Customer Reviews for

All That You Can't Leave Behind

Average Rating 4.5
( 72 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(45)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    Great CD

    I bought this to replace the one I had that got broken. I love this CD because it's a good mix of moving, fun, sexy and intelligent. There isn't a track on this CD that I don't like.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Excellent Overall

    I like this album and I think its in U2's top 5,but it is nowhere near the joshua tree and achtung baby. The music is good, but for me and few of my friends it lacks something, an edge(no pun intended). All the music sounds too comfortable, and though it doesnt come anywhere near ruining the songs, it doesnt pack the emotional punch of war, the joshua tree, and achtung baby. Defintely buy it, though.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Their Best Work

    This CD is, in my opinion, the best that U2 has ever made. I never tire of hearing this album. The lyrics are amazing. The pure sound of the bands' instruments and Bono's voice is a nice change of pace from their work in the 90's (not that i didn't love those albums as well).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    a new U2 fan

    Just the first few songs were awesome! This is only my second album and it is one of the best. Great melodies and lyrics can be found in this album. I cannot find a bad note or a wrong song.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Awsome!!!!!!!

    It is all good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Still Remember

    I have always liked U2 ever since I first heard their song "Beautiful Day". Also everytime I hear that song it reminds me of when I went on a trip to Austrlia and our tour guide played that song everyday. I don't have the CD yet but I'm going to get it and I suggest you get it too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best U2 CD - Tops Achtung and Joshua Tree

    This has to be the best U2 CD recorded ... and as a big U2 fan that's not an easy statement to make ... this CD rivals Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby ... and is widely considered the third U2 materpiece ... very soulful ...very energetic ... like most U2 albums it lifts you up ... if you don't have it, buy it today ...you'll be glad you did ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Sheer Brilliance

    If you like your rock with a bit more depth than the Britneys and Boy Bands afford you, buy this record now! U2's music has informed as well as inspired me ever since 1987's Joshua Tree. If you don't own this disc already, you've deprived your ears and your soul for far to long.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    they sound like themselves again!

    I've been a U2 fan for 20 years, and my reaction to this album was relief--they sound like themselves again and not like some imitation of how they seem to think others want them to sound. Some of the tracks on this album are as good as any they've written: Walk On, Elevation, In a Little While, Grace...Others are not quite as strong lyrically or musically. The album flows quite nicely and has an uplifting, soulful feel to it. I especially like to play the rockin' Elevation (loud) or the soulful ''Grace''. The New York track is almost eerie in that you can detect a sense of impending tragedy... Overall, a good (not great) album that I highly recommend for fans and potential fans. And that should include just about everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    So awesome!

    I bought this CD two weeks ago, and it hasn't left my player except to be exchanged from stereo to portable. My favorite is Walk On, but the rest are excellent too, and they all have meaning for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    When young musicians ask me for advice on how to handle their careers, I have only one thing to say: U2. The song writing and orchestration of this cd create a rich, vibrant tapestry. More credit and coverage should be given to genius/producer/musician Brian Eno for his incredible contributions to this Art. The indefatigable U2 has managed the impossible by surpassing their groundbreaking album Joshua Tree. All That You Can't Leave Behind: Sui Generis.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    AMAZING!!!

    This cd is U2's best yet! the songs are great, and the band sounds amazing!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    U2 is Beautiful.....''ALL'' is Beautiful!!!!

    I am almost 32 years old and have been a huge U2 and huge Bono fan, since I am 13 years old. No matter what roads U2 may travel, they will never disappoint me musically, or otherwise. They are not only brilliant, but they are the classiest bunch of musicians I have ever known! Throughout this cd, you can hear so many influences from the past, from the likes of WAR, Achtung Baby, Joshua Tree, even POP. As long as Bono has a pen in his hand, U2 will always be and remain, in my opinion, the best rock band, EVER!!!! No matter what they may experiment for future projects, they will always be ''U2'', always....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    U2 at their best again

    I'll admit, when I first listened to this album, I didn't know what to think. But as with Joshua Tree, War, and Achtung Baby, I was hooked before I got through listening to it the third time. I love New York, and Kite has that same feel of Drowning Man, or So Cruel. I think that five years from now, this album will be mentioned with Joshua Tree and Achtung Baby as the hieght of U2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    U2 is back and better than ever!

    A few years ago Bono of U2 said,''we are going to put out the best rock 'n roll album.'' All That You Can't Leave Behind is the fruit of that labor.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    First Time

    This is my first time actually buying a U2 album, and boy is this a great one! I'm so glad to have picked up this CD and to have it in my collection. The music is soothing, and also uplifting. These guys have been around for a while now but they still have it! I can't wait for their next album to come out but for now, ''All That You Can't Leave Behind'' is easily one of my most favorite CD's. This album is a must have for all U2 fans. Go on, BUY IT! I did and I have no regrets, neither will you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Pride (in the name of rock)

    U2 once again showed all the feelings bare naked. An exellent album... Don`t listen what critiques have said-they`re wrong!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I AM 60 YEAR OLD FAN AND I THINK THAT U2 ROCKS LIKE HELL!!!!!!!!!!

    I THINK THAT U2 HAS STILL GOT IT AND THEY ARE BY FAR THE BEST BAND OUT THERE RIGHT NOW ALONG WITH OTHER CLASSICS AND NEW BANDS. I WOULD SAY THAT THIS IS A WONDERFUL CD AND THIS ALBUM IS WORTH YOUR MONEY! I WOULD MOST DIFINETELY RECOMMEND THIS CD TO EVERYONE OUT THERE THAT LOVES MUSIC OR IS A U2 FAN BUT DOESN'T HAVE THIS CD. AT FIRST I DIDN'T LIKE U2 ALOT BUT MY NEPHEWS MICHEAL AND DANIEL INTRODUCED ME TO THIS SO NOW I LOVE ALL KINDS OF MUSIC AND ALL U2 CDS ARE WORTH BUYING! I ALSO RECOMMEND THAT YOU BUY ALL OF U2'S CDS BECAUSE THEY ARE DA BOMB!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    More vocal than other U2 albums

    This CD focuses more on Bono's voice and less on the instrumentals. This is not necessarily a bad thing, but it loses the rock feel. There are of course exceptions, and if you are a U2 fan, go for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Evelation Rocks U2 is amazing the whole album awesome

    Evelation is the best, Beautiful Day Rocks too. U2 I don't know how they can make an album so great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 72 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4