BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

All Spell Breaks Loose (Raine Benares Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

posted by bookholiday on May 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good ending. I wish it didn't.

I hope it doesn't end here. Seems to me there is a lot more to tell.

posted by happyendingamust on June 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very goo

    I really enjoyed this story. There was so much to like. very good book!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    recommended

    if it is as good as the first five i'd recommend it to anyone who likes science fiction or fantasy books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    Top notch.

    Greatt stories and characters. Want more.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2012

    One of my all time favorite fantasy series. All Spell Breaks Lo

    One of my all time favorite fantasy series.

    All Spell Breaks Loose is the final installment of Lisa Shearin's very entertaining Raine Benares series. For those of you who have read the previous books, rest assured that the ending will leave you both satisfied and wanting more. And if you haven't met Raine and her friends, get yourself a copy of Magic Lost, Trouble Found, the first book in the series, and be prepared for 6 books of rollicking good fun!

    Ms. Shearin has created an engaging world of magic which takes some of the standard denizens of fantasy and gives them a new twist. Elves who are pirates, goblins who are sexy and demons who are, OK, the demons are pretty much ugly bad-asses who you can't trust, but even fantasy needs a bit of stability!

    The main character, Raine Benares, is a Seeker (the piratical elves are her family) whose fairly minor magical talent for finding things lets her make a decent living and provides enough excitement to keep her from getting bored. Then she finds a magical rock called the Saghred and discovers the full meaning of the old Chinese curse, "May you live in interesting times." Everybody wants the rock, the rock wants Raine (not for anything good or healthy) and she finds herself propelled on the quest which finally ends in All Spell Breaks Loose. The supporting cast is a lot of fun, even the minor characters have a spark that makes you want to spend more time with them (the goblin mother who enjoys watching her bad boy offspring deal with his own bad boy offspring is wonderful) and the dialog reminds me of the fast paced back and forth on The West Wing.

    I highly recommend All Spell Breaks Loose and all of the other books in the series. I can't wait to see what Lisa Shearin writes next!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2012

    Good ending. I wish it didn't.

    I hope it doesn't end here. Seems to me there is a lot more to tell.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2012

    Loved It!

    Funny, sexy, and exciting could not put them down. My husband would look at me funny as I would burst out laughing at parts in the books. Even got him to read them, and his take on the series was that who ever wrote them must have been around me for some of the creative one liners and sarcastic comments.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2012

    Brilliant. Unique combination of action and wit. Readers can j

    Brilliant. Unique combination of action and wit. Readers can jump into the ongoing story with this book and not be confused. Read this one and then go back to read the whole series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I wish this story had not ended. I loved all the characters and

    I wish this story had not ended. I loved all the characters and story. Plot had an unusual twist but not anything that took away from it. In fact the way that the author took a somewhat common idea and tweaked it into an enjoyable ride.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2012

    Fantastic Read

    As some of you may know Lisa is one of my favorite authors. I love her Raine Benares series and I have been patiently waiting for the final installment of the Saghred story line. Lisa wrapped the story line up perfectly. It left me feeling extremely happy and left it open for the series to continue or have a spinoff but didn’t end in a way that there has to be another novel. All Spell Breaks Loose is full of action and kept me on the seat of my chair. Lisa’s humor is at its best in this installment. The last few chapters had me in tears laughing so hard. There is a scene near the end of the book where Raine and Tam’s old teacher Kesyn have a moment where they are in quite the predicament and Kesyn humor just adds so much to the scene I loved it! Kesyn was one of my favorite new characters in the story he had so many one liners that crack me up. There wasn’t a lot of Talon in the story but when he did show up he made sure it counted. Mychael and Tam were full of sexiness during the story, this one had a bit less of a romancing it in but that was okay the action scenes made up for the lack of Raine and Mychael hook-ups. Overall, the story is just PERFECT! If you’re a fan of the series you’re going to love All Spell Breaks Loose I am sure of it. I’m sad that the characters are taking a break for the time being so Lisa can work on her new super secret project which I can’t wait for. It will be torture until I find out more about the her new projects.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Loved It!

    I have read the whole series and have throughly enjoyed it. I love the snappy dialogue, and the quick-paced action. A fun, fun read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2012

    Love the whole series! While I'm sad to see it end, it was a gr

    Love the whole series! While I'm sad to see it end, it was a great ride! Sad lack of Phaelan, tho! :D

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2012

    I loved this book. It was a great ending to the series. I loved

    I loved this book. It was a great ending to the series. I loved the new characters and their sense of humor. Once again I think Lisa Shearin did a great job writing the book and making it fun to read. I definitely recommend reading the whole series if you haven't.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2