Customer Reviews for

All That Is Bitter and Sweet

Average Rating 3
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend!

I was immediately drawn to buy Ashley's book when it first became available. Growing up listening to The Judd's music, and seeing Naomi and Wynona on talk shows lately (sans Ashley) to promote their new OWN show, I was intrigued to read Ashley's story. Ashley begins h...
I was immediately drawn to buy Ashley's book when it first became available. Growing up listening to The Judd's music, and seeing Naomi and Wynona on talk shows lately (sans Ashley) to promote their new OWN show, I was intrigued to read Ashley's story. Ashley begins her journey reflecting on her own childhood issues of abandonment, rejection, depression, isolation, loss of family connection, and sexual abuse. While she talks about these issues very openly, Ashley is not screaming "I am a victim" or "Naomi is a horrible mother". Rather, she reveals very openly how those issues affected her and what she did to move past it.
Ashley shares the high and low points of her work as Ambassador and shares her inner struggles with religion and God. She is very raw in this book and is as transparent as she can be, without losing focus of the work she continues to do for PSI. Her journey takes her to a place of peace, acceptance, and a stronger will to continue helping those less fortunate to have a voice.

Ashley's book cannot be read without wanting to do something and help others. At the end of the book, Ashley provides websites and information to many organizations and programs that always need funding and volunteers (at any level). This is a book that deserves to be read, if not for Ashley's own journey, but for the women and children whose voices deserve to be heard.

posted by sneps on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

39 out of 52 people found this review helpful.

Sadly would not recommend

I was really expecting a deep insightful book, but found that only a third of the book touched on her life and in a very one dimensional way. Yes, she opens up about the some of the darker experiences in her life, but doesn't delve deep into those emotions at all. She p...
I was really expecting a deep insightful book, but found that only a third of the book touched on her life and in a very one dimensional way. Yes, she opens up about the some of the darker experiences in her life, but doesn't delve deep into those emotions at all. She passes over her molestation in a matter of fact way. I get she may have placed it in the right place in her life now, but why write about it then. Not to share who molested her is sending a horrible message to the secrecy of incest. She continues to protect the offender. The rest of the book she should have been written apart from what she labeled this book, as her "memoirs." In writing of her life experience, she's selective of what she shares, does not delve into her relationship with her mother or sister in a deep level. And her experiences in third world countries, was muddied on her repetitive, "how it made her feel, how mentally exhausting it was, how she wanted to help them all" awareness. There is a bigger picture here, which I don't think she covers. How her life is drawn to this area and maybe not in a healthy way. She doesn't delve in to the self-awareness aspect of this. In a particular part of the book she offended me deeply. Where she judges a lady she comes upon in a hotel on her way to a safari. Because the women is dressed in expensive clothes, Ashley makes a judgement she must be shallow because the lady asked if she was going on a safari too. How pompous is that responding to her like you did? How do you know THAT women you judged doesn't have a similar cause? What makes you think her journey in life hasn't been difficult? What because how she was dressed! Shallow. Maybe folks think the same way about you. Going to the slums, but retreating to your four star hotel afterwards. You talk about returning home and feeling guilty, wrong message again and shows perhaps motives are not in a good healthy place. Delve deeper Ashley. To readers, I'd save the money. This book p*^sed me off. She definitely has not completed her journey nor reached a level of self-actualization.

posted by 2712772 on April 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    Highly Recommend!

    I was immediately drawn to buy Ashley's book when it first became available. Growing up listening to The Judd's music, and seeing Naomi and Wynona on talk shows lately (sans Ashley) to promote their new OWN show, I was intrigued to read Ashley's story. Ashley begins her journey reflecting on her own childhood issues of abandonment, rejection, depression, isolation, loss of family connection, and sexual abuse. While she talks about these issues very openly, Ashley is not screaming "I am a victim" or "Naomi is a horrible mother". Rather, she reveals very openly how those issues affected her and what she did to move past it.
    Ashley shares the high and low points of her work as Ambassador and shares her inner struggles with religion and God. She is very raw in this book and is as transparent as she can be, without losing focus of the work she continues to do for PSI. Her journey takes her to a place of peace, acceptance, and a stronger will to continue helping those less fortunate to have a voice.

    Ashley's book cannot be read without wanting to do something and help others. At the end of the book, Ashley provides websites and information to many organizations and programs that always need funding and volunteers (at any level). This is a book that deserves to be read, if not for Ashley's own journey, but for the women and children whose voices deserve to be heard.

