while, but then it grabs you again and doesn't let go!
    I spent a lot of time trying to be my own detective and solve it beforehand and on all accounts I was wrong. Everything that I thought wasn't .
    The end was a complete shocker and I was hoping there would be a sequel -which there's supposed to be- and I can't wait to read it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2008

    So look out Steven King & Dean Koontz. There is a new author to the horror genre and her name is Kristy Tallman!,

    Do you want some more? You will when you read the All Souls Faire, by Kristy Tallman. Kristy Tallman, is going to take you on a road trip to the small town of Covington, Va. Where she is going to bring to life the characters in this small country town. You will feel the fear of Detective Cole Bryant as he is confronted with the mysteries of North mountain. You will fall in love Ms. Ryder, who knows all the stories of the area and of the evil that exists on North Mountain. Then you will feel the hopelessness of Cecil as he tries to full fill his pact with the devil. Kristy Tallman is an up and coming Psychological Thriller and Horror author. Her work will keep you spellbound and turning the pages. After reading the novel you will want some more. If Ms. Tallman continues to bring us more of this type of work, she is well on her way to becoming a best selling author. So look out Steven King & Dean Koontz. There is a new author to the horror genre and her name is Kristy Tallman

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2007

    Remember When You Used To Check Under The Bed At Night...?

    What small town doesn't have homespun rumors and superstitions about its own dark, seedy underbelly? Uncovered layers of secrets masking sinister acts the likes of which would lead one to question the very existence of God - for how could He truly exist if such vile, pure evil is allowed to run wild and unchecked? Staring at the severed head of a goat placed snugly within the bowels of a petrified teenage corpse, Detective Cole Bryant begins to wonder the exact same thing... And that's just the beginning. The seemingly ritualistic murder of young Lisa Hicks sets off a series of increasingly bizarre events in the small town of Clifton Forge, each one threatening to unravel the web of lies and deceit within which the town's legacy rests. As more and more corpses are found, their deaths make less and less sense to Cole, who's left to wonder why, for some strange reason, everyone seems to know more than they're willing to say. Ultimately, his unflinching determination to know more leads him to the fabled North Mountain, source of the town's diabolical mystique, where the fate of countless lives hang in the balance - including that of Cole himself. The All-Soul's Faire is a disturbingly compelling tale that reads much like a snuff film: despite how guilty it makes you feel to watch it, each new turn of the page fills you with a strangely satisfying curiosity. A master at framing the visual with words, Tallman's jarring depictions of ghouls and apparitions are so vivid that - despite your wishes to the contrary - you'll find them lingering with you long after you've put the book down. In fact, they'll haunt you to the point where, when you're all alone late at night, you'll remember all those old ghost stories told over S'mores on campfire-lit nights and wish you had never heard them. No matter how searing the imagery she employs, though, the true power of Tallman's mind-bending tale lies in leaving you to wonder about the very nature of sin itself: when confronted with unmitigated temptation, do our base desires force us to act - or do they simply free us to do so? In keeping with that theme, Cole's quest for truth is actually a metaphor for the 'missions' that fill our own everyday lives: despite our burning desire to know more, that very desire often leaves us unprepared to handle the truth about the very things we seek to find. As thrilling as Koontz or Barker, and as suspenseful as Hitchcock at his best, The All-Soul's Faire is a delicious soliloquy to the world of horror that begs an encore.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2007

    A reviewer

    I received my copy of Kristy Tallman¿s, The All ¿ Souls Faire, a few days ago. Unfortunately ~ just at the time my life gets hectic for a few days. Thankfully that time has now passed and I had the fortunate chance to sit back for a few hours and delve into this book. I couldn¿t be happier that I had the time to finish this in a sitting!! Welcome to a small town where the locals don¿t take kindly to strangers peering into their town business. To be a local in a small town it takes something that goes way beyond just residing there ¿ something of which Detective Cole Bryant is about to learn the hard way. Investigating murder takes a bit of puzzle solving and more than that when all the people in town don¿t want the towns dirty laundry aired and leave you with only partial whisperings of town legends. Toss in a cursed mountain, cops that go by their own code, an eccentrically sadistic family, a goats head in a corpse, and an intriguing medical examiner (just to throw a couple of kinks in Cole¿s way of course) and you have one hell (just about literally) of a tale. So my suggestion would be to pick up your copy during this wonderful autumn time, curl up in your favorite reading chair and sit back for a tale you may chose to use in the future to scare your children with details of the Hick¿s family. Enjoy this horror tale that will keep you thinking about it, especially late at night¿Sherri Kirbis - Reader in Lititz, PA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    I found the story delightfully disturbing. . .

