Customer Reviews for

All Things Must Pass [30th Anniversary Edition]

Average Rating 4.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(18)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Beatles' Classics

    It's hard to beat George Harrison. This CD takes you back in time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The Bar was Set with this Solo Beatle LP, Never Surpassed.

    Funny how time has shaped the Beatles legacy. Up until &amp quot Abbey Road&amp quot George was the guitar player called upon by his two song writing superiors named John and Paul to color their music, make it sparkle. And for years that was the status quo. Quietly, at first, George branched out. In 1967 he turned his cohorts and the world onto World Beats, long before it was fashionable. George was always looking to something greater than himself and the Beatles. George found God, but he also found a sound on his guitar, a slide guitar that came to eclipse any of his fellow Beatles music. &amp quot All Things Must Pass&amp quot was the beginning of that legacy. Most reviews have this as his greatest album, but I think it was the first of three albums, the other two are &amp quot Cloud Nine&amp quot and &amp quot Brainwashed&amp quot . Only Pauls &amp quot Band on the Run and John's &amp quot Imagine&amp quot stand up to those Harrison albums. Not to mention the Traveling Wilburys first album. That would have been some tour!! We lost someone that shaped our world, and not just musically, to cancer at the young age of 58. George this world is better having known you and worse since you've gone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One of the Greatest Music Albums ever Made

    Every song is different and classic on this album. Every song fits my taste at least. Harrisons voice is awesome and the songs have depth and purpose merging the lines between religion and rock. Everybody should own this album no matter what they like. Its that good. I wouldnt buy any other Harrison album but "All Things Must Pass" is truly legendary. I do find it rather odd that the title track of the album is squished somewhere down in disc two. You'd think it would be the first song but that just makes it all the more mysterious doesnt it! GEORGE HARRISON 1943-2001 god rest his soul

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    They dont make them like this anymore

    Every song is crisp and new. Every time I listen to What Is Life I smile and I dont know why but its my favorite song on the CD. All Things Must Pass is an awesome song! Most of these songs were written in the 60's but never got permission from the other Beatles to play them so he stuck them on here and thank god he did! NOV.29, 2001- THE DAY THE MUSIC DIED

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    George Harrison's best album

    Most of 'All Things Must Pass' could pass for what would be the majority of an 'Essential George Harrison' album (if there was to be a single-disc spanning his whole solo career). Not to downplay any post ATMP songs (many of which are great, particually tracks from 'Cloud Nine'), but ATMP quite simply is an amazing masterstroke of an album by the then recent ex-Beatle. Considering that Harrison was the one who got a song or two on Beatles albums, it was probably not expected that he would produce a whole album of glorious, shining material, never mind a triple LP of such (OK, a double LP w/a bonus 'jam LP' if you will). Then again, the seeds of ATMP were sown towards the end of the Beatles and his backlog of songs was increasing (no doubt fans by now have heard on Anthology 3 his "All Things Must Pass" demo offering to the Beatles, plus a snippet of John and Paul singing it on the 'Fly on the Wall' disc of 'Let it Be...Naked' -- as also "Isn't it a Pity" was a song Harrison offered, but also rejected by the others). All the quintessential George Harrison elements are in place - signature slide guitar, stately melodies, spiritual, quasi-religious messages, and sometimes strained but passionate vocals - all in the company of superb musical accompaniment (Ringo Starr, Eric Clapton - and what would become the other Derek & the Dominoes members, Badfinger, Phil Spector production). "What is Life" is a perfect pop song (like the previously two songs I mentioned, could've been amazing Beatles tracks). The 2000 edition is better sounding than ever before, but I could do without the new version of "My Sweet Lord" (I'll take the version that inspired him to write "This Song" anyday!). "Bewared of Darkness", already the near-perfect Harrisong shows up also in its demo form, not to be missed. If you have no George Harrison albums and had to pick only one, safe to say you could live on ATMP alone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This one will never pass

    George is my favorite Beatle too. I first picked it up in 2000. Since then, its been my favorite album. This 30th anniversary is worth the money. The sound is refined and the packaging is beautiful.This one is a must for all classic rock, Beatles, and George Harrison fans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Dig George...