    17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2011

    Inspiring read

    I knew I did not like Naomi or Wynnona Judd but I didn't know why; until this little book. Understanding the dynamics of this 'lost child' and then reading the accomplishments of this amazing woman is truely inspirational. Glad to spend the time reading this heart wrenching story of self and selflessness.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2011

    A definite must read.

    I found this book to be very well written, insightful and enlightening. The premise of the book is how Ms. Judd endured and overcame a neglected and harmful childhood, in order to grow as a person and serve a larger community. Perhaps she does not get into the gritty details of her personal tragedies but that isn't the point of the book. The point is to illustrate that her personal tragedies are nothing in comparison to what she has witnessed around the world. For me, her faith in God, in herself and in those that have been chosen to support her are an example of how anyone can take a personal hardship and turn it into an act of love and service. She brought to light many issues within the world, and our own country, that though acknowledged, are essentially ignored. If you are looking for gossipy details of her life with The Judd's, you will be disappointed. If you are, however, looking for a woman whose strength of character allowed her to face her own demons and the demons of this world, read this book.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2011

    Give it a Chance!

    I'm not sure that it's fair to criticize this book for not being an autobiography that describes her life with her family from birth to present. It is correctly listed as a memoir, which by definition tend to focus on public (as opposed to personal) matters and do not follow the typical birth to present timeline of an autobiography. It is apparent in her writing that she is intelligent, compassionate, and insightful. She is also human, and therefore susceptible to some self-righteousness, grandiosity, and judgment of others during her journey. This, however, should not take away from the purpose of her journey or the purpose of the book (which is to show how her personal experiences drove her interest in philanthropy while also helping her to recover). We can all criticize celebrities for being somewhat hypocritical for publicizing causes while continuing to live richly; however, to some extent, we all do this, since we all devote time and money to ourselves that could be devoted to others. I think it's sad that so many were disappointed that this was not a juicy tell-all. I enjoy those as much as the next person, but why would we criticize someone who is more intelligent, eloquent, and socially responsible than the average celebrity memoirist? Give her a break. She is doing more to help the world than most of the rest of us.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    Very pleasantly surprised!!

    I bought this book on my Nook - honestly - because I wanted the dirt on the Judds. What I got was much more than I bargained for, but in a good way! I learned so much about Ashley, her very lonely childhood, and the good she does in the world. The causes she fights for - specifically sex trafficing of young girls - is a cause dear to my heart. The atrocities she describes are heart-wrenching. The writing and the details stayed with me for a long time. And to top it off, I felt the book was extremely well written. I highly recommend the book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    A quick read

    I too bought the book thinking I would not hear much about the mother and daughter singing duo, but of the life of the neglected and lost child, Ashley. What I did read of mother, Naomi, made me realize why I've never felt her to be an honest, warm person. She was and probably is still selfish and very self-centered and her new attempt to try to look more like Ashley is a complete failure. Her face is a mask and may have been that way all of her years.
    Ashley on the other hand is educated, wise, caring and warm. Her book is an easy read, especially if you like women.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2011

    Byttqq

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2014

    Heyo

    I want to see her movie someone like you with hugh jackman HUGH JACKMAN IS AMAZING! #wolverineoniceskates if you dont get it watch the most recent time david letterman had hugh jackman on his show #janethesearepoeplenotcows from someone like u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 24, 2012

    Highly recommended - do read!

    This book changes all your perceptions of Hollywood, it is sincere and makes you realize that we are all people searching for a path. Some people's path let them navigate in different universes but in the end all that matters is your legacy to humanity. After I read this book, I started to look for movies made by this amazing human being and following the causes she embraces.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2012

    Wonderful Book

    The relation between personal trauma and recovery and global trauma and recovery is beautiful and true. I love that she and others are speaking up for women everywhere.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Lost Child Lost Child Losr Child

    As with myself, mang readings were as hers yet she had the inner strength to overcome and rise above-this truly is her callingand I admirte

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Recommended with a grain of salt.

    I thought Ashley Judd's autobiography was well written, thought provoking and sincere (mostly). The work she does with her humanitarian group is inspiring and makes you wish you could quit your job and fly around the world hugging orphans and prostitutes while teaching them small steps to better their lives and living conditions. Every so often, a certain aura of superiority would pop out of the pages that would leave me wondering, "is she the type of celebrity you hear about being so difficult to work with and makes life hell on the set?" In my opinion she subtlely implies this in a few of her entries. Overall it makes no difference, people are who they are and the work she does on an international level (humanitarian-not acting) more than compensates for this. Get ready to bust out the reading dictionary too, those Harvard grads sure like their long words!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 61 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4