Customer Reviews for

All That Glows

Average Rating 4
( 9 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted July 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I really waiver back and forth on my thoughts on this one. I f

    I really waiver back and forth on my thoughts on this one. I found aspects of it very intriguing. However, the delivery wasn't all there. It seemed like a watered down version of events.
    Emrys wasn't quite the fairy I thought she was going to be. She's suppose to be the young hardcore fairy that has risen up through the ranks quickly. I get that the technology driven world makes her ill, but she's doesn't come across that way at all. It's not very long before she's completely head over hills for Richard. In the process she manages to forget centuries worth of training and rules.

    I did find the world this book is set up in to be extremely interesting. I wasn't able to identify if this was present or future England just set with the fairy world intertwined. I really enjoyed the background on how this system was set up. I was intrigued in how this all seem to come to the ultimate war so quickly. It kind of felt like I was missing some sort of back story.

    This had potential. But, it felt more middle grade fiction and lacking in substance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    First and foremost, I love books about faeries. They are the bes

    First and foremost, I love books about faeries. They are the bestest thing ever. And second, an apology to Ryan Graudin. Why? Because when I first heard about the book, and right up until I'd finished chapter one, I thought she was also Lesley Livingston, author of A Wondrous Strange and that All That Glows was a spin-off novel. To be fair, the covers are VERY similar! ANYWAYS, once I straightened that out, I dug in. In fact, I read the entire book this afternoon. Considering it took me a week each to read the last two books I've read (major reading slump), that is a big accomplishment along with a REALLY GOOD THING! This book drew me in and wouldn't let me go. Trust me, I haven't done anything BUT read this book since I started it!




    The main character is Emrys and she is awesome! I love books where the main character knows about the supernatural stuff before page one (ex. Throne of Glass, Vampire Academy, Half-Blood, and Anna Dressed in Blood). It eliminates the many chapters, and sometimes entire novel, where the main character is stuck denying, and eventually accepting, his or her magical abilities. Emrys knows she's a faery, it would be bad if she didn't, considering that she's hundreds of years old. Also, it's really awesome that she's the old one here, instead of the guy. The guy is generally the one who comes into the girls' life starts the chain reaction. Instead, Emrys tells the guy about magic, and while he's going through the stages of acceptance, Emrys can go out and be kick-butt. Emrys is confident in herself. I loved reading from her point of view.




    While the romance in the book didn't take forever, it wasn't insta-love either, which I really liked. There was that instant spark/attraction/thing that's totally okay. The characters didn't get it, and weren't professing feelings for each other until about halfway through the book. They fell in love slowly, which was really nice. The plot was amazingly fast, and while I suspected part of the end, others still came as a big surprise! Also, I'm pretty sure this book is a standalone. And as much as I want more of this world, I loved the ending and don't know if I can stand to see the characters go through more trouble. A novella that takes place two years in the future would be totally different and totally okay, of course! (hint hint, wink wink) The ending of the book deviated from the typical ending, and was super cool to see. Trust me, you will love this book. Great for fans of Julie Kagawas' The Iron Fey and Lesley Livingstons' A Wondrous Strange, I give this book five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    A fairy book. I hadn¿t read a book that contained fairies or a w

    A fairy book. I hadn’t read a book that contained fairies or a world that has fairies in it so I picked up this book. Surprisingly, it held me interest more than what I thought.

    Plot: This is about fairies who protect the royal line to protect their magic. They need their human line in order to stay alive. With technology gaining speed, fairies are dying out and need the royal line to survive. Unfortunately, some fairies don’t think otherwise. I really liked this plot. I like that it gave a good background to fairies and the royal line. I even liked the drama of protecting the royal line and why they had to do it.

    Love/Friendship: This is the part that is iffy for me. The love interest felt like an ints a-love. One minute she meets him and the ext BAM! She can’t stay away from him. I really wanted more of a relationship (which did happen but more at the end.) For me, I think if the friendship built up a bit more slowly instead of the prince being a drunk, I would of liked it a bit more.

    Emry: I admire this fairy. I adore her fierceness to protect her kind and the royal line. I like that she set aside everything for others and hardly thought of herself. In fact, I wanted her to think more of what she wanted then what everyone else wants. She has good gut instinct that lead her to where she needed to be.

    Overall, this is well written fun read. It was a bit different than what I expected but that is good. It kept me on my toes. All That Glows carries a compelling storyline till the end. All That Glows is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    It is not secret that I absolutely adore Julie Kagawa¿s Iron Fey

    It is not secret that I absolutely adore Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series. It’s like one of my all-time favorites, so I was so excited for this new faery book!

