Customer Reviews for

All The Right Reasons [Damaged Heroes, Book 3] (Bookstrand Publishing)

Average Rating 4.5
( 60 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Amazing!

I LOVED this book! It was such a quick read. I felt completely connected to each character and their emotions. I felt like I was right in the middle of everything watching everything happen! Thanks for the great read!

posted by Anonymous on May 28, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

unsure of the "right" reasons

Disclaimer: I haven't actually finished this book and I'm not sure whether I will. My viewpoint comes as the spouse of a soldier who fought in the Middle East. Because of that, I can't see the story as simply a fun romance read.

All The Right Reasons has a lot of pot...
Disclaimer: I haven't actually finished this book and I'm not sure whether I will. My viewpoint comes as the spouse of a soldier who fought in the Middle East. Because of that, I can't see the story as simply a fun romance read.

All The Right Reasons has a lot of potential with mixing cultures and highlighting the similarities and contrasts of all mentioned. It doesn't quite make it. The story here is clearly more important than the cultural accuracy. That's fine: it is contemporary fiction, but readers should be aware of several things.

The military is a separate culture. Writing about a soldier with reality means understanding that culture and it's very hard to understand without being immersed in it, particularly when Hollywood almost always presents it with huge inaccuracy. I can't help but sigh when authors do the same. I didn't buy Lucas as a soldier, or ex-soldier. If he was, he's one of the very few who would turn against the military when he's out and chase others away from joining. It's not realistic. That doesn't tend to happen. Soldiers deployed to Iraq and Afghanistan, whatever they've gone through, are 99% likely to be fully proud of what they've done, even to the point of reenlisting to continue what they're doing. Most of them do. Most would stand beside someone else who wants to join and even walk them to the recruiter. Yes, they all come home scarred in some way, but people who never leave home are just as likely to carry scars from other things. A soldier's background before he joins says how he will deal with war. That, we never find out. (At least, not by the time I got 2/3rds through it.) A shame, since Lucas is inherently likeable and I would have enjoyed more of his story than Joy's.

Joy, the Gypsy girl, represents why others need to stand up for those who won't stand up for themselves. I'm never sure whether she agrees with her family ideologies or whether she doesn't. Her ambivialence irritates me and it goes on for far too long. I think the story could have been about half the length it is with some of the "because I'm a Gyspy" stuff pulled out. The Gypsy men are shown as villains for wanting their cultural beliefs to be passed along, and yet there are passages that complain about how non-Gypsies were disrespectful of them and how wrong it is.

Stereotyping the Amish as nothing more than house builders irritated me, also. I didn't find any reason for that brief clip.

It felt like compassion was shown toward one culture, with a huge lecture as to why it was wrong to stereotype them and put them down for who they are and the choices they make, and yet, the same was done by the author toward both the military and the Gypsy culture. I didn't find any real understanding of the backgrounds of any of the characters. They seemed more political tools for the author to protest, but without anything really backing it up.

About the time I found myself skimming to find the story in between the miscellaneous scenes, I set it down. Maybe I just couldn't get past the anti-military feel of it. I don't think that was the author's intent; I think she was trying to show compassion for returning soldiers. That didn't quite come through as it should have, in the same way those who protest war actually hurt the soldiers and their families more than they help.

I do have another Sandy James novel on hand and I'll give that one a try.

posted by LK_Hunsaker on February 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Amazing!

    I LOVED this book! It was such a quick read. I felt completely connected to each character and their emotions. I felt like I was right in the middle of everything watching everything happen! Thanks for the great read!

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Highly recommended

    This was a very interesting books it was a very heartfelt story the plot was good. Is similar to a modern day version of Romeo and Juliet except without the tragic ending, the story was very sweet and touching and makes you feel that no matter what barriers no matter what trials or tribulations you have to face that love is possible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2013

    Excellent

    What a wonderful book. Being introduced to a culture I was not familiar with was enlightening. The main characters were delightful and interesting. They had alot to overcome insofar as their upbringing was so different, one so engrossed in tradition. Lucas had his own cross to bear, overcoming hisPTSD. Love really is all you need because it includes having faith in each other.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2014

    Touching

    What a beautiful story. Well written. So in tune with what is happening today. Will read more by this author for sure.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Heart Warming

    One of the best books I have read in a while. You know your reading a great book when it has you laughing and crying. You really feel what the characters are going through emotionally. I couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2014

    Loved it

    Great story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2013

    Highly Recommend

    This was a great book, very emotional, very real. Kept me entertained from beginning to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2013

    Awesome

    Loved this story

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    A wonderful book to curl up with.

