Customer Reviews for

All Together Dead (Sookie Stackhouse / Southern Vampire Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1838 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1218)

4 Star

(430)

3 Star

(143)

2 Star

(18)

1 Star

(29)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

My very favorite series!

Every book takes us a little deeper into the relationships in Sookie's life. Bill has betrayed her in every way - she herself realizes that she must move on (of course, every woman never forgets the first love of her life - so be it!). Sookie wants to be first, but that...
Every book takes us a little deeper into the relationships in Sookie's life. Bill has betrayed her in every way - she herself realizes that she must move on (of course, every woman never forgets the first love of her life - so be it!). Sookie wants to be first, but that isn't possible with Quinn - hence, his quick departure. There is one man/vampire who has never betrayed her and, although always blunt and sometimes brutal in his truth, Eric has always been there for Sookie and she has proven herself to be his equal in every way. Eric knows this, too, which is why I believe he loves her. I went back and read every book over again carefully and you will see the hints of Bill's betrayal and the beginnings of Eric's support and deep feelings.

I'm sure the next book will deal with Sookie's connection to her great-grandfather, and I hope Charlaine Harris will give a true relationship a chance for Sookie and Eric. Let's see how it works out! I'm sure game!

The secondary characters are fabulous and make the whole series - Sam, Amelia, PAM(!), Bubba, and a host of others. I have a feeling we are going to be introduced to some really interesting "beings" in the next book, so don't keep us waiting too long, Ms. Harris! Thanks for giving us a wonderful series that I never want to see end!

P.S. The only reason I rate the book covers so low is that they make Sookie look like a child and I don't understand that... Sookie would hate being represented that way!

posted by supersookiefan on December 17, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Struggled to Finish

I just finished reading this book after having it for a couple of months. At first I was really into these booksa nd now I find myself struggling to get through them. Sookie is starting to get on my nerves as she bounces from one man to another all while still playing t...
I just finished reading this book after having it for a couple of months. At first I was really into these booksa nd now I find myself struggling to get through them. Sookie is starting to get on my nerves as she bounces from one man to another all while still playing the innocent girl. It is a little tiring. I liked the Sookie that was presented in the first book. She was strong-willed and you couldn't help but like her and want to cheer for her. As the books have gone on it seems like she has lost that. I found myself skipping some chapters just so I could finish this book. I am one who when they start a series they finish it, so I will probably get the other 3 books I am lacking but I truly hope they are better than this one. I just wasn't that excited about this one,.

posted by DivaPrincess28 on April 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 430 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2012

    Loved it!!!!

    This book was truely amazing i felt there where so many new doors open and so much action that occured i really enjoyed it cant wait for more

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Good but a little long.

    Doesn't mean I didn't like the book. I liked the book and all and it was nice to see some characters show up in the book like the regulars, Pam, Eric and etc. Though I wonder what other new characters will be in the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Callie

    Crying loudly

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    This book was a page turner and very creatively written!

    This book was a page turner and very creatively written!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Super fun airport novel!

    I read this book when I'm traveling because its a fun light read that's also entertaining and keeps me interested. It's not the greatest novel, but its still fun, and tides me over til the TV starts up again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Another great Sookie Stackhouse book

    This is another great addition to the Sookie Stackhouse saga. Yes, it puts her in another life-threatening situation and yes, there are many male love interests around, but Harris is the expert at re-writing the same storyline over and over and making us love every one of them. And crave more. Great addition to the series. Recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Amazing

    exciting book leaves me wanting to read the one that follows

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2011

    Only one more to go

    As with the others I enjoyed the story so much that the pages fly by!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2011

    love this series

    ...like i stated i love this series. although this book tends to invite a lot of characters in amd at times you may forget who is who. leaves you always wanting more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    Love the Sookie Series

    I love all of the Sookie series. One of the things I have to mention is that in Book # 6 the time frame is in March. Then in Book # 7 it takes them to September and in the beginning Sookie talked about Hadley and that she passed a couple of weeks ago. Am I over reading something?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    My Thoughts On 'All Together Dead'...

    Sookie is adjusting well to having someone living in the Stackhouse home with her since her grandmother's passing. Amelia has a great habit of cleaning when she is nervous. The only problem is that Amelia does not get along with Claudine. Apparently witches and fairies do not mix.
    As she has planned with Sam to attend the vampire summit that is coming up at Lake Michigan, Sookie gets a call from Jason. He and Crystal are getting married in an hour! Sookie is not fond of what Jason is doing, but she can't really stop him either.
    While at the summit, Sookie learns of the lawsuit against the queen of New Orleans for the wrongful death of her new husband the king of Arkansas. However, for the queen, her position is strongly weakened by the disastrous hurricane Katrina. Sophie-Anne desperately needs the inherited wealth, power, and land from Arkansas in order to not be ate alive.
    Sookie is confronted by Pam; because of what it is she is doing to Eric. Sookie really doesn't realize it, and is blinded by her hatred for what was wrongly done to her, that she is not able to see it from another's perspective. Pam tells her to stop playing around with Eric's feelings.
    Reunited with Barry, the only other telepath she knows from Dallas, the pair sort of fall into their own, when they talk to one another without saying a word.
    First thing at the summit, all of the vampires from the territory of Arkansas are murdered except for five. (WOW!) Then a bomb is set inconspicuously in the grand pyramid vampire hotel. There is a pair of unclaimed suitcases that Sook is called down to retrieve.
    On the night of the great ball, Sookie finds out at the last minute that there will be a trial held against the queen of New Orleans, even though all the parties are dead. Sookie is the one and only witness to what actually did happen in regards to the king's death.
    Realizing her great potential and usefulness to him and the queen, Andre makes an enemy of himself toward Sook. He forces his blood on to Sookie so they will be linked. Eric steps in to aid her in choosing between the lesser of two evils. To her horror, Quinn walks in on the end on the act of Eric and Sookie together. What will the third sharing of blood between Eric and Sookie hold for her and her future?
    With the aid of the Britligens, Sookie is finally able to piece together the mystery of the bomb and the mysterious suitcases. This only proves to be disastrous for Sookie and Barry, as they show the usefulness of their Gift when they desperately try to save the undead lives of their vampire friends.
    Because of the monumental and disastrous hate crime, Sookie promises that she will not work for the vamps ever again, but can she really do that now? Will she and Quinn be able to keep what's left of their fragile relationship, even with the heartfelt and heroic act that Quinn does for Sookie?
    The Fellowship of the Sun are doing much more than pamphlets and preaching out against the walking dead. They are as bad as the KKK, when they try to make the vamps of the region, 'All Together Dead'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    All Together Dead, Sookie Stackhouse/Southern Vampire Mysteries, Book 7

