Customer Reviews for

All You Could Ask For: A Novel

Average Rating 3.5
( 20 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Please let me begin by saying that is going to be very difficul

Please let me begin by saying that is going to be very difficult to review this book without giving anything away, but I'm going to give it my best shot. This is a very moving novel about the friendship between three women. The most amazing thing about this friendship ...
Please let me begin by saying that is going to be very difficult to review this book without giving anything away, but I'm going to give it my best shot. This is a very moving novel about the friendship between three women. The most amazing thing about this friendship is the shocking twist of how they meet. The second most amazing thing is that this book was written by a man, especially a "sports dude". The author hosts a sports show on ESPN. The women's voices are authentic and believable. The issues addressed are handled sensitively and perceptively. The novel is, as the author might say, a "grand slam".

posted by RandyLRB on April 7, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Seriously

Nothing pisses me off more then being TRICKED into reading a book about women and breast cancer. So if thats not what you were looking for when you signed on, browsing through chic lit, do not buy this book. I read to escape my problems, not to feel worse. Whats the ...
Nothing pisses me off more then being TRICKED into reading a book about women and breast cancer. So if thats not what you were looking for when you signed on, browsing through chic lit, do not buy this book. I read to escape my problems, not to feel worse. Whats the matter publishers, afraid the word cancer wont sell as many books? Thanks for nothing, ughhh!

posted by 6364306 on April 13, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Please let me begin by saying that is going to be very difficul

    Please let me begin by saying that is going to be very difficult to review this book without giving anything away, but I'm going to give it my best shot. This is a very moving novel about the friendship between three women. The most amazing thing about this friendship is the shocking twist of how they meet. The second most amazing thing is that this book was written by a man, especially a "sports dude". The author hosts a sports show on ESPN. The women's voices are authentic and believable. The issues addressed are handled sensitively and perceptively. The novel is, as the author might say, a "grand slam".

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 8, 2013

    I loved this book! My husband watches Mike & Mike all the ti

    I loved this book! My husband watches Mike & Mike all the time so I was familiar with Mike Greenberg. I saw him on the CBS Morning Show talking about this book and decided I would give it a try. I thought he did such a wonderful job writing this book. I would never have thought it was written by a man. The characters were real. He did a wonderful job understanding the dynamic between women. The book has a story line about breast cancer, but the book is about women's friendship. I will recommend this book to all my friends!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I can't believe a man wrote this book. Greenberg captures the vo

    I can't believe a man wrote this book. Greenberg captures the voices of these three very different women so incredibly well, he must eavesdrop on women often. And take notes.
    Samantha is newly married to an older man and on her honeymoon in Hawaii. She is blissfully happy, ready to start her new life when she finds a photo of a naked woman on her husband's laptop.
    Katherine has just turned forty, a hard-charging career woman whose last serious relationship ended badly many years ago. Now the most important man in her life is her faithful driver Maurice. Her administrative assistant has set her up on a blind date with a handsome, eligible man- who happens to be twenty years older than her. How old does she think Katherine is anyway?
    Brooke is happily married to Scott, and mom to two children, living in the suburbs, trying to figure out what to get her husband for his birthday. She is a good wife, a good mom and likes her life.
    The first half of the book sets up each of these three interesting women's lives, all facing different daily challenges- work, home, family, loneliness. We become invested in them, and compare our lives to theirs.
    Then they each get a diagnosis of breast cancer. Each woman reacts differently, and the reader is left to ponder how they deal with her individual diagnosis. The women do not interact with each other in the first half of the book, but they later meet on breast cancer message boards and we are able read their messages to each other, and see their relationships develop.
    I had to admit I was skeptical about a novel some would call "chick-lit" about breast cancer written by a male ESPN host, but Greenberg does a terrific job here. I wanted to know more about these women's lives, and I found their reactions to their illnesses fascinating.
    They each respond differently, and the way one woman deals with it will probably cause some lively discussions in book clubs, for which this novel would make a good choice. It definitely made me think about how I would react, and upon reflection, it also made me try to be less judgmental of other women and the choices they make in the lives.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2013

    Such a GREAT Read!