    Emrys is a bas-ass faery guardian who has been tasked with protecting England’s prince, Richard. Which isn’t a particularly easy task. I really liked Emrys. She is loyal to her queen, Mab, but also becomes loyal to Richard. I appreciated her forwardness to get stuff done instead of waiting for things to come to her and those she loves.

    Richard. My British book boyfriend with a sexy accent! At first he comes across as a total party boy but he is really different underneath. He cares so much for his younger sister and the responsibilities he has are just so overwhelming. OH, I loved his adorable nickname for Emrys. He’s a big sweetheart.

    Breena is Emrys oldest friend who she could trust no matter what and I liked her wise thoughts on important matters. Anabelle, Richard’s sister, was so cute and so supportive of her big brother.

    There were so many twists and turns, and even huge deceptions that I did notttt see coming at all. This book definitely kept me on my toes at all times. Towards the end, I was super positive that I knew how the book ended but oh no, she tricked me! The writing is really flowy and easy to read. The romance started kind of fast but the cuteness made up for the fast start. They were both willing to give up their lives for each other. I loved it.

    If you love faery stories, be sure to give this one a try. I loved that this is a standalone, but I’ve heard that there is a companion novel in the works…yes please!

    Favorite Swoon-worthy Quote: Richard leans down, closing the gap between us, drawing me into him. Our lips meet, smooth and seamless. There’s a nameless desire in the way he kisses me. I feel it rising in me as well, swelling like clear, triumphant note. He pulls me close, his kiss growing deeper, a never-ending crescendo. This – this is something else. It reaches deep inside me. Sparks my soul.

    Rating: 4.5/5 Tar Heels! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 10, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    All That Glows started off really well. It had an interesting pr

    All That Glows started off really well. It had an interesting premise: fae girl assigned to guard party-boy prince, but breaks all the rules when she develops a connection with him as an evil force tries to destroy his family. It was set in London, which was a nice change of scenery for me. The book was interesting and descriptive. It had a rich romantic feel that I enjoyed. There was a fiery haired fae, a nice prince, and a decent romance that I liked (but didn't love). I even thought the writing was really good, though I have to admit it was overly descriptive at times.

    Somewhere around the halfway mark, however, the book didn't seem as good as before. The plot--the conflict dealing with the "Old One," the events revolving around that conflict, the concluding scenes--was just . . . meh. My interest and enjoyment wavered soon after the "I-love-you's" happened. That was when the threat of the Old One was getting bigger, and instead of becoming more exciting, the book became less interesting.

    Overall, All That Glows started off as a good book. It got my attention and the characters, premise, setting, and writing all felt good. If only I had been more interested in the actual plot (especially towards the end), I may have enjoyed it more. Despite the fact that I didn't like that part of the story very much, I do expect most readers to enjoy it a lot more than me.

    Source: I received an e-arc of this book from the publisher through Edelweiss in return for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2014

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a re

    (Source: I received a digital copy of this book for free on a read-to-review basis. Thanks to HarperCollins and Edelweiss.)
    Emrys is heading to London to guard Prince Richard, as part of the Faery Guard, but once she meets him she feels something odd, and for some reason it’s like Richard can almost see through her cloaking.
    When a shocking event leaves no doubt that a dangerous situation is afoot, Emrys decides to break all the rules and reveal herself to Richard to be able to best protect him, but she didn’t plan on falling in love with him.
    Who is sending the fae to attack Richard? And can Emrys ever give up everything to really be with him?


    This was a good YA fantasy romance, but I liked the other storylines more than the romance.

    Emrys was an interesting character. I liked how devoted she was to her job, but I also liked how she used her discretion and gut feeling, and knew when to do something that was technically against the rules.

    I liked the storyline in this book, and I have to say that the writing was beautiful. The writing had a real romantic feel to it, and really was a pleasure to read. I liked the way the story flowed, and I liked the little twists that I didn’t see coming. I did feel that the romance took over this book though. For once I actually liked the storyline a lot more than the romance, and when at 60% the book suddenly became all about the romance it lost a bit of its spark for me. The book did pick up again a little towards the end, but the first half was definitely the better part of the story for me.

    The ending to this was satisfactory, although there was plenty of room left for a sequel. I’m not sure yet if this is going to be a standalone or the start of a series, but personally I think the way this book was left it could go either way and be fine.
    Overall; a good YA fantasy/romance.
    7.5 out of 10.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    All That Glows is a fast paced, action packed fantasy with an en

    All That Glows is a fast paced, action packed fantasy with an endearing romance and an epic battle that can't be missed.