    I just brought this album a few weeks ago, and I must say it's great. I've been listening to "My Sweet Lord" for the longest time, then I thought I'll go buy the album just to try something different. George is my favorite Beatle anyway, this whole album is worth every penny. I love every song, but I really didn't like "My Sweet Lord 2000" very much; I know it's different but I wasn't feeling that one. Also, I didn't care to much for the last tracks on the second disk, they're okay, it'll grow on me if I keep listening to them. Overall, everyone should get a copy of this album. I miss you George...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Post Beatles Album

    George proved that not only does he have some strong song writing ability, his voice was still pretty amazing. I was never a great George fan but this album is by far the best of any ex-Beatle post break-up. In fact, it is maybe one of the top 5 of the 70's. And it is a good thing for Oasis that George wrote and recorded Wah Wah or else they would never have a career. A must have for any music fan, not just a Beatles fan. We miss album making like this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    George Harrison would be proud of me for writing this review

    This is by all means the best solo album ever done by a Beatle. Phil Spector who added flavoring to Let It Be co-produced it. I even like the way they've altered the original photographs: adding color and extra graphics. The essay by George is excellent (he even acknowledges Phil Collins), the new tracks are good (especially the working of My Sweet Lord), and there's reprinted lyrics. There are a few good things George made after All Things Must Pass. Among them were his self-titled album, Somewhere In England, Cloud Nine...god how I wish they were still in print. George wrote the best songs for the Beatles' Abbey Road. I'm just sad that he never had the chance to release a new album. But now he's finally met his Sweet Lord and his music and spirit shine on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Love George, 11.30.01, All things Must Pass...

    How ironic I just bought this beautiful and masterfully created album yesterday. Hari was definately the ''forgotten'' Beatle, and never was truly and fully recognized for his talents and personal gifts as a human being as well as an artist. This is seen on on all his recordings, solo or Beatles installments. I guess far better to be quiet, unassuming and know more than others around us and know we are gifted by being ''different.'' Certainly all Beatles culture will survive for...what? the end of time? Its a part of who we are. Don't make a mistake by not buying this cd. It also includes his own commentary on the work, and of course the non-errant, insightful, refreshing lyrics. Some have commented G.H.'s music as being preachy, but they definately say something and he is expressing himself as the artist he was and still is. Not alot of ''sermonizing'' here, at all. Thank you, George for being with us for a while on Earth; our loss is Heaven's gain...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    R.I.P. GEORGE HARRISON

    George Harrison is now officially the ''Quiet Beatle''. However, the truth is during his lifetime, he ''quietly'' exposed more people to spirituality and love through music than perhaps anyone else on the planet. Despite the fact that Paul & John wrote most of the songs, The Beatles would have not been The Beatles without George's beautiful guitar work. He brought spirituality to the Beatles and Eastern religion to the Western world. This timeless record, (in a sense George's autobiography) which sounds better, thanks to his subtle remastering, and more timely now than ever, conveys George's take on life better than any book possibly could. George was on a quest for truth and love. The world could certainly use another dose of ''All Things Must Pass'' right about now. ''Beware of Maya''. Rest in Love & Peace, George Harrison. (Posted 12/3/01 1:30 PM Los Angeles)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Listener: 15-year-old Beatle and George Harrison Fan.

    I first heard this album several months ago from my mom's own copy of the original album, and I fell in love with it. That's why when I heard that George had re-released the album as a double-CD, I had to get it. I especially like the 5-bonus tracks, which I must say are just as enjoyable as the original tracks on the album. This is probably my favorite album by him, and I must say every song is a true gem. As a teenager, I think it's a great find and I feel that every kid my age should listen to this album because it's an album that bridges the generation gap and I feel that if anyone would like to listen to George Harrison's music this should be the album for them to start with. I highly reccommend it to those my age, or those that are curious about his work. I hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    ANCIENT INDIA APPEARS AS POP ALBUM

    In the week of All Things Must Pass's re-release, it is only fitting that today's L.A. Times front page(Jan25,01) has a photo of India's naked sadhus(holy men) enthusiastically plunging into the freezing waters of the Ganges river to celebrate the festival of the Kumbha Mela, a festival which is being attended by Sir Paul McCartney, Richard Gere, Pierce Brosnan, Madonna, Demi Moore, Sharon Stone, and about 32 million others. George Harrison's & Phil Spector's beautifully constructed sounds take the listener on a sublime journey of transcendant dimensions. A vastly underrated album.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    the master is back

    a brilliant work, don't miss this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Still engaging 30 years on!

    Always my favorite Harrison album, the anniversary edition of ''All Things Must Pass'' is as fresh, crisp & engaging as it was all those years ago. The depth, truth & wonderment of his lyrics & melodies has transcended time & holds true well into the new millenium. The bonus tracks for instance, ''What is Life'' gives an instrumental version w/oboe & piccolo,an entirely different interpretation to the ''classic'' version. Dhani Harrison provides the acoustic guitar on ''My Sweet Lord 2000'' sharing the spotlight with his famous dad. Listening to this collection brings one back to a time & a place as well as into the future! Listen & enjoy ... it's George at his best!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2