BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

All These Things I've Done

Average Rating 4
( 89 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

Great Read for Dystopian Lovers!

I was way excited that I was able to get an ARC of this book. I had been hearing a lot of good buzz and you all know I have a thing for dystopian fiction. I was definitely not disappointed. The book takes place in the not too distant future (the grandmother in the book ...
I was way excited that I was able to get an ARC of this book. I had been hearing a lot of good buzz and you all know I have a thing for dystopian fiction. I was definitely not disappointed. The book takes place in the not too distant future (the grandmother in the book was born during the 1990s) in New York City. The NYC in this book seems both familiar and strange at the same time. It's still a bustling city but many things have changed. Former museums have been turned into nightclubs as a way for the ailing government to make money. Caffeine and chocolate are outlawed as a way for the government to have control while teenagers are able to drink really horrible alcohol. I thought the world building in this book was pretty interesting.


Anya is part of a crime family who has specialized in the chocolate business for many years. After Anya's parents are killed, it pretty much falls to her to protect her family. Anya is a pretty interesting character. She's strong yet sort of vulnerable. She loves her family but is sort of disillusioned with her family's infamous business especially since it seems that the business is the reason that both of her parents are killed.


The writing is tight and I got sucked into the story. Interestingly enough, I thought this book was a stand alone book but when I went to Goodreads, I found out that this is apparently the first book in the series. I'd definitely be interested in reading the rest of the books in the series and finding out more about Anya and her family.


Bottom line, this book did not disappoint and will be great for other dystopian lovers!

posted by Meg-ABookishAffair on September 7, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Good, But Not the Best

I read this book and found it slightly boring. The whole plot never really caught my attention and it was very anti-climatic. The book never kept me too interested. I did like this book and the characters, but I find that there are other books I'd rather read.

posted by Cranes_For_Wishes on October 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book with great characters. I loved Anya. Kept me entertai

    Great book with great characters. I loved Anya. Kept me entertained

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved It More Than I Expected

    This is an AMAZING book! At first it was simply very strange, and when I read Anya's words as she narrates her story I thought to myself, "hmmmm....I don't know if I can believe these are the thoughts of a 16 year old". Then you realize she has internalized everything her deceased father ever told her and that she draws comfort from his adages and parrots them even if she doesn't fully understand them yet. It's her trust in her father's love and past guidance that she leans on for support. We see her repeatedly quote him and return again and again to his words to her, no matter how small the advice. The problem is her father was a crime boss and his death has left Anya and her siblings in a precarious situation because of illegal chocolate connections. Chocolate is an illegal substance in 2083! (It's not so crazy/impossible if you think about it lol) Being so astute and practical, Anya thinks she has little use for typical teen luxuries like romance, dances, or even hobbies. Her free time is instead spent looking after her dying grandmother, her handicapped older brother and her younger sister. She puts all her effort and energy into making sure they are able to stay a family and not separated by child services. What's interesting is how the book takes place in a future time of 2083 and yet its problems are both contemporary and reminiscent of our history at the same time;the illegal status and bootlegging of chocolate have the vintage feel of the 20s and Prohibition era times. Anya does well keeping her head above water and in keeping her family's survival stable until the most unexpected happens: she falls in love. And not just with any boy, but with the D.A.'s son. He makes her feel what she never let herself feel before and this scares her like nothing else. Why? Because Anya needs always to have a clear head if she is to survive. But love is not logical and that is how her story turns even more interesting. I didn't know what this book was about when I started it but I loved it and very much looking forward to next in the series!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    I thought the book had an intresting premisis, where it was et i

    I thought the book had an intresting premisis, where it was et in the futrue. i thought it was an intresting model of the futrue, with chocolate and coffee illegal. I also thought it was farely close to how we live now, making it relatable. I thought that Anya had depth to her and her conflictions and thought the book was fun and a good read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2012