    I just flat out enjoyed this story. I found it highly entertaining and even though it was somewhat predictable, I was completely intrigued by the world Graudin creates. Graudin's Fae world is dark with a carefully constructed back ground that was quite original while using the Faery names that are very familiar. Making the cast of characters you might think you know but giving us a surprising new perspective on the Fae.




    I was surprised by the transformation of Richard's playboy character and I did feel that Emrys did get sick a little too much. But I didn't find it too distracting and in the end it didn't effect my enjoyment of this book.




    The story is safe for teen + reading. With intimate encounters implied instead of vividly described, All That Glows made for a fun adventure that all ages can share.




    Ryan Graudin created a stand alone, contemporary, magically infused, fantasy that simply dazzles in All That Glows.




    I received this ARC copy of All That Glows from HarperTeen in exchange for a honest review. This book is set for publication Feb. 11, 2014.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Magical, romantic, and lovely! All That Glows was absolutely bri

    Magical, romantic, and lovely! All That Glows was absolutely brilliant. I loved this book so much! It was absolute perfection. Loved it!

    I really loved the idea for this book. It was a mix of modern life and faerie magic and it was blended perfectly. It was set in the present but not bogged down by contemporary details, which allowed that magical feel of the book to remain at the focus. And the atmosphere that the author create was lovely. It had an air of magic and it brought me right into the world of faerie guardians. Brilliantly done!

    Emrys was a wonderful heroine. She was extremely dedicated to her job as a guardian and she was one of the best. But, when she meets her new charge, the heir to the British throne, her rigid views start to shake. And, she realizes why some faeries gave up their magic for love because she begins contemplating just that. I really liked her. She was a strong character who would do anything for what she believed in. She was very likable and I thought she was lovely.

    Richard was absolutely lovable. I totally and completely adored him. When we first meet him, he isn't the most upstanding of people. He was a party boy who preferred to forget the responsibilities of the crown he never wanted. But, over the course of the book, he grew up. After something happened that made him realize his responsibilities, he proved himself as a worthy prince. He was dedicated to protecting his country and he wasn't going to run away from the fae that were trying to harm it. He was strong, clever, and determined. He was also very sweet and utterly adorable. I thought he was just perfect.

    The romance was super sweet. It developed slowly over the course of the book, progressing from a little crush, to infatuation, and finally to love. Emrys and Richard were so sweet together. Their romance was just lovely.

    The plot was fast paced. I was completely hooked the entire way through. This book had no shortage of thrills as Emrys and Richard fought off the dark fey determined to destroy humanity for daring to upset the balance of nature. That definitely kept me on the edge of my seat. And there were plenty of surprises, not the least of which was who turned out to be behind it all. I never saw it coming. I think I suspected just about everyone except who it actually was. When it was finally revealed, it totally blew me away. I really enjoyed the story and I thought the ending was perfect. I couldn't imagine a better way for they story to conclude, even though I wish I could have remained in that world forever.

    All That Glows was a brilliant YA paranormal romance. The romance was sweet, the thrills were constant, and the surprises were shocking. I absolutely adored this book. It was so utterly sweet and lovely and perfect. Lovers of anything YA, romance, or faerie, this is a book you must read, because it was perfection.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog*** All That Glo

    ***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***




    All That Glows by Ryan Graudin
    Publisher: Harper Teen
    Publication Date: February 11, 2014
    Rating: 4 stars
    Source: eARC from Edelweiss




    Summary (from Goodreads):




    Emrys—a fiery, red-headed Fae—always embraced her life in the Highlands, far from the city’s draining technology, until she’s sent to London to rejoin the Faery Guard. But this isn’t any normal assignment—she’s sent to guard Prince Richard: Britain’s notorious, partying bad boy and soon-to-be King. The prince’s careless ways and royal blood make him the irresistible for the dark spirits that feed on mortals. Sweet, disheveled, and alive with adventure—Richard is one charge who will put Emrys’s magic and heart to the test.




    When an ancient force begins preying on the monarchy, Emrys must hunt through the London’s magical underworld, facing down Banshees, Black Dogs and Green Women to find the one who threatens Richard’s life. In this chaos of dark magic, palace murders and paparazzi, Emrys finds herself facing an impossible choice. For despite all her powers, Emrys has discovered a force that burns brighter than magic: love.




    What I Liked:




    When I first saw the cover of this book months ago, I was like, AHH, IT'S SO PRETTY! The cover model is pretty, but the cover design itself is rather breathtaking. I'm not a huge fan of pink, but I love the swirls of shades of pink and the occasional purple. The typography is stunning. I feel like the design team outdid themselves with this cover!




