Customer Reviews for

All Summer Long (Fool's Gold Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 122 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(35)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Sexiest Man Alive falls for The Ugly Duckling

Charlie Dixon never felt like a pretty woman. Her mother was a famous ballerina, and Charlie was big like her dad. She always knew that she was a disappointment to her mom, who wanted her to be a girlie girl. Overall, Charlie is happy with herself. She's tall and fit. ...
Charlie Dixon never felt like a pretty woman. Her mother was a famous ballerina, and Charlie was big like her dad. She always knew that she was a disappointment to her mom, who wanted her to be a girlie girl. Overall, Charlie is happy with herself. She's tall and fit. Strong, which she needs to be to do her job as a firefighter.

There's just one problem... she was date-raped in college, and since then, she hasn't been able to be with a man. She freezes when they kiss her. She knows that's not healthy, and she needs help. She's sick of feeling afraid.

Enter Clay Stryker, maybe the sexiest man in the world... but Charlie is drawn to him because he is genuinely kind and decent, with a heart that's even more attractive than the rest of him.

Although ALL SUMMER LONG deals with some serious topics, it's not at all depressing. To the contrary - I laughed from beginning to end. It was touching and emotional and heartwarming, with a happy ending that made my heart sing. Loved it! My favorite Fool's Gold book so far!

posted by RomanceReaderTX on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love ll Things Mallery

If you haven't been reading all of the Fools Gold Books you have really missed some great people and some super love stories. To be fully appreciated you need to read these books starting with Book 1... Charley is the "ugly duckling" daughter of a famous ballerina who ...
If you haven't been reading all of the Fools Gold Books you have really missed some great people and some super love stories. To be fully appreciated you need to read these books starting with Book 1... Charley is the "ugly duckling" daughter of a famous ballerina who has found herself in Fools Gold where she is a paid fireman... She has good friends and is much respected... Clay Stryker is a famous underwear model who comes to town and appreciates Charlie (real name Chantel) for who she is and because she sees him as something other than a nice "butt"... Their story is very real and you will love them as individuals and as a couple. Ms. Mallery tells a great story and this is one of her really good ones... All will enjoy.

posted by SaraBetty on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted July 31, 2012

    The Sexiest Man Alive falls for The Ugly Duckling

    Charlie Dixon never felt like a pretty woman. Her mother was a famous ballerina, and Charlie was big like her dad. She always knew that she was a disappointment to her mom, who wanted her to be a girlie girl. Overall, Charlie is happy with herself. She's tall and fit. Strong, which she needs to be to do her job as a firefighter.

    There's just one problem... she was date-raped in college, and since then, she hasn't been able to be with a man. She freezes when they kiss her. She knows that's not healthy, and she needs help. She's sick of feeling afraid.

    Enter Clay Stryker, maybe the sexiest man in the world... but Charlie is drawn to him because he is genuinely kind and decent, with a heart that's even more attractive than the rest of him.

    Although ALL SUMMER LONG deals with some serious topics, it's not at all depressing. To the contrary - I laughed from beginning to end. It was touching and emotional and heartwarming, with a happy ending that made my heart sing. Loved it! My favorite Fool's Gold book so far!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Love ll Things Mallery

    If you haven't been reading all of the Fools Gold Books you have really missed some great people and some super love stories. To be fully appreciated you need to read these books starting with Book 1... Charley is the "ugly duckling" daughter of a famous ballerina who has found herself in Fools Gold where she is a paid fireman... She has good friends and is much respected... Clay Stryker is a famous underwear model who comes to town and appreciates Charlie (real name Chantel) for who she is and because she sees him as something other than a nice "butt"... Their story is very real and you will love them as individuals and as a couple. Ms. Mallery tells a great story and this is one of her really good ones... All will enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Great story

    I love Susan Mallery and enjoy the anticipation to visit Fools Gold again

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I'm a sucker for "ugly duckling" tales and All Summer