    Sookie is adjusting well to having someone living in the Stackhouse home with her since her grandmother's passing. Amelia has a great habit of cleaning when she is nervous. The only problem is that Amelia does not get along with Claudine. Apparently witches and fairies do not mix.
    As she has planned with Sam to attend the vampire summit that is coming up at Lake Michigan, Sookie gets a call from Jason. He and Crystal are getting married in an hour! Sookie is not fond of what Jason is doing, but she can't really stop him either.
    While at the summit, Sookie learns of the lawsuit against the queen of New Orleans for the wrongful death of her new husband the king of Arkansas. However, for the queen, her position is strongly weakened by the disastrous hurricane Katrina. Sophie-Anne desperately needs the inherited wealth, power, and land from Arkansas in order to not be ate alive.
    Sookie is confronted by Pam; because of what it is she is doing to Eric. Sookie really doesn't realize it, and is blinded by her hatred for what was wrongly done to her, that she is not able to see it from another's perspective. Pam tells her to stop playing around with Eric's feelings.
    Reunited with Barry, the only other telepath she knows from Dallas, the pair sort of fall into their own, when they talk to one another without saying a word.
    First thing at the summit, all of the vampires from the territory of Arkansas are murdered except for five. (WOW!) Then a bomb is set inconspicuously in the grand pyramid vampire hotel. There is a pair of unclaimed suitcases that Sook is called down to retrieve.
    On the night of the great ball, Sookie finds out at the last minute that there will be a trial held against the queen of New Orleans, even though all the parties are dead. Sookie is the one and only witness to what actually did happen in regards to the king's death.
    Realizing her great potential and usefulness to him and the queen, Andre makes an enemy of himself toward Sook. He forces his blood on to Sookie so they will be linked. Eric steps in to aid her in choosing between the lesser of two evils. To her horror, Quinn walks in on the end on the act of Eric and Sookie together. What will the third sharing of blood between Eric and Sookie hold for her and her future?
    With the aid of the Britligens, Sookie is finally able to piece together the mystery of the bomb and the mysterious suitcases. This only proves to be disastrous for Sookie and Barry, as they show the usefulness of their Gift when they desperately try to save the undead lives of their vampire friends.
    Because of the monumental and disastrous hate crime, Sookie promises that she will not work for the vamps ever again, but can she really do that now? Will she and Quinn be able to keep what's left of their fragile relationship, even with the heartfelt and heroic act that Quinn does for Sookie?
    The Fellowship of the Sun are doing much more than pamphlets and preaching out against the walking dead. They are as bad as the KKK, when they try to make the vamps of the region, 'All Together Dead'.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2010

    A Fun and Fast Adventure!

    I enjoyed this next ride on the Sookie Stackhouse train but it felt almost too short. I have really enjoyed reading the series and then seeing how they take parts of the story to fit it into the television series. The first handful of books really kept me on the edge of my seat and seemed like they were really rich in the story. As the series goes on, the stories seem to get shorter and shorter and leave me feeling like they could have been much deeper in story line. I will continue to read them to see what happens next because I love the way the stories allow me to escape for a little while. I am looking for a bit longer escape........into a deeper story line, like the first 3 were.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Decent

    The Sookie Stackhouse book series as a whole is decent. This one seemed like she was grabbing at ideas so she could make a book,tho.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Good Read

    I liked it. It keeps the reader intrested. It is a fun book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    My Favorite Sookie Novel So Far

    I just finished reading All Together Dead, and I must say that it is my favorite installment of the Southern Vampire Series thus far. The plot moves along rapidly and builds suspense for the climactic event that occurs at the Vampire Summit. I am still a little sad that Sookie and Bill have not reconciled and I am not particularly crazy about Quinn's character, but overall I enjoyed the book very much. It's a quick and light read full of refreshingly familiar characters, and some interesting new ones.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The Sookie Stackhouse character is honorable. Once she considers you a friend, she is totaly on your side. I would love to have a friend like her. Bill is very affected by her, as well is Eric and Quinn.

    I enjoy reading each book in the order they were written. I love following the old and new characters as they develop and to their possible demise. Sookie's new relationship with Quinn, and Eric's confliction with same, plus her trip to Rhodes, shows many sides of all characters and various exciting suspenseful disasters. Charlaine Harris weaves a great story of a heroine in charge of her life, but with help along the way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I loved it but...

    the ending just made me sick. I hope I'm happier with the next book. I love Sookie and hate it when she's not happy or disillusioned with the world.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 430 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22