Customer Reviews for

All That Is Bitter and Sweet

Average Rating 3
( 348 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(101)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(58)

2 Star

(78)

1 Star

(50)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommend!

I was immediately drawn to buy Ashley's book when it first became available. Growing up listening to The Judd's music, and seeing Naomi and Wynona on talk shows lately (sans Ashley) to promote their new OWN show, I was intrigued to read Ashley's story. Ashley begins h...
I was immediately drawn to buy Ashley's book when it first became available. Growing up listening to The Judd's music, and seeing Naomi and Wynona on talk shows lately (sans Ashley) to promote their new OWN show, I was intrigued to read Ashley's story. Ashley begins her journey reflecting on her own childhood issues of abandonment, rejection, depression, isolation, loss of family connection, and sexual abuse. While she talks about these issues very openly, Ashley is not screaming "I am a victim" or "Naomi is a horrible mother". Rather, she reveals very openly how those issues affected her and what she did to move past it.
Ashley shares the high and low points of her work as Ambassador and shares her inner struggles with religion and God. She is very raw in this book and is as transparent as she can be, without losing focus of the work she continues to do for PSI. Her journey takes her to a place of peace, acceptance, and a stronger will to continue helping those less fortunate to have a voice.

Ashley's book cannot be read without wanting to do something and help others. At the end of the book, Ashley provides websites and information to many organizations and programs that always need funding and volunteers (at any level). This is a book that deserves to be read, if not for Ashley's own journey, but for the women and children whose voices deserve to be heard.

posted by sneps on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

40 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

Sadly would not recommend

I was really expecting a deep insightful book, but found that only a third of the book touched on her life and in a very one dimensional way. Yes, she opens up about the some of the darker experiences in her life, but doesn't delve deep into those emotions at all. She p...
I was really expecting a deep insightful book, but found that only a third of the book touched on her life and in a very one dimensional way. Yes, she opens up about the some of the darker experiences in her life, but doesn't delve deep into those emotions at all. She passes over her molestation in a matter of fact way. I get she may have placed it in the right place in her life now, but why write about it then. Not to share who molested her is sending a horrible message to the secrecy of incest. She continues to protect the offender. The rest of the book she should have been written apart from what she labeled this book, as her "memoirs." In writing of her life experience, she's selective of what she shares, does not delve into her relationship with her mother or sister in a deep level. And her experiences in third world countries, was muddied on her repetitive, "how it made her feel, how mentally exhausting it was, how she wanted to help them all" awareness. There is a bigger picture here, which I don't think she covers. How her life is drawn to this area and maybe not in a healthy way. She doesn't delve in to the self-awareness aspect of this. In a particular part of the book she offended me deeply. Where she judges a lady she comes upon in a hotel on her way to a safari. Because the women is dressed in expensive clothes, Ashley makes a judgement she must be shallow because the lady asked if she was going on a safari too. How pompous is that responding to her like you did? How do you know THAT women you judged doesn't have a similar cause? What makes you think her journey in life hasn't been difficult? What because how she was dressed! Shallow. Maybe folks think the same way about you. Going to the slums, but retreating to your four star hotel afterwards. You talk about returning home and feeling guilty, wrong message again and shows perhaps motives are not in a good healthy place. Delve deeper Ashley. To readers, I'd save the money. This book p*^sed me off. She definitely has not completed her journey nor reached a level of self-actualization.

posted by 2712772 on April 17, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    This Is Not Your Ordinary "Celebrity" Memoir

    This book is a reflection of the peace that Ashley Judd has found in working through the pain of her childhood. You will not be able to put this book down. For anyone facing the hurt, guilt and anger of a similar battle, I recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score." It is an amazing book with a power message for everyone.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Very good

    Not exactly what I had expected, but in a good way. While I had an idea of what the book was about in regard to her family, I did not have a sense of her work in other countries or what really happened. It really brought home the truth that we each have our personal journey, and that we each experience it different ways.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    great human being!

    Ashley's dedicatin to human rights inspires me to be a better person. If all of us had an once of her kindness, this would be a better world.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2011

    Well done!

    I thought the book was articulate and well written. Even though a memoir, it kept my attention to the end. The book helped to increase my awareness of the conditions in which many women are living throughout the world. It reminded me of Mother Theresa's call to "the poorest of the poor."

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!!!!

    After starting her book and reading it i began to realize the impact such a book can have. Not every book has to be about someones horrible childhood. But, what someone like ashley can make out of one. Through this and some other things i have realized that life is what you make out of it. This was a true inspiration to me. And a life changing experience. From the beginning it enlightened me to take the pain and trauma in my life and do something huge with it. Not just let them win but find my reason for my purpose!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2011

    Excellent!