    I realy enjoyed the full story. It was nice not to assume the ending. I cryed and i laughed. Thank you for a wonderful story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    Recommend

    I really enjoyed this love story. Joy and Lucas are great characters. 1196 pages. Read it you will love it too. GJRA

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    Loved this book.

    Well written. Good plot, believable characters. Will read more from this author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Perfect

    What agreat story. Could haveread forever. Great job ofwriting.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Really a good book

    Loved it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Captivating

    I so enjoyed this book. It captivated me from the start. To me, it was descriptive enough to draw you in and give you a feel for the surrroundings, but not so much that it distracted or took away from the characters. I sometimes get annnoyed with descriptive books, but her detail added to the poignancy of this book. Thank you for a creative, descriptive, and wonderful story! I highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    Loved it!

    This was a good book. It was long, but not like 1,000 pages long. It had a really good storyline that really got you into it! I didn't realize till half way threw it that it was part of a series and the 3rd one. Now I want the other 2 though I think they are part of this book too!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Amazing!!!!!

    I loved every moment. Sure things unfolds quickly, but with a gypsy its definitely worth it. Its a lo.g book with 1270 pages, give or take a few but def over 1200 . The characters are amazing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Books

    I loved this book, 1275 pages!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2013

    Kae

    Enjoyed

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2013

    I give it five stars

    This was a good book made me cry a couple of times. Enjoyed reading it recommand this book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    What reviewers are saying about All the Right Reasons...

    5 HEARTS - Reviewer Top Pick: "Ms. James knows how to tell such an emotionally driven story and she just tears at your heart while allowing you to personally get to know Lucas and all the challenges he's facing since returning home from the war in Iraq. This author writes her stories from the heart and each one is compelling in its own way. Ms. James did a fabulous job in telling this story and I would highly recommend the Damaged Heroes series to other readers." -- Diana Coyle, Night Owl Romance

    5 BLUE RIBBONS: "All the Right Reasons is the third book in Damaged Heroes series. Dan Patch Raceway and the characters from Murphy's Law are back as secondary characters, along with a whole set of new ones. As the series title suggests, Sandy James pens each of her main characters with adversities they must cope with. Lucas and Joy were so believable and likable. Joy's quirky carefree attitude, and Lucas's schooled cautious one were such a delightful contrast. I have had the wonderful opportunity to read all of her releases in the series. My only problem is deciding which one I'd pick if I had to choose a favorite. Sandy James is a truly talented author who does a magnificent job with creating works that touch the heart. Every time I pick up one of her novels, it's like stepping into spring time, warm and refreshing. I look forward to book four." -- Pamela Denise, Romance Junkies

    5 KISSES, Recommended Read: "This is book three in the Damaged Heroes series and by far one of the best. You don't have to read them in order to get the scope of the story. I really loved how this is a stand alone story. When you want to believe in true love you really want to pick up All the Right Reasons it is truly a beautiful sweet read to remember." -- Tina, Two Lips Reviews

    5 CUPS: "What an emotional story, filled with anger and bitterness, love and joy, heartache and pain, acceptance and trust. Lucas and Joy's story is all that. Ms. James takes you into the most intimate parts of her characters and shows you the real essence that makes them come to life, in turn capturing the reader's attention and holding on till the last word. This is a book that you will want to add to your bookshelf. This reader is ready to explore the other stories in the Damaged Hero Series." -- Matilda, Coffee Time Romance & More

    5 HEARTS: "Sandy James has once again surpassed my expectations with this third book in the Damaged Heroes series. This was by far the best one I've read and I absolutely loved the others. The differences in these two main characters were so profound it seemed nothing could ever work out between them. Each of them came into their budding relationship with a myriad of circumstances which weighed heavily on any actions they might take. The two were emotionally involved long before their physical connection. When they came together, their encounters sizzled. James gave us this story in such a way that it moved quickly, was poignant and definitely a page turner. I didn't want to put it down. The storyline offered several shocking actions which kept me mesmerized. This is definitely James at her best. I highly recommend this book (and this series) to anyone who enjoys confrontation with an unlikely ending. You'll definitely be thrilled you read this b

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2