BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

All That Glitters (Landry Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(10)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2007

    It's Gold

    This is the 3rd book in the Landry Series and I have to say it's the most dramatic. It reads like a novella. Paul loves Ruby. Ruby loves Beau. Beau is wrapped up in Giselle. Giselle is Ruby's twin sister. So on and so forth. This book is a prime example as to why it's better to not get hooked onto one guy and just move on with your life. I couldn't believe how selfish Ruby got towards the end, but that's to be expected when you enter a new world are shunned by those who should love you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2005

    Terrific and Unique

    I really did believe that Ruby was going to stay with Paul. I mean she did move in with him and then marry him, but then as soon as Beau came around again she dropped Paul. I mean I didn't like the whole incest plot, but Paul really loved Ruby and she didn't even appreciate it. It was never really clear to me if Gisselle actually loved Beau or not, but her character was meant to make Ruby's life harder then it should have been. In the end Ruby gets what she wants and it doesn't really matter who she had to step on to get it. To me this book did something that no other V.C. Andrews book did. It exposed the character to her own flaws and in the next book she suffers from her past unlike in other books like the Casteel series. You could say that Ruby ends up reaping what she sowed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2003

    The Price of Love

    Recently had to make a book presentation for my World Literature class. When I first read this book I was very confused. As I re-read the book for my presentation, it all made seens. All That Glitters is a fight between twin sisters, Ruby and Gisselle, for the love of a man (Beau). Rubys fight for Beaus heart leds her to switch her life with Gisselles. That is, when Gisselle is in a comma, Ruby becomes Gisselle, Beaus legal wife. Before becoming Gisselle, Ruby had to decide if she was willing to pay the price of love. After Beau left her pregnant with Pearl to go to Paris, Ruby made her life with out him. She knows that that what she decides to do will afect many people. Choosing to follow her heart bring many problems. Fortunately Ruby is willing to do anything to be with her true love, Beau. However ,switching her identity brings her many uncomfortable situations. For example, when Ruby finds out about Gisselles true identity, she is shocked. As she found out who her sister was, Ruby thought that Gisselle never really love Beau. The death of Paul, her half brother and husband, and almost loosing her daughter Pearl, changes everything for Ruby. In this situation Ruby has to choose to pay the price of love or tell the truth. For me Ruby is a troubled young lady who has to choose between what is right and what is best for her daughter Pearl. I have read three of VC. Andrews books and I am happy to say that she is a great writer. I would like to say that All That Glitters is an interesting book. I recommend this book to anyone that is willing to be left wanting to read the following book. The Laundry series as well as the other series are worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2003

    I expected more from an author like Andrews

    I really like the story . The only reason I thought this wasn't a 5 star book was becasue of Paul Tate. I just can't understand how much he had to suffer. He was the only man in the story that loved Ruby unconditionally and always treated her with restpect. I found it vey unnecessary that he had to suffer so much. Besides Beau didn't desrve to stay with Ruby, Paul did. I was just very upset that besides having to suffer for Ruby, he had to die the way he did. I just hated how in the end everything worked out perfectly for Ruby and Beau, and Paul had to suffer so much. To me the story could have been better if Ruby stayed with Paul or if Paul had found someone to love him eventhough he still loved Ruby. For me it's more impotant to be with someone that loves you very much than to be with someone you love.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2001

    Different

    I was up set that Ruby would lie to everyone and say she was her twin. I thought that was a stupid thing to do! And it was unfair that Paul had to die like that! He was good to her and nice. This book had a sad endding, how she gets the picture of her and paul when they were young. That was so sad.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2001

    Fate and destiny

    HI. I REALLY THOUGHT THAT SHE WAS GOING TO STAY WITH PAUL. I HATED THE WAY SHE TREATED HIM. HE REALLY LOVE RUDY WITH ALL HIS HEART. BUT SHE WAS SELFISH AND ONLY THOUGHT ABOUT WHAT SHE WANTED AND DIDN't REALIZE HOW MUCH SHE WAS HURTING PAUL.THIS STORY HAD A GOOD ENDING, BUT POOR PAUL HAD TO SUFFER LIKE THIS.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2000

    Good Book!

    I thought this book was pretty good. It kept me interested. Some of the strange things that happened made the book even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2000

    A Very Sad, Yet Beautiful Story

    This was the very first V.C Andrews book I read. I didnt read the first two books of this family saga before, but as I read this book I found it very interesting. It is sad a sad story, and if you favor Paul's character, I dont reccommend you reading it. Ruby treated him, (a man who loved her beyond words can desribe), made him feel rejected and in the end, I would think she drove him to his death. However, if you read the book, some will sympathize with Ruby. I am a very fond reader of V.C Andrews, having read all her books after this (except the Dollanger Family Saga) The Landry series will always be my favorite, because of the way the novel is expressed as a magical life of a young woman living in the bayou , and in the end, she finally finds refuge from a once horrific life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1