Customer Reviews for

All Summer Long (Fool's Gold Series #9)

Average Rating 4.5
( 123 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(68)

4 Star

(36)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

The Sexiest Man Alive falls for The Ugly Duckling

Charlie Dixon never felt like a pretty woman. Her mother was a famous ballerina, and Charlie was big like her dad. She always knew that she was a disappointment to her mom, who wanted her to be a girlie girl. Overall, Charlie is happy with herself. She's tall and fit. ...
Charlie Dixon never felt like a pretty woman. Her mother was a famous ballerina, and Charlie was big like her dad. She always knew that she was a disappointment to her mom, who wanted her to be a girlie girl. Overall, Charlie is happy with herself. She's tall and fit. Strong, which she needs to be to do her job as a firefighter.

There's just one problem... she was date-raped in college, and since then, she hasn't been able to be with a man. She freezes when they kiss her. She knows that's not healthy, and she needs help. She's sick of feeling afraid.

Enter Clay Stryker, maybe the sexiest man in the world... but Charlie is drawn to him because he is genuinely kind and decent, with a heart that's even more attractive than the rest of him.

Although ALL SUMMER LONG deals with some serious topics, it's not at all depressing. To the contrary - I laughed from beginning to end. It was touching and emotional and heartwarming, with a happy ending that made my heart sing. Loved it! My favorite Fool's Gold book so far!

posted by RomanceReaderTX on July 31, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Love ll Things Mallery

If you haven't been reading all of the Fools Gold Books you have really missed some great people and some super love stories. To be fully appreciated you need to read these books starting with Book 1... Charley is the "ugly duckling" daughter of a famous ballerina who ...
If you haven't been reading all of the Fools Gold Books you have really missed some great people and some super love stories. To be fully appreciated you need to read these books starting with Book 1... Charley is the "ugly duckling" daughter of a famous ballerina who has found herself in Fools Gold where she is a paid fireman... She has good friends and is much respected... Clay Stryker is a famous underwear model who comes to town and appreciates Charlie (real name Chantel) for who she is and because she sees him as something other than a nice "butt"... Their story is very real and you will love them as individuals and as a couple. Ms. Mallery tells a great story and this is one of her really good ones... All will enjoy.

posted by SaraBetty on August 30, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7
  • Posted August 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This is 3.5 Stars

    Enjoyable read. Liked the handling of a touchy subject. Ended abrutly, and the end felt rushed - from break up to make up.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 14, 2012

    I love Fool's Gold

    Charlie's story is just aa enchanting as the other Fool's Gold stories. Mallery has been an autobuy for me for years and will continue to be.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Ddid Did not disappoint

    Susan Mallery did it again. A heart warming story about the journey of two individuals that have trouble with leaving the past behind.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2012

    Loved the story

    Such a great seies each story just keeps getting better and better cant wait for the next one

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    It Her other books are great this one

    Started off a little slower than usual for me.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    A wonderful story

    I have to admit I couldn't wait for Charlie's story. It turned out to be well worth the wait. I loved it and would recommened Susan Mallery to anyone who likes funny, sweet, loving stories with wonderful characters. It's a great summer read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    I love Fool's Gold! I love how All Summer Long starts out! Summ

    I love Fool's Gold! I love how All Summer Long starts out! Summer Nights is a great book & this is a great book, too!! Charlie is strong. When your only option is to be strong, then you have to be strong. I know what it is like to be strong. My daughter is disabled & has been since she was 2. I am glad Susan Mallery wrote about a strong woman we can look up to.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    If I had to pick a favorite book out of the latest Fool’s

    If I had to pick a favorite book out of the latest Fool’s Gold trilogy, I think it would be All Summer Long. Charlie and Clay’s story really tugs at your heart strings. Charlie is a tough firefighter who was deeply hurt in the past and is struggling to get past it so she can be whole and healthy. Clay is a former underwear model who wants to be seen as more than a pretty face and taken seriously.

    Susan Mallery weaves a story of overcoming difficult pasts and risking it all for love again. You won’t be disappointed with All Summer Long. If there’s only one book you decide to read, make it this one. You will not be disappointed!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 3, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I don't know how anyone can give this book less than a 5 star ra

    I don't know how anyone can give this book less than a 5 star rating.Charlie and Clay were so sweet. I love Charlie's spirit and Clay's determination. It was a great wrap up for this great summer trilogy. I will be reading it again. Charlie's mom a force all of her own.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I really enjoyed Charlie and Clay's story. They are great charac

    I really enjoyed Charlie and Clay's story. They are great characters and clearly bring out the best in each other. However, Charlie's "solution" to her problem was realllllly far-fetched; though I have to admit that it was ultimately handled well and of course seemed way more fun than traditional therapy. The story definitely hinged on it as a plot point, so I was more than willing to suspend belief this time in the name of fiction. Two things bothered me just a bit, though. One is that the treatment of Clay by many of the women of the town was just over-the-top inappropriate. I realize that Mallery was trying to make a point, but shouldn't a town that prides itself on its strong female presence and history be a bit more sensitive to blatant gender discrimination? Secondly, the ending/resolution seemed a bit rushed. The rest of the story was well-paced and developed, but the end had more of a slap-it-on-ending feel to it. Ultimately, though, I really liked this book. This trilogy of stories has definitely been the strongest of the series so far, and I am really looking forward to Dante and Evie's story.