    The All-Soul's Faire by Kristy Tallman, reads like a wickedly wonderful ghost story that keeps you enthralled to the very end. I found the story delightfully disturbing, yet I also found myself moved by the actions of the intriguing well-written characters. Detective Cole is a seemingly innocent bystander in the sinful happenings on North Mountain. After meeting the strange backwoods Hicks Family, he finds himself with more questions than answers about the murders on the mountain. The ever sweet Ms. Ryder reminds me of my own grandmother. When she states, 'We all have some inner sins we contend with,' I read a bit deeper into this tale of horror and wondered if all humans didn't suppress some inner sins that only pure evil could bring out. Were we faced with our sinful secrets could we still suppress them even if they were served to us on a silver platter? Would Detective Cole's own sinful desires cause him to forget everything and succumb to the mountain's spell? Tallman's talent in writing shows in her ability to captivate the reader to the very end. I loved that the ending wasn't what I expected. It left me wanting more and hopeful of a sequel. Rowan Lore --Author of Fall On Me

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2006

    Rogue desire, in an intense literary seduction

    The All-Souls Faire, by Kristy Tallman, is more than just a literary experience. It is the rarest book indeed that takes you so deep under your own skin, to visit (either in rapture or horror)the concept of desire, that you feel strangely and vividly alive after the reading. This is the trip that The All-Souls Faire takes you on: a ravishing journey through the beauty and terrible awakening that pain and pleasure combined can bring. Detective Cole Bryant, on the surface a cop seeking for answers to a series of disturbing murders, becomes entangled a generations-old circle of personalities who have embraced a life/afterlife that plunges into the deepest realms of the forbidden. And it is not possible to be a voyeur in this world -- Tallman's power of poetry-in-prose pulls you in to experience it all yourself. It is impossible to read this book and not feel changed, and the obligatory moralizing of most books in this genre is refreshingly absent. Like the book's protagonist, I gave up the struggle early on, and let myself ride the rich seduction that Tallman offers. An unforgettable experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Kristy Tallman is the next Clive Barker!

    Kristy Tallman is the kind of author I have been waiting for as a fan of true horror. The All-Soul¿s Faire is a high-impact, genuinely rare page-turner. Once I started reading, I absolutely COULD NOT put it down! I ended up reading the entire book in about six hours. The story is darkly mesmerizing, and twistedly enthralling, drawing the reader into the intimately pleasing, yet devilish plot. The characters are crisp and vivid, unlike other novels, which boast only two-dimensional, cardboard-standups. This is the best book I¿ve read since Mark Frost¿s The List of 7. Following the discovery of a ritualistically murdered girl, into whose stomach has been carved a pentagram, with a severed goat¿s head protruding from it, Detective Cole Bryant is taken on a journey into dark fantasy and sinful desire where he will learn more about himself and the underworld than he ever imagined possible. The All-Soul¿s Faire is extremely creative, wickedly original, and is definitely not predictable. It would appear as if I have found a new favorite author. The All-Soul¿s Faire is a force to be reckoned with! I recommend it as highly as I can possibly recommend anything! -J. Pinkerton, Blood Banquet Studios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2006

    Kristy Tallman is the Next Clive barker!

    Kristy Tallman is the kind of author I have been waiting for as a fan of true horror! The All-Soul¿s Faire is a high-impact, genuinely rare page-turner. Once I started reading, I absolutely COULD NOT put it down! I ended up reading the entire book in about six hours. The story is darkly mesmerizing, and twistedly enthralling, drawing the reader into the intimately pleasing, yet devilish plot. The characters are crisp and vivid, unlike other novels, which boast only two-dimensional, cardboard-standups. This is the best book I¿ve read since Mark Frost¿s The List of 7. Following the discovery of a ritualistically murdered girl, into whose stomach has been carved a pentagram, with a severed goat¿s head protruding from it, Detective Cole Bryant is taken on a journey into dark fantasy and sinful desire where he will learn more about himself and the underworld than he ever imagined possible. The All-Soul¿s Faire is extremely creative, wickedly original, and is definitely not predictable. It would appear as if I have found a new favorite author. The All-Soul¿s Faire is a force to be reckoned with! I recommend it as highly as I can possibly recommend anything! -J. Pinkerton, Blood Banquet Studios

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1