    Anyway, the cover is beautiful, and oh my goodness, the WRITING STYLE is beautiful. There were so many wonderful parts to this book, including the writing style, the plot, the characters, the romance. Despite a review or two I saw from some other bloggers, I really liked this book, and I am glad that I still read this book, despite some negative reviews that did a great job of convincing me otherwise.




    As I mentioned above, the writing is really something else. At first, I was like, there are wayyy too many similes. This author uses "like" or "as" or even the comparison "than", or metaphors, way too often. But, it seemed to work, after a while. I still think that there were wayyy too many comparisons going on, but it didn't bother me after a while. That aside, I really like Graudin's writing style. It's lyrical, almost, and while there are many descriptions, they're not all lumped together, and they aren't too boring.




    At first, I thought the plot was a little simplistic and almost predictable. Protect the prince, figure out who is targeting the royal family. All the while, try not to fall in love with the prince. In a nutshell, it IS that simple, but it's so much more. The prince's life is at stake, but he's worth even more to Emrys because she loves him, and he loves her. Finding out who is sabotaging her Fae kingdom is also extremely important and significant, because there is a traitor in the ranks. The world is changing - both human and Fae - and Emrys and the others will have to choose. The plot doesn't seem overly complicated, and it's not, I suppose, but it's not clear-cut and obvious. There are some twists (not many), and I didn't really see the culprit coming.




    I think I actually do really like Emrys. Throughout the story, I vacillated between liking her and rolling my eyes at her. OF COURSE she would let the prince see her. She's selfish, in that regard, and stupid, but then, I understand why she did it. She still risked and almost ruined everything, especially not knowing that she would fall in love with him, but I forgive her. Mostly.




    I really, really like Richard. He isn't flat or one-dimensional, which is nice. At times, especially in the beginning, he seemed sub-par compared to Emrys, which bothered me for some reason, but as the story progressed, he really grew into his role and became quite the leader. Only then did he seem to rank alongside Emrys, and not behind her. He's swoony and lovable in a different way than what we're used to in YA literature.




    Which leads me to my next point - the romance. This book is all about the romance between Emrys and Richard. While the romance does NOT directly affect the overall plot (which is the threat to the Fae kingdom and to the human royal family), the romance is very significant. However, I liked the Graudin didn't turn Richard into the sex-god male love interest. Richard is NOT just a love interest - he is an important protagonist in this story. His role is just as important as Emrys'. 




    The romance progresses throughout this book, though it may seem insta-lovey at first. I think it gradually developed, though at times, it seemed to move quicker than at other times. I think Richard and Emrys are a good fit for each other, and I really enjoyed reading their interactions.




    Graudin really did her research, in terms of faeries and spells and lore and legends. I liked that she kept the spells authentic (in terms of the incantations). and how she twisted legends and old lore to fit her story. And, her portrayal of historical London is pretty great! Especially the effect on faeries - that was a nice touch.




    Overall, this book is definitely a solid debut. It's a bit longer than the usual YA novel, but I rather like this, especially since this novel is a standalone novel. Graudin did an excellent job of pacing this story, as well as the romance within the story. I'll be reading more of Graudin's work!




    What I Did Not Like:




    There were a few things that bothered me - I already mentioned the writing style, in terms of the frequent comparisons. Right from the start, we're hit with an arsenal of comparisons, and it's a little odd and overwhelming. I've never seen so many comparisons used in a modern day YA novel. But, I suppose there is a first for everything!




    I also was a bit put off by the ending. Don't get me wrong, it's a satisfactory ending, and all the characters get what they deserve (especially Titania). BUT, it wraps up a little *too* perfectly, you know? Everything happens exactly as a happy ending would call for, and that bothered me a bit. I almost saw a tragic ending coming... but it didn't happen. Everything wrapped up so nicely, with a cute little bow on the top. 




    Perfection, my friends, is so not the way to go. Wrapping up the ending with all your ducks in a row? No. Don't do that. It's so fake. Emrys gets her way, Richard gets his way, Herne gets his way, Mab gets what she was looking for, so does Titania, the royal family is safe, blah blah blah. I hope I didn't spoil anything there (really, I didn't, because some of those things are NOT what they seem - trust me). 




    Would I Recommend It:




    Despite the few problems I had with this book, I would DEFINITELY recommend this novel! Especially to historical fiction fans, or fantasy fans. I usually hate books dealing directly with the faeries, because they're silly, usually, but I really enjoyed this one.




    Rating:




    3.5 stars -> rounded up to 4 stars. A pretty awesome debut! I look forward to reading more of Graudin's book - especially her other upcoming release, The Walled City!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 9 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1