Customer Reviews for

All That Glows

Average Rating 4
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(3)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 11, 2014

    First and foremost, I love books about faeries. They are the bes

    First and foremost, I love books about faeries. They are the bestest thing ever. And second, an apology to Ryan Graudin. Why? Because when I first heard about the book, and right up until I'd finished chapter one, I thought she was also Lesley Livingston, author of A Wondrous Strange and that All That Glows was a spin-off novel. To be fair, the covers are VERY similar! ANYWAYS, once I straightened that out, I dug in. In fact, I read the entire book this afternoon. Considering it took me a week each to read the last two books I've read (major reading slump), that is a big accomplishment along with a REALLY GOOD THING! This book drew me in and wouldn't let me go. Trust me, I haven't done anything BUT read this book since I started it!




    The main character is Emrys and she is awesome! I love books where the main character knows about the supernatural stuff before page one (ex. Throne of Glass, Vampire Academy, Half-Blood, and Anna Dressed in Blood). It eliminates the many chapters, and sometimes entire novel, where the main character is stuck denying, and eventually accepting, his or her magical abilities. Emrys knows she's a faery, it would be bad if she didn't, considering that she's hundreds of years old. Also, it's really awesome that she's the old one here, instead of the guy. The guy is generally the one who comes into the girls' life starts the chain reaction. Instead, Emrys tells the guy about magic, and while he's going through the stages of acceptance, Emrys can go out and be kick-butt. Emrys is confident in herself. I loved reading from her point of view.




    While the romance in the book didn't take forever, it wasn't insta-love either, which I really liked. There was that instant spark/attraction/thing that's totally okay. The characters didn't get it, and weren't professing feelings for each other until about halfway through the book. They fell in love slowly, which was really nice. The plot was amazingly fast, and while I suspected part of the end, others still came as a big surprise! Also, I'm pretty sure this book is a standalone. And as much as I want more of this world, I loved the ending and don't know if I can stand to see the characters go through more trouble. A novella that takes place two years in the future would be totally different and totally okay, of course! (hint hint, wink wink) The ending of the book deviated from the typical ending, and was super cool to see. Trust me, you will love this book. Great for fans of Julie Kagawas' The Iron Fey and Lesley Livingstons' A Wondrous Strange, I give this book five stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2014

    It is not secret that I absolutely adore Julie Kagawa┬┐s Iron Fey

    It is not secret that I absolutely adore Julie Kagawa’s Iron Fey series. It’s like one of my all-time favorites, so I was so excited for this new faery book!

    Emrys is a bas-ass faery guardian who has been tasked with protecting England’s prince, Richard. Which isn’t a particularly easy task. I really liked Emrys. She is loyal to her queen, Mab, but also becomes loyal to Richard. I appreciated her forwardness to get stuff done instead of waiting for things to come to her and those she loves.

    Richard. My British book boyfriend with a sexy accent! At first he comes across as a total party boy but he is really different underneath. He cares so much for his younger sister and the responsibilities he has are just so overwhelming. OH, I loved his adorable nickname for Emrys. He’s a big sweetheart.

    Breena is Emrys oldest friend who she could trust no matter what and I liked her wise thoughts on important matters. Anabelle, Richard’s sister, was so cute and so supportive of her big brother.

    There were so many twists and turns, and even huge deceptions that I did notttt see coming at all. This book definitely kept me on my toes at all times. Towards the end, I was super positive that I knew how the book ended but oh no, she tricked me! The writing is really flowy and easy to read. The romance started kind of fast but the cuteness made up for the fast start. They were both willing to give up their lives for each other. I loved it.

    If you love faery stories, be sure to give this one a try. I loved that this is a standalone, but I’ve heard that there is a companion novel in the works…yes please!

    Favorite Swoon-worthy Quote: Richard leans down, closing the gap between us, drawing me into him. Our lips meet, smooth and seamless. There’s a nameless desire in the way he kisses me. I feel it rising in me as well, swelling like clear, triumphant note. He pulls me close, his kiss growing deeper, a never-ending crescendo. This – this is something else. It reaches deep inside me. Sparks my soul.

    Rating: 4.5/5 Tar Heels! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Magical, romantic, and lovely! All That Glows was absolutely bri

    Magical, romantic, and lovely! All That Glows was absolutely brilliant. I loved this book so much! It was absolute perfection. Loved it!

    I really loved the idea for this book. It was a mix of modern life and faerie magic and it was blended perfectly. It was set in the present but not bogged down by contemporary details, which allowed that magical feel of the book to remain at the focus. And the atmosphere that the author create was lovely. It had an air of magic and it brought me right into the world of faerie guardians. Brilliantly done!

    Emrys was a wonderful heroine. She was extremely dedicated to her job as a guardian and she was one of the best. But, when she meets her new charge, the heir to the British throne, her rigid views start to shake. And, she realizes why some faeries gave up their magic for love because she begins contemplating just that. I really liked her. She was a strong character who would do anything for what she believed in. She was very likable and I thought she was lovely.

    Richard was absolutely lovable. I totally and completely adored him. When we first meet him, he isn't the most upstanding of people. He was a party boy who preferred to forget the responsibilities of the crown he never wanted. But, over the course of the book, he grew up. After something happened that made him realize his responsibilities, he proved himself as a worthy prince. He was dedicated to protecting his country and he wasn't going to run away from the fae that were trying to harm it. He was strong, clever, and determined. He was also very sweet and utterly adorable. I thought he was just perfect.

    The romance was super sweet. It developed slowly over the course of the book, progressing from a little crush, to infatuation, and finally to love. Emrys and Richard were so sweet together. Their romance was just lovely.

    The plot was fast paced. I was completely hooked the entire way through. This book had no shortage of thrills as Emrys and Richard fought off the dark fey determined to destroy humanity for daring to upset the balance of nature. That definitely kept me on the edge of my seat. And there were plenty of surprises, not the least of which was who turned out to be behind it all. I never saw it coming. I think I suspected just about everyone except who it actually was. When it was finally revealed, it totally blew me away. I really enjoyed the story and I thought the ending was perfect. I couldn't imagine a better way for they story to conclude, even though I wish I could have remained in that world forever.

    All That Glows was a brilliant YA paranormal romance. The romance was sweet, the thrills were constant, and the surprises were shocking. I absolutely adored this book. It was so utterly sweet and lovely and perfect. Lovers of anything YA, romance, or faerie, this is a book you must read, because it was perfection.

    *I received a free copy from the publisher in exchange for an honest review

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 3 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1