Customer Reviews for

All Things Irish

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2012

    Great book

    I don't normally write reviews, but felt strong enough about this one that I just had to. This ones a must read. I laughed out loud at parts and cried at others. The people are wonderful and the story is realistic enough that it just might have happened. Read it and the post to let me know if you felt the same way.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2012

    Great Read!

    Realistic characters, great location, and great storyline. Hope to read more by Loynd in the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 11, 2012

    The first book I've read in a long time I could not put down. L

    The first book I've read in a long time I could not put down. Loved the characters. Loved the setting of Door County. All the Irish stuff was great. I carried it around with me all day until I finished. Hope there's a sequel!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    =)

    Read this in an afternoon and was just such a great story. Hope more is coming from this author. I will certaintly be a fan.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2012

    Fried Green Tomatoes in an Irish shop! If you like Fannie Flagg

    Fried Green Tomatoes in an Irish shop! If you like Fannie Flagg, Garrison Keillor, and Alice Hoffman, you must read ALL THINGS IRISH. Mo McKenna is the funnest character I've read in a long time. Outrageous, funny, and off-her-rocker Irish. I want to go to Door County and hang out in her shop, along with all the rich colorful friends and Lake Wobegon villagers that try to run her shop out of town! Michael Loynd tells a wonderful tale about family bonds (that sometimes drive us crazy), reunited first loves, and about learning to embrace hardships that often prove the richest experiences in life. I had such a good time reading it--you will definitely laugh hard and shed a few good tears--I really missed these characters when I finished.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2012

    An irresistable clash of humorous cultures and dysfunctional re

    An irresistable clash of humorous cultures and dysfunctional relationships with a sweet love story at its heart. I couldn't put it down! I found the setting of the story great fun. Loynd's love of Door County and Irish shops is infectious. This book also contains some of the most memorable characters you will ever read. Some of it will make you crack a smile, while other passages will just plain make you laugh out loud! The voices of these characters are just so real, he nailed Mo's Irish brogue. You can't deny Loynd's incredible story telling talent. The often funny and sometimes heartbreaking relationship between mother and daughter and sister to sister is endearing. But at the heart of this book is the reuniting of first loves in a sweet, funny, awkward, and sometimes painful rediscovery of a buried past and a suppressed love for each other that never went away in the spirit of The Notebook. I enjoyed the time I got to spend with these wonderful characters. A great story from beginning to end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    Great Irish sayings.

    Another good, light and inexpensive read which is what I seem to be about at this stage of my game which is old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2012

    Wonderful read!

    Fantastic storyline, this book had me laughing and crying throughout. I've already recommended to a few friends and will be waiting impatiently for Mr. Loynd's next novel to be written/released!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    Good for one read, not a re-read

    The book had a decent, if formulaic story.
    When asked to review it, I had to go back and re-read a few pages, so I guess it was not memorable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2012

    very good read

    I thought this book was a good read. It's a nice story and it's short so perfect for a lazy afternoon. I like the irish culture so that is why it drew me too it. I am glad i stumbled across it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    where was the romance

    i did like the book BUT i wish i would have known it was a heavy read not a light haerted book i thought it was, i was crying so hard at some points bottom line its not a bad book its just something i would have not read at the time i did

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    A delightfully fun, fast, easy beach read that will make you lau

    A delightfully fun, fast, easy beach read that will make you laugh ( and cry). I devoured it in one day. Laughed out loud many times (literally laughed out loud). I wasn't looking for the next Jane Eyre, just something fun to sink into a big cosy chair with a warm cup of coffee and spend a day getting my Irish on. Great characters. Couldn't have asked for more. I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Fun read! But be careful, it's hard to put down once you start

    Fun read! But be careful, it's hard to put down once you start :-). I loved All Things Irish! I laughed until I cried and I cried because it was that good. I enjoyed it all the way through. Best book I've read in awhile. The chara cters were so fun to be around and I turned a little Irish after reading. LOL

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Damn that was fun!!! I read it one sitting. Carried it around wi

    Damn that was fun!!! I read it one sitting. Carried it around with me all day until I finished. As I got into the book, I found myself laughing. A lot. This isn't a book with jokes but loaded with fascinating characters that were relatable and quirky, crazy (and anyone who knows me, knows I know crazy...) and colorful, the kind of people you absolutely want to spend time with. This is a story about family, and I have always written about family. It's universal, everyone gets family and everyone's is screwed up to one degree or another. Well, Michael Loynd writes about Mo McKenna, one of the most insanely divine women ever created, who opens an Irish shop in the middle of a small town in Door County (another reason to love, love, love this book. My family used to spend a week or so up in Door County, Wisconsin during the summer and stay in this tiny house right near Green Bay. Whenever I hear the words Door County, I smile. I remember playing in Green Bay and all the adults drinking...a lot.) But Mo, who is Irish to the last hair on her head, decides to open this business in the middle of the Scandinavian town and she and her shop are quite quickly persona non grata and Irish shop non grata. Great set up. Loynd captures the town, the people in such vivid, real details without getting hamstrung in exposition. He lets his characters do the talking and it's a smart, funny and brilliant choice because as much as I love Door County and you can literally smell the town he creates in ALL THINGS IRISH, the characters are why we come to stay.

    So when the town decides they are going to run headstrong Mo and her Irish brogue out of town, her estranged daughter, Meg, with her own epic trainload of (hilarious and sad) baggage, arrives to stand by her mother who drives her absolutely crazy.

    Best compliment I can give All Things Irish...I read it in one sitting. Yep. I got into it and carried it around with me all day until I finished it. I got caught up in the world he created with Mo and Meg and everyone else, the battle over this shop, Mo's complete defiance and oblivion (love her!!) and Meg's amusing terror at her mother's obstinance. I adore strong women. And this book is loaded with them.

    ALL THINGS IRISH made me happy. That's why I decided to write about it. That's why I recommend it. It made me feel good when I read it, it made me laugh, got me teary, and when it was over I felt like I'd been somewhere new yet familiar with people I would want to visit again. That's why I read. That transportation into a world that I feel good in, moves me, and makes me want to come back. With characters I know I will revisit.

    Do yourself a favor, read ALL THINGS IRISH. As a hollywood screenwriter, I'm envious of Loynd's talent and of this book. Thank you for the experience it gave me. ALL THINGS IRISH is not just a hell of a first novel, it's a hell of a novel! Michael has Irish quotes at the start of each chapter and one says (I'm paraphrasing...) When you're in jail your best friends will come to bail you out but your best friend is in the cell next to you saying "Damn, that was fun!"

    That's ALL THINGS IRISH. Damn that was fun!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2012

    Definitely a book to curl up with by the fire, poolside, or beac

    Definitely a book to curl up with by the fire, poolside, or beach and get lost in. I hate when you get those opportunities and you read a clunker. This will not disappoint! Set amidst the enchanting lighthouse-accented shores of Door County, Wisconsin, with its delicious Scandinavian culture of toxic lutefisk eating contests and goats that graze on sod-covered rooftops, All Things Irish is an irresistible clash of humorous cultures and dysfunctional relationships that inspires you to embrace all life's difficulties with open arms. It's filled with good friends, good times, and good humor to see you through the tough times. A total feel good book, without ever being sappy or predictable. I fell in love with the characters. The romance is sweet and refreshing. The relationship between Meg and her sister Caitlyn will tug at your heartstrings. And Mo McKenna and Mary Lou are just a couple of crazies having a good time. Definitely worth some good laughs and a few tears. I enjoyed it immensely.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2