Customer Reviews for

All These Things I've Done

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Great Read for Dystopian Lovers!

I was way excited that I was able to get an ARC of this book. I had been hearing a lot of good buzz and you all know I have a thing for dystopian fiction. I was definitely not disappointed. The book takes place in the not too distant future (the grandmother in the book ...
I was way excited that I was able to get an ARC of this book. I had been hearing a lot of good buzz and you all know I have a thing for dystopian fiction. I was definitely not disappointed. The book takes place in the not too distant future (the grandmother in the book was born during the 1990s) in New York City. The NYC in this book seems both familiar and strange at the same time. It's still a bustling city but many things have changed. Former museums have been turned into nightclubs as a way for the ailing government to make money. Caffeine and chocolate are outlawed as a way for the government to have control while teenagers are able to drink really horrible alcohol. I thought the world building in this book was pretty interesting.


Anya is part of a crime family who has specialized in the chocolate business for many years. After Anya's parents are killed, it pretty much falls to her to protect her family. Anya is a pretty interesting character. She's strong yet sort of vulnerable. She loves her family but is sort of disillusioned with her family's infamous business especially since it seems that the business is the reason that both of her parents are killed.


The writing is tight and I got sucked into the story. Interestingly enough, I thought this book was a stand alone book but when I went to Goodreads, I found out that this is apparently the first book in the series. I'd definitely be interested in reading the rest of the books in the series and finding out more about Anya and her family.


Bottom line, this book did not disappoint and will be great for other dystopian lovers!

posted by Meg-ABookishAffair on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good, But Not the Best

I read this book and found it slightly boring. The whole plot never really caught my attention and it was very anti-climatic. The book never kept me too interested. I did like this book and the characters, but I find that there are other books I'd rather read.

posted by Cranes_For_Wishes on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted September 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read for Dystopian Lovers!

    I was way excited that I was able to get an ARC of this book. I had been hearing a lot of good buzz and you all know I have a thing for dystopian fiction. I was definitely not disappointed. The book takes place in the not too distant future (the grandmother in the book was born during the 1990s) in New York City. The NYC in this book seems both familiar and strange at the same time. It's still a bustling city but many things have changed. Former museums have been turned into nightclubs as a way for the ailing government to make money. Caffeine and chocolate are outlawed as a way for the government to have control while teenagers are able to drink really horrible alcohol. I thought the world building in this book was pretty interesting.


    Anya is part of a crime family who has specialized in the chocolate business for many years. After Anya's parents are killed, it pretty much falls to her to protect her family. Anya is a pretty interesting character. She's strong yet sort of vulnerable. She loves her family but is sort of disillusioned with her family's infamous business especially since it seems that the business is the reason that both of her parents are killed.


    The writing is tight and I got sucked into the story. Interestingly enough, I thought this book was a stand alone book but when I went to Goodreads, I found out that this is apparently the first book in the series. I'd definitely be interested in reading the rest of the books in the series and finding out more about Anya and her family.


    Bottom line, this book did not disappoint and will be great for other dystopian lovers!

    22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Immediately I dug into the book and devour it. It was as addicti

    Immediately I dug into the book and devour it. It was as addictive as chocolates themselves. Sadly I went away for eight months to Taiwan and never got around to reviewing it before it was published.

    Now all that set aside , I just got to say that I love some of the promotional things they do with novels. The people or person that does them is both brilliant and hard working. I imagine for an author and others involve in the team it takes a lot of work to promote a novel. In this case: Coffee Covered chocolates with the main character's (whose the daughter of a dead mob boss) last name on it's package. Not only was it fun to dig into the book itself, but devouring the chocolates were also a yummy treat. So I just want to say thanks to Ksenia Winnicki @ Macmillan for sending this to me =D

    I found this novel to be witty, charming and overall a great read.
    It was easy to dive into the story.
    There was many circumstances where I could not put the book down.
    Zevin's did a amazing job with
    characters. She made each and every one of her character stand out
    and apart from each other.
    Every person in the novel had their own little trait about them
    (Natty; genius, Win;hats, Scarlett; theatre, Gable; Jerk ect;)
    that set them apart.

    The story flows flawlessly in first person. It was set in the big apple
    one of my favourite places.
    The originality of it was what peak my interest when it first
    arrived and through out the entire novel.
    Set in the future where chocolate is illegal.
    Who would not want to read a story like that?

    All These Things I've done is definitely a book I will be finding myself
    read over and over again.
    Especially since it set in NYC. After I received this novel in the mail I
    actually went on a vacation in NYC.
    So I got to see some of the many places that are actually talk about.
    It was cool reading the novel while actually visiting the places
    that the characters go to.

    Annie devotion and love towards her family, even when sometimes
    she went astray from that path, was mesmerizing and
    beautiful. I thought the strong sense of family ties
    and love (and how far you would go for them) was what made the
    novel more strong.
    The things Annie did and gave up for her family is what made her a
    strong protagonist.
    I felt heart broken every time she had to give up something up
    (that she truly loved)
    because of the situation she was in.

    This novel, though intriguing at every point, was not a hard read. My
    only complaint was that the ending did not seem satisfying enough.
    It did not feel like a ending but more of a cut off point.

    This September 2012 the sequel comes out, Because It is My Blood. I
    am definitely looking forward to the second novel.

