Customer Reviews for

All-Star Batman & Robin, the Boy Wonder

Average Rating 3.5
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Worth Reading- But be warned...

Initially, I was pretty angry- this comic challenges everything I know about Batman and Robin, or better said, Bruce Wayne and Richard Grayson. If you are a die-hard fan of Batman, some of the things in this comic WILL annoy you. However, if you're patient and can look ...
Initially, I was pretty angry- this comic challenges everything I know about Batman and Robin, or better said, Bruce Wayne and Richard Grayson. If you are a die-hard fan of Batman, some of the things in this comic WILL annoy you. However, if you're patient and can look past the messed up actions of some of the characters we all know and love, you'll see this is an entertaining comic with funny scenes and an interesting take on the birth of the Robin persona. Don't let you're anger dissuade you from finishing it, as it almost did me. It's not a bad read, and it didn't deserve to get ripped to shreds by critics. The author just took a very big risk that wasn't well received. I consider this alternate universe, as all serious Batman fans should.

posted by Keily-Bee on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

beautiful art work, but miller needs to take note that this Batm

beautiful art work, but miller needs to take note that this Batman is not the same as The Dark Knight Returns 

posted by 17187210 on December 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Worth Reading- But be warned...

    Initially, I was pretty angry- this comic challenges everything I know about Batman and Robin, or better said, Bruce Wayne and Richard Grayson. If you are a die-hard fan of Batman, some of the things in this comic WILL annoy you. However, if you're patient and can look past the messed up actions of some of the characters we all know and love, you'll see this is an entertaining comic with funny scenes and an interesting take on the birth of the Robin persona. Don't let you're anger dissuade you from finishing it, as it almost did me. It's not a bad read, and it didn't deserve to get ripped to shreds by critics. The author just took a very big risk that wasn't well received. I consider this alternate universe, as all serious Batman fans should.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    All-Star Bat­man and Robin The Boy Won­der by Frank Miller is a

    All-Star Bat­man and Robin The Boy Won­der by Frank Miller is a graphic novel about the super­heroes. The art by Jim Lee and Scott Williams is amazing.

    All-Star Bat­man and Robin The Boy Won­der by Frank Miller is a comic book for grown ups. There are curses, unabashed sex, and the hero who keeps being referred to and refers to him­self as “the G-ddamn Bat­man”.
    A nice touch I thought.

    This is a fun book which tack­les Batman’s mul­ti­ple per­sonas head on. How can a book about a maniac run­ning around in tights dressed as a bat while putting a teenage boy in con­stant dan­ger have mul­ti­ple per­sonas you ask?
    Let me tell you.

    Miller likes to play with his heroes. They are not per­fect and love what they’re doing a bit too much. This ver­sion of Bat­man is hav­ing a blast, he runs around stomp­ing crim­i­nals, bust­ing crooked cops, hurt­ing rapists and impress­ing women. In fact, at some point Bat­man says he’s hav­ing so much fun he hasn't slept for days.
    Much like Super­man who’s alter ego is Clark Kent, Bat­man takes over Bruce Wayne. Yet Bat­man is sim­ply a vig­i­lante at this point, he beats the hell out of peo­ple and keeps going. He has no rela­tion­ships, no chal­lenges, no cares – just liv­ing on the edge and tak­ing every­one with him.

    I liked this aspect of the story. We always see our heroes restrained, it’s fun to see them go all out for ones.

    For those who don’t know, Robin was intro­duced in the comics to keep them light because Bat­man was, well… The Dark Knight. How­ever, Miller intro­duces Robin (Dick Grayson) as a griev­ing orphan being a ward to a drill sergeant who doesn’t care about any­thing except get­ting the job done. Miller proves that The Dark Knight has also dark humor, extra grim in fact.

    There is no-one per­fect in this book, Bat­man is flawed, Robin is flawed, even Jim Gor­don has a mis­tress. Actu­ally every­one in Gotham City are a bunch of crooks and crim­i­nals, with or with­out a badge or a cape.

    Nev­er­the­less, this is a fun, excit­ing, humor­ous and quick-paced book – just don’t give it to the kids

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Good read...but

    Wish they would've finished it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    There is credit where credit is due. Although this Batman doesn'

    There is credit where credit is due. Although this Batman doesn't quite match the one presented in Dark Knight Returns and Year One he is certainly the one from the Dark Knight Strikes Again. This Batman may be insane and evil but the ending brings about Miller's Batman and Robin relationship full circle.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Artwork is Amazing!

    I¿m not going to lie. The main reason I bought this book was because it was drawn by Jim Lee, comic artist extraordinaire. For that reason alone this book is worth picking up. His artwork is detailed, realistic, energetic and emotional. Usually an artist won¿t give you all of those together, but that is why Jim Lee is one of the greats.

    There is a story on top of all that art and it ain¿t half bad. It is written by Frank Miller, who some would say is a quintessential Batman writer. You may recognize his name as the creator of 300 and Sin City. This guy has some chops, dark and dirty chops. This story paints Batman as a guy who is a few marbles shot. Which we know has to be true, the guy dresses up as a bat. This story really brings that personality to the forefront.

    Reviewed by Chris for Book Sake.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Frank Miller I still love you even if the critics don't

    Frank Millers All Star Batman and Robin The Boy Wonder is deffinetley his most underrated series. It is his version of the origin of Robin, Batgirl, Black Canary, and the Justice League. The plot and art was amazing, but the dialogue lost me a few times (Eat glass, lawman). Anyways, its unfortunate that its cancelled, it really had something going for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    All-Star Batman and Robin

    Great read. Frank Millers adaptation of the origin of Robin is very interesting. The art style is really strong and well done. Batman fans will love this book.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1