    I'm a sucker for "ugly duckling" tales and All Summer Long didn't disappoint on delivering a sensuous and very romantic story. Charlie is a likable heroine and Clay the kind of man we're all looking for. My only reservation with the novel is the stock presentation of the plot; it was just too slick and predictable. So while I liked the characters I think their story deserved to be told with a bit more originality and daring. With this said I do feel that newbies to Romance will find All Summer Long an eloquent read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    always great reading and fun stories that keep you interested ti

    always great reading and fun stories that keep you interested till the end...then we have to wait for the next book..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! The characters were so great. I liked that

    I LOVED THIS BOOK!!! The characters were so great. I liked that Charlie had such a traumatic experience but managed to work through it. And Clay is someone you would think should be cocky and arrogant, but was so down to earth and loving. I have read every Fools Gold book and this was one of my favorites!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2012

    This was a wonderful conclusion to the three Fool's gold novels

    This was a wonderful conclusion to the three Fool's gold novels this year. Charlie has so much more heart and spunk then even she knows. Start with book one and read all the way thru- YOU WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2012

    Buy all of the Fools Gold Series if you can afford it otherwise,

    Buy all of the Fools Gold Series if you can afford it otherwise, check your local library or your friends and see if they have any available. The entire series is wonderful and you'll fall in love with the town, the characters and of course, the extremely well written words. Kudo's to Suan for another great job well done and I can't wait for book #10 to come out. Happy reading everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    I loved how Charlie throws out her suggestion to Clay and how he

    I loved how Charlie throws out her suggestion to Clay and how he helps her to become whole again. This is a steamy, sensuous novel about love and family dynamics...enter Charlies mom! a great story for a great summer! Well worth the read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Susan came through again. Charlie has had a hard past and found a happy life in Fools Gold, and Clay, an underwear model coming home to be with his family and put down roots come togeter in a unconventional way. Loved how thier story unfolded!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Great Read ! I loved that the firefighter was female and the und

    Great Read ! I loved that the firefighter was female and the underware model/butt double was male. A little twist from the usual roles. I have read all the Fools Gold books and until now Liz and Ethan's story has been my favorite,now Charlie and Clay's story has tied it. Charlie has many issues to overcome and does so with many tears and many laughs. You csn't help but root for Charlie with her tough facade. One thing I did miss in this story was the Stryker farm animals but maybe they will pop up in future books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    I really loved all the books in this series, I was really happy

    I really loved all the books in this series, I was really happy when Charlie finally found someone. This series makes you feel you know the people and live in their town.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Another Good Fools Gold Story Susan Mallery does it again with A

    Another Good Fools Gold Story
    Susan Mallery does it again with All Summer Long! Great summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really liked Susan Mallery's latest Fool's Gold book All Summe

    I really liked Susan Mallery's latest Fool's Gold book All Summer Long. The firefighter falls for the underwear model. I wasn't sure how this match up would work, but Charlie and Clay are a great pair. Clay, the former underwear (and movie butt double) comes home to Fool's Gold to be closer to his family and start a business. Charlie is a member of the Fool's Gold Fire Department and decides she wants to have a child. But because of a traumatic experience when she was younger she has issues with dating and men in general. You have to read All Summer Long to find out how Charlie & Clay find love and happiness.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Loved it

    I loved this book like all the others in the series. I can't wait for the next one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 27, 2012

    Very Entertaining

    I love the fools gold series!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Wonderful!

    LOVE this series. Can't wait til the next book comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2012

    good read

    Love anything that Susan Mallery writes.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Another Great Read!

    Another great book in the "Fool's Gold" Series. Wonderful light reading for a Fall afternoon. You do not have to read the other books in the series to enjoy this however you will have a better understanding of characters that are mentioned if you have. The whole series is fun. Enjoy!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    Best Series Ever!

    I have thoroughly enjoyed the entire Fool's Gold series. The town, the loveable characters, the scenery. It makes me want to pack my bags and move! I couldn't put the first book down...and I kept on going all summer long. I hate that it is over...and so I will just have to read them from book 1-9 again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 7