Customer Reviews for

All Things Digital - annual subscription

Average Rating 3
( 105 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(18)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(27)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Well worth the content

The content is top notch and a great summary of current events occurring in the digital world. I look forward to each issue. I would mention that captions don't reflect pictures distributed in this version (to the left is x and pictured to the right is Y). Unfortunately...
The content is top notch and a great summary of current events occurring in the digital world. I look forward to each issue. I would mention that captions don't reflect pictures distributed in this version (to the left is x and pictured to the right is Y). Unfortunately both pictures are not published in the eNewspaper edition. Also, pictures are published under the headline at the beginning of the article without mention of who that is. Sometimes it is the author however a few times I have seen a picture and the writer's name is clearly of the opposite gender. I don't mind the content being the same as the online version, however they need to pay more attention to the eBook version's content, most notably the pictures published. Besides that its well worth it and you cant beat the price!

posted by DavidFGuild on September 22, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Only if you love Apple and like to read the same stuff day after day

Many articles are constantly duplicated - even within the same issue. And more often than not it seems that the subject is the iPhone and/or Apple in some fashion. Not that I want Microsoft, but there's more to the tech world than either.

posted by throwback1969 on July 19, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2010

    Only if you love Apple and like to read the same stuff day after day

    Many articles are constantly duplicated - even within the same issue. And more often than not it seems that the subject is the iPhone and/or Apple in some fashion. Not that I want Microsoft, but there's more to the tech world than either.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2010

    All Things Google and Apple

    The presentation on the nook is great. It's clean, simple to navigate, and easily read which are the only saving graces. Otherwise, there seems to be a heavy emphasis on Google and Apple and only a light glossing on other tech-related topics. Only a small sector of mindless drones fanatically care about Google and Apple. The rest of the population doesn't care as much, so cramming at least three or four articles on either company or having to mention them in other unrelated articles is rather overkill, if not downright offensive. This ePeriodical should be free considering you can go to their website, allthingsd.com, and get pretty much the exact content for free; just in color and laid out differently than the eReader version. The content itself is overall rather bland, uninspired, and uninformative which also justifies why it should be free.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Well worth the content

    The content is top notch and a great summary of current events occurring in the digital world. I look forward to each issue. I would mention that captions don't reflect pictures distributed in this version (to the left is x and pictured to the right is Y). Unfortunately both pictures are not published in the eNewspaper edition. Also, pictures are published under the headline at the beginning of the article without mention of who that is. Sometimes it is the author however a few times I have seen a picture and the writer's name is clearly of the opposite gender. I don't mind the content being the same as the online version, however they need to pay more attention to the eBook version's content, most notably the pictures published. Besides that its well worth it and you cant beat the price!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    Boring.

    Everything in the two issues that I read through could be found on the web easily. I remember receiving tweets that were just as informative as some of the articles foound in this publication.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    Nothing really special here

    This is useful as a summation to tech industry news and trends. There is nothing here that is unique or that cannot be garnered though other means and with less bias in many cases. Walt Mossberg is an apple fan first tech fan second and this is reflected in most of his writing here.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2014

    Digital Daily

    Loved this publication. Hopefully the new Recode group will choose to create a similar daily publication very soon.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Not for me

    I thought this would be a mix of business and tech news. Unfortunately it is just business news about tech companies.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    Not worth it

    Repetitive content and not very tablet worthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2013

    PDf of rss feed

    Content is good, but seems to be a 'printout' of the WSJ all things D rss feed. Often articles will repeat from day to day. It will reference a link saying "see more here" and then not give the link. Expected better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Does not go away

    I keep canceling this subscription but it keeps showing up as active. I sincerely hope I am not being charged for this useless paper with information readily available via any FREE tech blog.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2012

    Nothing to read

    Almost all articles are already available in the web. Waste of time and money. Two stars for making an effort in ebook format.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2012

    Not So Good

    I was hoping that a subscription to All Thing Digital (ATD) would provide more useful information. It does occasionaly have something useful, but I can get the same information from ATD for free via Pulse on my Nook Color. I guess I got what I paid for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2011

    Must

    Read

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2011

    Repeated articles with the WSJ

    I get the Wall Street Journal already. Articles are repeated and the "help" section was also repeated. In fact, I don't find the WSJ content all that useful (I wish the WSJ would stick to what they are supposed to be good at, business news. Stop with world news, sports and, I now have to say, technology). The articles were short and not all that useful.

    Some have commented on the format. I found the formatting fine. I like the short synopsis at the start with the full articles later. But, format without content is not going to do it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 105 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6