Customer Reviews for

All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1844 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1223)

4 Star

(430)

3 Star

(144)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

My very favorite series!

Every book takes us a little deeper into the relationships in Sookie's life. Bill has betrayed her in every way - she herself realizes that she must move on (of course, every woman never forgets the first love of her life - so be it!). Sookie wants to be first, but that...
Every book takes us a little deeper into the relationships in Sookie's life. Bill has betrayed her in every way - she herself realizes that she must move on (of course, every woman never forgets the first love of her life - so be it!). Sookie wants to be first, but that isn't possible with Quinn - hence, his quick departure. There is one man/vampire who has never betrayed her and, although always blunt and sometimes brutal in his truth, Eric has always been there for Sookie and she has proven herself to be his equal in every way. Eric knows this, too, which is why I believe he loves her. I went back and read every book over again carefully and you will see the hints of Bill's betrayal and the beginnings of Eric's support and deep feelings.

I'm sure the next book will deal with Sookie's connection to her great-grandfather, and I hope Charlaine Harris will give a true relationship a chance for Sookie and Eric. Let's see how it works out! I'm sure game!

The secondary characters are fabulous and make the whole series - Sam, Amelia, PAM(!), Bubba, and a host of others. I have a feeling we are going to be introduced to some really interesting "beings" in the next book, so don't keep us waiting too long, Ms. Harris! Thanks for giving us a wonderful series that I never want to see end!

P.S. The only reason I rate the book covers so low is that they make Sookie look like a child and I don't understand that... Sookie would hate being represented that way!

posted by supersookiefan on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Struggled to Finish

I just finished reading this book after having it for a couple of months. At first I was really into these booksa nd now I find myself struggling to get through them. Sookie is starting to get on my nerves as she bounces from one man to another all while still playing t...
I just finished reading this book after having it for a couple of months. At first I was really into these booksa nd now I find myself struggling to get through them. Sookie is starting to get on my nerves as she bounces from one man to another all while still playing the innocent girl. It is a little tiring. I liked the Sookie that was presented in the first book. She was strong-willed and you couldn't help but like her and want to cheer for her. As the books have gone on it seems like she has lost that. I found myself skipping some chapters just so I could finish this book. I am one who when they start a series they finish it, so I will probably get the other 3 books I am lacking but I truly hope they are better than this one. I just wasn't that excited about this one,.

posted by DivaPrincess28 on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted April 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Struggled to Finish

    I just finished reading this book after having it for a couple of months. At first I was really into these booksa nd now I find myself struggling to get through them. Sookie is starting to get on my nerves as she bounces from one man to another all while still playing the innocent girl. It is a little tiring. I liked the Sookie that was presented in the first book. She was strong-willed and you couldn't help but like her and want to cheer for her. As the books have gone on it seems like she has lost that. I found myself skipping some chapters just so I could finish this book. I am one who when they start a series they finish it, so I will probably get the other 3 books I am lacking but I truly hope they are better than this one. I just wasn't that excited about this one,.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I am usually very much into the Sookie Stackhouse books, but thi

    I am usually very much into the Sookie Stackhouse books, but this one was lacking something- not sure what. I feel like it really dragged on, it didn't have much action except towards the end, and we didn't get to really see all the characters we love. Hopefully, the next book will be better. I would love to finish the series but if the rest are like this I won't be able too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Where does she get off

    My only negative is when Sookie takes issue with a northern vampire girl named Jodi. She finds the name so absurd she rips it apart twice even. As a northern girl named Jodi, I take offence at a character named "Sookie" making fun of any name on the planet, but especially mine. That on top of her ridiculous prejudices of northern people (lets face it, minnesota nice is far more real than southern hopsitality and we are smarter too) Harris just lost major brownie points. I will finish the series, but at least now I know she isn't somebody I would want to associate with in the real world.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Worst Sookie book yet

    The vampire summit totally bored me. I had to force myself to keep reading. I don't like Quinn.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    another one

    I happen to love this series. This was was just as good as the rest that I have read so far. I can't wait to read what is in store for Sookie, Eric, and Bill. Although I have my own ideas of what should happen I think Charlaine Harris will continue her good work with the next books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2010

    Good but not the best in the series

    This book brings too many characters in. It is hard to keep them straight while also keeping the plot clear!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Per my 12 yo son: Sex with too many details!

    Thank you Lord my son feels so now! I didn't know these books contained details until he reached the last of the series to date (hmmm...ulterior motive? :) ). He says he'd give 5 stars if the sex were left out. Shame on yall. The series is otherwise fantastic but as a mom my ratings take into consideration all the explicit sex. I didn't know........

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2010

    Amazing Book, like the series

    This book is, so far, awesome. Sookie's experiences with all of the fantasy creatures in the world are so thrilling and unexpected, I never know what is going to happen next. Especially with her past romance with Bill Compton! Anyone who is in the mood for a great vampire/fantasy book, read the Sookie Stackhouse series! You won't be disappointed!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    okay, not great

    In this Sookie Stackhouse installment, Sookie has been requested to work for the Vampire Queen of Louisiana as they attend a very important vampire summit. The Queen needs Sookie to use her telepathic powers to "listen" to her enemies, as the Queen will be on trial for the murder of her Vampire husband, the King of Arkansas. The Queen's stature has weakened since Hurricane Katrina has effected her economic status.

