Customer Reviews for

All That Remains (Kay Scarpetta Series #3)

Average Rating 4
( 148 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(74)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

fine forensic police procedural

When Deborah Harvey, the daughter of the National Drug Policy Director, and her boyfriend fail to return home, the FBI investigates based on the assumption that there is a link to her father¿s job. When their remains are finally found, the media, linking it without sub...
When Deborah Harvey, the daughter of the National Drug Policy Director, and her boyfriend fail to return home, the FBI investigates based on the assumption that there is a link to her father¿s job. When their remains are finally found, the media, linking it without substance, to eight other dead in pairs of two near Williamsburg, Virginia, dub the culprit the Couples Killer. --- State Medical Examiner Kay Scarpetta joins the investigation into the latest killings. Not much data can be gleaned from the skeletons though the killer leaves a glaring jack of hearts at each crime site. The Feds, state, and local law enforcement trip over each other like the Keystone Cops. Meanwhile Kay and Richmond homicide detective, Pete Marino, follow the paths, many of which dead end in cul de sacs, left behind by a devious killer made even more complex by a reporter and the Harvey family. --- This reprint of an early Scarpetta thriller is a fine entry as a difficult case turns ugly and convoluted by so many participants especially the interference by cops and amateurs. Kay, her Valkyrie cohorts, and Pete are at their best working through a myriad of potential clues obfuscated by politicians, reporters, cops and family members who devastate crime scenes and more. Fans of the great M.E. will enjoy this fine forensic police procedural. --- Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Not Her Best

While this was a quick and exciting read, I was disappointed by the way she very neatly ties up all loose ends in the last several pages with 'information' that had not previously been a part of the story. The climax does not arise organically out of the situation/chara...
While this was a quick and exciting read, I was disappointed by the way she very neatly ties up all loose ends in the last several pages with 'information' that had not previously been a part of the story. The climax does not arise organically out of the situation/characters as it does in the best mystery novels.

posted by Anonymous on November 25, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fine forensic police procedural

    When Deborah Harvey, the daughter of the National Drug Policy Director, and her boyfriend fail to return home, the FBI investigates based on the assumption that there is a link to her father¿s job. When their remains are finally found, the media, linking it without substance, to eight other dead in pairs of two near Williamsburg, Virginia, dub the culprit the Couples Killer. --- State Medical Examiner Kay Scarpetta joins the investigation into the latest killings. Not much data can be gleaned from the skeletons though the killer leaves a glaring jack of hearts at each crime site. The Feds, state, and local law enforcement trip over each other like the Keystone Cops. Meanwhile Kay and Richmond homicide detective, Pete Marino, follow the paths, many of which dead end in cul de sacs, left behind by a devious killer made even more complex by a reporter and the Harvey family. --- This reprint of an early Scarpetta thriller is a fine entry as a difficult case turns ugly and convoluted by so many participants especially the interference by cops and amateurs. Kay, her Valkyrie cohorts, and Pete are at their best working through a myriad of potential clues obfuscated by politicians, reporters, cops and family members who devastate crime scenes and more. Fans of the great M.E. will enjoy this fine forensic police procedural. --- Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2005

    Not a surprise

    Another Patricia Cornwell hit. If you've enjoyed any of her books, you'll surely enjoy this one. As usual, I didn't want to put it down. One of the few authors that I allow to make me impatiently wait for the next novel...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2003

    All That Remains

    The only book that has ever kept me up all night. Seriously. So well-written and fast paced. Phenomenal. Read this book. Now. Beautiful.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2003

    All That Remains

    Thrilling. Breathtaking. This is one of my favorite Scarpetta novels. Cornwell once again delivers and proves why she is the number one crime writer of our time.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Another Great Read by Patricia Cornwell

    Dealing with a serial killer has to be mental and physically exhusting for Kay Scarpetta. Cornwell knows how to keep her reader's on edge. this was a breath taking and another thriller that you will not want to put down. I can see why Ms. Cornwell is the #1 crime writer of our time. Now go get this book and read it, you might get scared, but not disapointed!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2006

    Intense - Cornwell is great

    this was my first of the Scarpetta series and I'm up to number 6 the series- Cornwell knows how to keep you on the edge of your chair and I'm always amazed how she weaves the storylines with such intricate details - the characters are wonderful - Patricia Cornwell's ability to work a plot with all the suspense and keep a good flow with the storyline never disappoints. What I love about her characters are they are very human, personality flaws and all, which makes the writing believable. My goal - to read all of her books...

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2003

    Great book!

    I really like the Kay Scarpetta series!! I like the interaction of the characters, as well as the hunt for the clues. I recommend this book highly!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 25, 2011

    Awesome

    This book was great! This is classic Cornwell & I sure miss her!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2005

    Classic Cornwell

    Excellent book. The third installment in the series. A lot of twist and turns. Cornwell is the best!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2002

    ANOTHER WINNER!

    I cannot get enough of the Kay Scarpetta mysteries! Patricia, you are a jewel! Keep on writing!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    One book everyone should read.

    I think this is a novel that anyone that loves murder mysteries. I thought that is was outstanding and it always kept me interested.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2000

    Just One Word: Perfect

    Hallo, my name is Ata and I'm from Turkey. I just read Cornwell's three books[Cruel And Unusual, Postmortem, All That Remains]and I really liked All That Remains most. Because, it was really frightenning...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2012

    Moltres

    Goes to the 17 reslt.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2002

    WOW!! Another good one!!!!

    This was my third now of the series and was really good. Lots of twists and surprises!! I couldn't believe the ending though,(Mrs. Harvey)and I was sad about Abby.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2001

    Third and getting better

    This was my third Cornwell that I've read and by far the best. It kept me up all night to finish this one. I've already started the next Scarpetta novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2000

    First and definitely not the last in the series of Patricia Cornwell books.

    This is the first book that I read by Patricia Cornwell. I thought that this was a great book, well written and very suspenseful!!! I too live in Virginia, so it caught my interest even greater to recognize some descriptions of areas, roads, and cities that are in her books. Thanks Patricia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 74 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4