    This book blew me away! I absolutely loved it and Gabrielle Zevi

    This book blew me away! I absolutely loved it and Gabrielle Zevin did an amazing job with Anya. Anya so different from the normal teenage protagonist, she's strong and runs their little family since their fathers awful murder. She's doing a good job until the son of the new assistant district attorney comes to school and someone is sabotages the chocolate supply Anya gives her ex and everyone thinks she's responsible. As the district attorneys closes in and their grandma's condition worse Anya fights to keep there little family together and out of the illegal business dealings of the mob family.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heart-Wrenching and Beautiful

    Heart-wrenching and heart-warming, All These Things I've Done is an amazing addition young-adult literature. A promising, strong heroine, a unique plot, and characters you'll feel for - Gabrielle Zevin's latest has it all.

    Anya Balanchine is a character we can all connect to. A young girl just as flawed as the rest of us, but stronger and tortured in a way you can never expect. With her mother and father murdered, Anya has to take care of her family. But she isn't the oldest. Her older brother, handsome Leo, is disabled, her grandmother hangs on to life by a thin thread.

    As the oldest of four siblings, I know how it is to be responsible. But without my parents, I would most likely be in an asylum. Anya is different. Strong, flawed, no doubt, but strong and willed.

    Though this novel certainly isn't one for fast-paced action, the story is astounding. The pages will be wet with your sweat, and maybe even your tears. I never knew which way the story would turn, but I could tell there was only pain and sorrow in Anya's life.

    All These Things I've Done is a novel I have to say I loved. With a strong female protagonist and a life of mafia, Gabrielle Zevin's latest is a riveting must read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 15, 2012

    It's a really great read

    It's a really great read

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2012

    This book was AMAZING!!!! I would definitely read it again! :D

    This book was AMAZING!!!! I would definitely read it again! :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Great read

    I enjoyed this book greatly constantly keeps you guessing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Love it!

    Is so amazing, im reading it for a second time before i read the otger 2 books! Give it a shot!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Love anya!!!

    Read it

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    This is a great book

    Like it says on the headline... great book:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2012

    Freaking amazing

    I love this book it is the most amazin book ever i recomend this book the anyone and everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Loved it!

    Great read! It kept my full attentiin the whole time. It didnt focus completely on the stereotypical teenage love aspect, which was a nice change. Anya's taken on the roll of parenting her younger sister and older brother since her Nana is suffering from alzheimers, her parents are dead, and her brother suffered from a traumatic head injury from when he was younger. Family comes first and one's self comes last this book proves that!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Max

    Laughs

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Kassi

    She smiles

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2012

    Smoothe read

    Cant wait to read the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2012

    Love.

    Love. Love. Love.
    Its amazing how much I could relate to this book.
    Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2012

    Loyalty Indeed

    Gabrielle Zevin has strongly wrote about loyalty and it comes across to the reader as being an extremely important, if not the main, part of the book. I really admire how Zevin has included this in the book because I think this detail is what makes the book what it is.

    It’s about a Mafia family but there isn’t a lot of Mafia business involved in the book, which is good because otherwise it may have taken over. Instead Zevin has concentrated on portraying one girls problems and responsibilities.

    Anya is the heroine of the book, and I also admire how Zevin has characterised this character. She is basically the head of the family, so she has to be strong and brave for everyone else, while inside she’s still a 16 year old girl who has had to become mature quickly over the years. Her boldness has to be envied. Also do not fret if you are thinking Anya is like all the other girls books, because she is not, she’s unique and worth reading about.

    All These Things I’ve Done is a strong book with a strong plot but is an easy read. A definite for everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 26, 2012

    Great read! <3

    This book was absolutely amazing! I loved it from beginning to end. I read the sample because the description seemed quite interesting, and the book didn't disappoint. This author is unbelievably talented; you could almost visualize the entire story! Extremely entertaining. I would definitely want to see more from this author! :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Another Great Book!!

    Loved Elsewhere and love this book to!!!!!!!
    Read read read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3