Customer Reviews for

All-Star Superman

Average Rating 4
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A Blend of the Incredible and the Mind-Blowing

All-Star Superman is undoubtedly the greatest superhero comic in existence. And that in itself feels like an understatement. Essentially, Morrison acknowledges the limitless wonder of Superman, and rather than simply stop there, exploits it to the greatest possible de...
All-Star Superman is undoubtedly the greatest superhero comic in existence. And that in itself feels like an understatement. Essentially, Morrison acknowledges the limitless wonder of Superman, and rather than simply stop there, exploits it to the greatest possible degree, ultimately creating what are easily among the most memorable moments in comic book history. When every turn of the page brings a sense of breathlessness, when every image captures absolute wonder, when every word resounds with earth-shattering potency - nothing else comes close. Morrison's fecundity is unrivaled and Quitely and Grant's artwork truly captures the raw essence of comic book magic. Basically, get ready to be amazed, get ready to enter the realm of the fantastic, get ready... to fly with Superman.

posted by Alighieri on May 31, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good story but so-so image quality

Great story. Morrison managed to write a Golden Age style Superman comic without making it feel too silly for modern readers. Unfortunately, this digital comic is plagued with artifacts especially noticable in red colored parts of the comic. It can be an eyesore.

posted by Didact on March 10, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 31, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    A Blend of the Incredible and the Mind-Blowing

    All-Star Superman is undoubtedly the greatest superhero comic in existence. And that in itself feels like an understatement. Essentially, Morrison acknowledges the limitless wonder of Superman, and rather than simply stop there, exploits it to the greatest possible degree, ultimately creating what are easily among the most memorable moments in comic book history. When every turn of the page brings a sense of breathlessness, when every image captures absolute wonder, when every word resounds with earth-shattering potency - nothing else comes close. Morrison's fecundity is unrivaled and Quitely and Grant's artwork truly captures the raw essence of comic book magic. Basically, get ready to be amazed, get ready to enter the realm of the fantastic, get ready... to fly with Superman.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Super-man will never be the same

    One of the things that Morrison tends to do with Superman, is to blow him up into an almost God-Like creature with infinite powers and ablities and plays with those ideas, taking them to great legnths.

    While hardly the most Rational of Superman stories, All-Star Superman is so wonderful because it plays upon those irrationalities. It's an extremely fun and playful take on the man of steel.

    For people who don't find themselves a fan of Superman, it is still worth looking into, because it makes light and really has fun with the elements that most people find unlikeable about Superman and makes the fun again.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Good story but so-so image quality

    Great story. Morrison managed to write a Golden Age style Superman comic without making it feel too silly for modern readers. Unfortunately, this digital comic is plagued with artifacts especially noticable in red colored parts of the comic. It can be an eyesore.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Morrison's Superman makes me scratch my head

    I literally have no idea why this book was so well received expceot for blind Morrison love because if you read it you'll be left with one word.......Huh? The book bounces here and there makes some sense then makes less than no sense. Its strange and people will say that is the reason its good but they would be wrong. You want a good Supes story? Read Joeb's or Johns' Superman. That's good stuff. This is at best slighthy above okay.

    1 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Expected more after reading the reviews

    I liked it. It was an interesting read: nice art, different from the current trend, and with an exciting story arc divided in several "mini-stories"... but I expected more from it. Specially after reading the reviews on this Web site. The story was interesting, but it didn't make any sense at some points; also at the beginning it goes really slow, but towards the end it fast-forwards and skips things that seemed important in previous chapters (either that, or my copy is missing pages). Summarizing: a good book... but there are many better (in my opinion)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2013

    Funny. Charming. Dense. Exotic. Weird. Smart. Mythic. Spiritual.

    Funny. Charming. Dense. Exotic. Weird. Smart. Mythic. Spiritual. This is the most amazing Superman story ever told, and for my money, one of the greatest stories ever told via the comic book medium. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2013

    One of the best Superman stories I have ever read

    Anyone who knows me, knows that I'm a big Superman mark. I love the character and what he stands for. This story is not just one of the best Superman stories ever, but it's one of the best comics I've ever read.

    I'm a big fan of Quietly and Morrison and have always admired their work. This story increases my fandom for the duo.

    Too many elements to cover in this story, but here are a few of my highlights:

    From Clark's reveal to Lois, to granting her a day with his powere, to him saving Luthor in the prison, to the fitting conclusion...this is a must read for any fan of good storytelling.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2012

    Just incredible.

    Just incredible.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2012

    Best superman story

    Truth be told, i never liked superman. His personality was two dimensional and so were motives. But this story adds fun and weirdness to his story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    All Star Superman Will Rock Your World

    Morrison and Quitely's "All Star Superman" (V.1) is an imaginative and beautifully-drawn vision of the Superman myth. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1