    This is definitely a novel that readers should read or put on their tbr
    pile.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    This book was so great, the concept was borderline genius i real

    This book was so great, the concept was borderline genius i really enjoyed it but at the same time i wish the author was more thorough about why chocolate was SO illegal. Because in some parts it seemed like chocolate was very illegal and in some parts it was like it was just really minor offense.. I mean it has to be pretty illegal if its the main contraband besides possibly coffee that made the Balanchine family rich and powerful and so hated by the police and public and that is emphasized in the book and then they charged Anya with possession of the chocolate and she explained how it was just a very minor offense.  I just think that coulve been explain better.
    And another thing was i understanding right that it was implied that the Balanchine family WAS (before chocolate was deemed illegal) owners of a chocolate manufacturing and instead of closing down after it was deemed illegal they instead choose to illegally distribute it ? And coffee is illegal because its a type of drug and its addictive but then why was Gable acting drunk in the first chapter, last time i checked you cant get drunk off caffeine but maybe its just because its just the way the author wanted it.  Also why would they dress vintage? The author explained it as being because they stopped making new clothes but if that where the case wouldnt the vintage style of dressing be lost by that time in the future like how its lost now and instead they wore clothes like ours (2013)? Im judging this by her Nanas(who was born in 1995) explanation and description. It would make more sense if they wore clothes like how we do now. But that again must be what the author wants. Im just saying some things arent solid but the book itself was great and the concept., I LOVE the concept Mafya familys that instead of distributing illegal drugs they were distributing illegal chocolate and coffee, its such a cute storyline! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Good read despite the slow pace

    I would not really put this book in the dystopia category. Yes it’s got some sort of elements (the shortage of paper, chocolate and coffee being illegal, etc) but it just seems like everyone’s putting everything in dystopia when it shouldn’t be because it’s all the rage. What got me to really liking this book was Anya as a character. She’s basically on her own taking care of her family, at the same time managing to run parts of the mafia underworld and going to school. That’s a lot on her plate and she manages to do it quite well. It’s that strength that she’s got that really got me liking her, she’s very down to earth and manages to maintain a wry sense of humor as well. The characters overall in the story are pretty good. I liked Scarlet a lot, didn’t care for her choice of boyfriend though (he’s a LOSER and a JERK I don’t care what happened to him, I did not like his past actions with Anya). The romance with Win and Anya, I really didn’t care too much for. It just seems to be so, overdone and cliched. (Surprise surprise, mafia girl goes for.. *gasp* the DA’s Son...riiiiighhhttt....) The plot is a slow pace, so it may not be for everyone. World building isn’t a great emphasis here, so you don’t really know why chocolate and caffeine are illegal. (Which may irk a few). I didn’t mind the plot despite the pace, there were times when I thought it should have gone quicker, despite the slow start and momentum, the plot is decent and the ending leaves you satisfied (at least for me it did) Looking forward to book two! I really liked the mafia spin on this book and am looking forward to more!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    enjoyable

    interesting look int a possible future...strongheroine will have you cheering for her success.....good read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Interesting read!!

    Held my attention all the way through. Abrupt ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    Easy read, interesting book

    Interesting story and easy to read. I've already ordered the second book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Not just for YA

    "In 2083, chocolate and caffeine are illegal, water is carefully rationed, books are scarce, and New York City is rife with poverty and crime." That little blurb was found on the back of All These Things I've Done by Gabrielle Zevin and that was what initially drew me to this story.

    Anya Balanchine is not a typical sixteen year old. She has to see to the care of her aging and dying grandmother, as well as her twelve-year-old sister Nattie and nineteen-year-old brain-damaged brother Leo. If that wasn't difficult enough she must do this while attending school and dealing with the reputation forged by her family . . . her criminal, mafia-like family. It also doesn't help that her family has legitimate and illegitimate ties to the chocolate industry, especially when her ex-boyfriend becomes poisoned by her family's chocolate. Anya is, of course, the prime suspect. She is promptly arrested and thrown into juvenile detention. Fortunately for Anya, she had recently befriended Goodwin "Win" Delacroix, son of the new attorney in the District Attorney's office. Win's father is able to have her charges dismissed and she is sent home. But she returns to the same chaos she left behind, and now she must deal with family politics and scheming in order to protect her brother.

    As I said earlier, Anya is not a typical sixteen year old. She was forced to grow up and assume adult controls at a very early age. It helps that she is a very smart young lady and likeable. She comes across as prickly but she is forced to weigh the pros and cons of any given situation before jumping in. She tries to be the protector for everyone . . . her sister, her brother, her best friend Scarlet, and her boyfriend Win. When tragedy strikes (expected in some form but startling nonetheless), Anya must also protect her immediate family and friends from her extended family.

    Anya's story was captivating from beginning to end. Although this is classified as a YA book, I feel that it could easily be read and appreciated by readers of any age. All These Things I've Done provides great family and personal drama, romance, and intrigue set in not-too distant future in an all too believable dystopian society. I was a little saddened to leave Anya, Nattie, and Win until I learned that this was just the first in the Birthright series by Ms. Zevin. I eagerly await the next installment . . .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Liked it

    Sucked me in...had to stay up and finish.. thought the obsession with sex was a litle over done but the story plot was good .. lookong forward to the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2012

    Well done

    Good story great writing....even good character development...impressive

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    OVERALL GREAT BOOK !!!!

    I loved this book ! I finished it within 2 days . I liked the way that Zevin wrote the book to the reader , and not just as a random story. You feel like Anya is telling you the story personaly . The one thing i did not like was that i had some unanwsered questions in the end ,like what happens with Anya and Win and what happens to her brother Leo . The book was over all wonderful , so i recomend it if you are around 14.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2