    I would highly recommend this book. Ms Juddd writes with intelligence, wit and above all courage. Her poignant prose about her global humanitarian work as well her personal struggles will help a lot of people.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Beautiful!!!

    This book is beautifully written. Ashley has inspired me to help however I can. She shows us how much one person can do in this world in spite of their upbringing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2013

    After reading this book, my first thought was this is the kind o

    After reading this book, my first thought was this is the kind of reading that should be done in high school English classes. I wish I had this kind of meat to sink my teeth into rather than Camus, Orwell and Huxley. I'm amazed at this woman's ability to be so brutally honest about herself, show such an amazing capacity for compassion for her family, friends and complete strangers. And in the process find personal healing. She gives an empowerment to those without voices, who will never be heard. She exposes those dark corners of humanity that most of us never see. But most importantly, she is giving herself, her time, her energy to fight the injustice that hides in those dark places. The only issue I had with this book is this....shame on the editors and publisher for not doing their job better...tsk tsk tsk...next edition maybe??

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2012

    Amazing

    This book is a truly genuine and inspiring look at social issues around the world and what every person can do to make a difference. Ashley Judd does a wonderful job of showing how, no matter what obstacles each of us may face in our lives, we can all rise above them and create change in our own country and in places around the globe. Inspiring and empowering for all women! This should be on everyone's wishlist.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Excellent read - more than a memoir

    If you buy this book expecting it to be just a memoir, it's not. There is a lot about what is happening in Africa & Asia currently. I enjoyed it BECAUSE of that. I am interested in History.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2012

    Ashley Judd's Bitter Sweet Biographical Account:

    I started reading Ashley Judd's out of curiosity. I am an admittedly huge fan of Wynonna's & Naomi Judd's & I have been growing into more of a fan of Ashley's as well. With all of care Ashley Judd takes to gaurd her private life I'm not sure what I expected but I was pleasantly surprised with her cander. I have just finished reading the sample portion on my new "NOOK" that I received as a gift from my husband for Christmas. It was like a test drive for both, Ashley Judd's book &my NOOK and I am happy to report I am very impressed with both. I now fully intend to purchase Ashley Judd's first written work with my other favorite Christmas gift, my gift certificate to Barns &Noble. I can hardly wait to finish reading this young woman's candid account of her life. What I've read so far has held me spellbound as if we were walking through her life side by side as she vividly details what we are viewing frame by frame throughout the journey of her life thus far. Bravo Ashley Judd, another artistic venue conquered!(:0)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    Eye opening book...

    This book was eye opening to me, I learned not only about Ashley's life and the amazing story of how she has become the amazing woman she is today after having the childhood she had. Some people would have used her childhood life as an excuse to have a horrible life and blame their parents and family for having a bad life, but she didn't. I learned in detailed the life style many women and children live, which broke my heart. I learned about PSI and how much and others do to help these women and children to have a better life. It made me realize that some of the things I complain about in my life are not worth complaining about. I feel this book will help others and it will also help the PSI cause. Ashely is an amazing woman with a big heart...before reading this book, I new she was nice, after reading this book, I admire her. You will be amazed of her life story. A must read book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Inspirational and triumphant ... highly recommended reading

    What an amazing person Ashley Judd is...I had no idea. This is not a sel-promoting celebrity autobiography. This is the journey of one small neglected child to the triumphant richness of a generous, loving and compassionate soul, raising awareness and helping millions of real women and children trapped in the modern day slavery of destitution, prostitutian, HIV/Aids and hopelesness all around this planet. She is doing something about it...we all should be doing something in any small or big way that we can. She is an inspiration and a hero. Jeanne Hoffmaster, Arizona USA

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Rereading again!

    Excellent. I immediately went to all the web sites and read more of her work. A lovely lady is Ashley.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2011

    Best of both...

    Although it may seem like she is stroking herself sometimes... Hey, why not??! Her philanthropic work is well known and documented without her having to write a book about it. She is truly amazing and if not for anything else, the book is a quick and light crash course on some of the issues that are happening right now. It's also easy to relate to some of the childhood issues that followed her into adulthood. Enjoyable read for more than one reason!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2011

    highly recommend...

    I enjoyed reading her book so much that I was disappointed when finished. My childhood seems similar to hers (although, mine was actually harder) but nevertheless, I was able to relate to many of her sad and painful feelings of depressions and abandonment growing up. While I'm not an actor nor am I rich but on a human/little girl level, I felt very connected to her. I liked her before but now even more so. While reading her book, it felt as if she was talking to me rather then me reading a book. I also, have a huge amount of respect for the work she does world-wide. Keep up the great work Ashley!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 101 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6