    I loved this book! I read it in two days; I couldn't put it down. It was humorous, heartfelt and insightful. I kept having to remind myself that this was written by "Greeny" a MAN that I spend 4 hours listening to every morning on ESPN. It was written with such female nuance, unbelievable tone. Already recommended it to friends and family!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Seriously

    Nothing pisses me off more then being TRICKED into reading a book about women and breast cancer. So if thats not what you were looking for when you signed on, browsing through chic lit, do not buy this book. I read to escape my problems, not to feel worse. Whats the matter publishers, afraid the word cancer wont sell as many books? Thanks for nothing, ughhh!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2014

    I wasted my money and time

    I skipped 25 pages at a time until i reached 103 and it didn't help-it was still boring. Why folks insist on using the f word continously shows a poor vocabulary.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    I saw an interview of this man on a morning show and thought, &q

    I saw an interview of this man on a morning show and thought, "what the heck." His book sounded interesting so got it. Glad I did! My favorite author is Pat Conroy, and this book is a close second to the depth and understanding of the characters and plot Conroy has, and is not at all maudlin as some readers suggest. I recommend this book highly.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2014

    Ok....but I wish I knew what it was REALLY about before buying!

    Enjoyed the first half of this book. Loved the switching back & fortyh between characters, and was dying to find out what tied them all together. Had I known it was 'what it was' I never would have started this book. Was it moving? Yes. Well written? Yes. Did I tear up? Suprisingly, yes. However, life is so heavy every single day for one reason or another that I like to keep my escape into reading light.

    Overall OK read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2014

    Bad read

    Horrible! Dear author, please don't quit your day job. Talk about boring, I could barely finish it, in fact, I didn't.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2014

    I loved this book! I Could not put It down...read it in 2 days. 

    I loved this book! I Could not put It down...read it in 2 days. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    Two thumbs up!

    This is a great story, extraordinarily written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2013

    Surprisingly good

    I have to say I found it had to believe this was written by a man. I really enjoyed this book. Mr. Greenberg's sports background hasn't clouded his compassion and understanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Wonderful Note: I received this book as part of TLC Book Tours

    Wonderful

    Note: I received this book as part of TLC Book Tours in exchange for an honest review.




    Sometimes a book comes along at exactly the right moment and for me this was it. I’ve been so bogged down with heavy reading for school that this was all I could have asked for (cheesy pun intended). Light writing combined with a balance of seriousness and hilarity, Mike Greenberg’s novel is sure to be a hit.




    I must say that I was surprised at how well the author wrote about women.  Especially because this particular author is a man who works for ESPN – not exactly a breeding ground for womanly insights. And yet, Greenberg succeeds. Both insightful and honest, each of the three main characters is completely three-dimensional and approachable. I wanted to know each of these women even when I didn’t agree with them. While there are a lot of male writers who can successfully write about women, not many write about women told through the point of view of women, and this is what sets Greenberg apart and launching him into the category of men who “get it.”




    ¿¿Not only is he able to write about women, but he can write about women’s friendships (here’s another great book about that). Greenberg successfully weaves the lives of three very different women together as they face one common obstacle in their  lives. And while their friendships become their lifelines, they also learn about themselves as individual women. If you get the chance to pick up this book, here are three things that will happen: You will laugh. You will cry. You will want to call your best friend and tell her all about it. That said, I’m going to go call my best friend and tell her to read it.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2013

    The ending was a disappointment

    I bought this book because it was written by a man with a the intent of being a women's perspective. I though that might be interesting. Part'I' I enjoyed but then I got to Part'II' and the breast cancer, the sisterhood and support didn't seem real, but what people want to believe will happen for all. Then the very end was still the basis believe that a women only wants a man to support her. How trite!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2015

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1