    (Side note--is it just me, or do the cover models for this series seem completely random? They never appear to match what the characters should really look like, IMO. Not that they're not pretty, but still....)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Bought this book last year as a "beach read," and just

    Bought this book last year as a "beach read," and just got in under the wire, this year.

    Charlie (Chantal) is not your average heroine. She's tall (5'10"), strongly built, NOT conventionally pretty or
    girlie, and still more than a little traumatized by her college rape, some years back.

    Clay Stryker is a widower who loved his wife very much. He's close to most of his family, who now live in
    Fool's Gold, California (this is part of a continuing series, but works well as a stand-alone), and a former
    underwear model, which, though it has padded his bank account, has also hindered his acceptance as just
     another guy in this small community.

    I like the reversal here where the GUY is being judged as superficial, since he's a "pretty boy" and not
    taken seriously because of his looks. Love that Charlie is a kick-ass firefighter who is excellent at her job.

    There are threads of other romances worked in here, but skillfully, so they don't take over too much page
    space. Also loved the dynamic between Charlie and her dainty, ballerina mother who's come to the town in
    hopes of rebuilding their relationship, but makes one false start after another.

    The rising sexual tension between Clay and Charlie works, and the consummation scene(s) are hot. Very
    enjoyable book I breezed through in one weekend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    Honestly I am so bored with the Fool's Gold Series. I just fini

    Honestly I am so bored with the Fool's Gold Series. I just finished this book and just like the last 8.....Man comes into Fool's Gold, meets girl, they fall for each other, the word "Love" is mentioned, he breaks it off, he realizes he loves girl, he chases girl and begs to be taken back, they get married. The end. About 90% of the way thru the book you find out who will be playing THE SAME EXACT role in the next book. There is nothing to look forward to. Same story, same plot, different couple. If someone is going to write a 12 book series something has to change. I bought all 12 in this series so I'll read all 12 of them but from here on out they will probably get only 1-star.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    Great!

    This installment in the Fools Gold series is as good as all of the ones
    before it. I loved it. The last Stryker brother and the very tall and self sufficient,
    everyone's friend Firefighter Charlie Dixon make a wonderful pair. Both leery of love.
    I loved following their journey and I can't wait for the Stryker sister's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2013

    Another great book in this series, but I still hold a soft spot

    Another great book in this series, but I still hold a soft spot for Pia and Raul. But this book was a little different because we have also a mother-daughter relationship. If you follow this series this is Charlie book and we all knew she was going to be a difficult one, because of her past and her issues with men. But Clay was a great guy and I didn’t expected him to be so good with emotions and helping Charlie.

    So I had my fears with this book, because it sounded like the most dramatic for me, but Clay made things so easy and I liked seeing him with the rest of his family, I always thought they were a little estranged, but they have a very normal relationship and it’s nice seeing them all together. Charlie also has to deal with family, but her mother is a mystery to me, because who treats her daughter like that? I was not in her side, but learned to accepted her.

    These two together and fabulous and I loved this couple, but this book didn’t got a five star because of Charlie’s mother. Sorry, but I can’t forgive her that easily. Clay was supper nice and Charlie is very different but also different.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    *

    I have enjoyed the series, looking forward to the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    One of the best in the series

    This book was one of the best in the series. There was a lull after the first few books. They started reading the same; good, but a bit repetative. This book was a breath of fresh air and Charlie is one of the most interesting characters. She always kept things light in the other books, but her story was interesting and worth reading. I highly recommend this book. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite Fools Gold book so far!

    I loved how sweet and gentle Clay was with Charlie. And it was nice to finally meet the real Charlie, not just her outwardly defensive nature. This is probably going to be the first romance novel I give to my daughter to learn about sex. That is how a guy is supposed to treat you!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Love this series!

    I absolutely love this entire series! It is so nice that you can go to Susan Mallery's website and read about the characters - and she has pictures so you can picture everyone as you read about them. Each individual story is heartfelt and well told. Everyone will want to move to Fools Gold!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2013

    Underwear modle?

    He's got a sexy modle on his hands. Mabey sex is on its way for them. Only read the sample.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 123 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 7