    Joining Sookie and the Queen, will be Vampire Eric, a sometimes romantic interest of Sookie's, her ex-boyfriend, Vampire Bill, and Sookie's current boyfriend, Quinn, a were-tiger.


    But this trip is business for Sookie and she must uncover several plots; some to destroy the Queen and one to kill all the vampires. Sookie gets help from fellow telepath, Barry the Bellboy, who now works for the vampire King of Texas.


    My review: I liked this one fairly well, but I do prefer the ones were Sookie is back home in Bon Temps. This had a whole other dimension of vampire politics, which Sookie manages quite well. She continues to get more confident in her abilities as a telepath but also as an intelligent, independent woman.


    I am ready for Quinn to be gone, though he treats Sookie well, as I want some Sookie/Eric love happening. I hope there is a little more romance/sex in the next two books left in the series!


    my rating 3.5/5
    http://bookmagic418.blogspot.com/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Love this Series - Just Not this Book

    I have been a fan of Charlaine Harris from her first Sookie Stackhouse book in 2001 - long before the Vampire craze took over the reading world. I have enjoyed every one of her books, however - All Together Dead was my least favorite. I just felt that it lacked a fully thought-out plot and it was more of a literary set-up for From Dead to Worse (by the way - From Dead to Worse is a fabulous book!) I know it is important to keep Sookie's books in order - just don't expect that much from this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2009

    Sookie rides again

    I love Charlaine Harris and Sookie. Too bad the TV series "True Blood" isn't as good as the books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    This world grows on you...

    This will be my last adventure into the world of Sookie Stackhouse for a while. I promise.

    I finally finished All Together Dead; book seven of the Sookie Stackhouse series, and the final volume of the boxed set that I received a little over a week ago and have been trudging through since. For those of you who have been following my reviews on Amazon (or the discussion on Book Blogs) you know that I was not impressed (or amused) by the first book in this series. Not in the slightest. I didn't even review the book on my blog, because the things that I had to say about it were not nice at all. Better just to say nothing.

    By the time I finished book four, Dead to the World, my opinion of the series had gotten better (from one star to three stars), and I grudgingly admitted that while I absolutely hated the first book, my initial impression of Sookie and Co. may have been a little off base. Having now made it this far into the series, I have to say that the little world that Charlaine Harris has created is starting to grow on me.

    The plot of All Together Dead is quite a bit more complicated than its predecessors. Sookie finds herself in Michigan attending a vampire convention. She is working for the queen of Louisiana, as a telepath. Of course, all of hear beaux are in attendance in one capacity or another. Bill is selling the vampire database discs he has been working on for months. Eric is there as, well, Eric. And Quinn is there running the show. In her usual style, Sookie unwittingly finds herself torn between Eric (whom she is coerced into sharing blood with for the third time), and Quinn (who she discovers has a deep, dark secret). As for Bill, he is so low on the totem pole that he is being referred to as "nameless."

    The entire convoy is staying at a vamp hotel in Michigan. Along with vamps from around the country, weres and shifters, interdimensional body guards, demons, fang-bangers, and at least one more telepath. Remember Barry the bellboy? He's baaack.

    Of course, when you get this many supes together under the same roof, you can be sure it's going to hit the fan. Between the politics, the personal agendas, and the Fellowship of the Sun in hordes outside, there is danger around every corner. And although Sookie is good at what she does, she can only read the minds of the humans. Who, at least in this installment, are fewer and farther between than ever before.

    All Together Dead ended up being my favorite book in this series so far. Some of the threads that were left hanging at the end of book six are tied up (think the death of Sophie-Anne's King). However, there was a lot that seemed irrelevant. Like Jason's wedding. And Tara's. And Amelia still staying with Sookie, along with Bob, her lover-turned-cat. And the fact that Sookie still has a thing for Bill. And a thing for Eric.

    Needless to say, although All Together Dead answered a few questions, it left a lot more hanging. For the Sookie faithful, I guess that's a wonderful thing. The series is guaranteed to go on for a few more installments. Maybe it will keep getting better. One can hope. As it stands, I have to give All Together Dead three stars. It was better than the rest. But not that much better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The girl never gets the guy

    I have previously enjoyed Charlaine Harris Sookie Stackhouse mysteries and was avidly reading every one. I was growing slowly dissatisfied with the outcome of Sookies love life. Bill is really the love of her life but he never gets the girl - Sookie just can't seem to forgive him. Sookie is always saving everyone's backside and ending up with the fuzzy end of the lolly pop. Especially in "All Together Dead," this book was rather dark for the series and I decided after this one and reading the excerpt from the next, I would just give it up. If this is alright with you Charlaine Harris has a lively style and interesting situations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2008

    Worth reading

    The Southern Vampire novels are a guilty pleasure. Harris creates an interesting world fraught with danger, romance, magic, and mystery. I enjoy reading these books. That being said, I lose brain cells every time I open one. Harris's plot and character development and consistency leave a lot to be desired. Her 'love scenes' are inelegantly written. These books are entertainment, not literature.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 144 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 8