Customer Reviews for

All in Good Time

Average Rating 4
( 32 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(14)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Lovely and Sweet. Maureen Lang writes beautiful stories. I have

Lovely and Sweet. Maureen Lang writes beautiful stories. I have enjoyed a few of them so far, and I`ll be sure to look for more. Her descriptions are clear and detailed, so I'm never in doubt as to her meaning. Her characters are sympathetic and charming, and I can rela...
Lovely and Sweet. Maureen Lang writes beautiful stories. I have enjoyed a few of them so far, and I`ll be sure to look for more. Her descriptions are clear and detailed, so I'm never in doubt as to her meaning. Her characters are sympathetic and charming, and I can relate to them. The romance is sweet, gentle, and appealing. There is plenty to keep the interest in the plot, with Dessa’s ambitions and the two men competing for her, as well as the consequences of all their pasts. There is also the exciting city life in the Victorian era. I always like books with a clean theme, by which I mean no goriness or prurience. This one was just to my taste. I recommend it!

posted by AnotherBibliophile on June 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

I find that the book was really slow; well written with great de

I find that the book was really slow; well written with great details and good characters but a lot slower than I like personally.  Her faith in God was woven into the story very skillfully; it was a part of who she was and so it was included just as naturally as her br...
I find that the book was really slow; well written with great details and good characters but a lot slower than I like personally.  Her faith in God was woven into the story very skillfully; it was a part of who she was and so it was included just as naturally as her breath!  I don't think that non-Christians would find this story stuffy, or "over religious"or pushing religion down their throats.  
An interesting idea for a story; both Dessa and Henry's. 

posted by FlameLW on March 25, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    All in Good Time is a story about a woman trying to help prostit

    All in Good Time is a story about a woman trying to help prostitutes in Denver just after the civil war. I found it interesting to read and there were some surprise elements. I also didn't realize the degree of racism between the whites and the Chinese at that time. This was an enjoyable book to read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2013

    This is the first book I've read from Maureen Lang and it didn't

    This is the first book I've read from Maureen Lang and it didn't disappoint. It's the journey of two people trying to come to terms with their past mistakes and finding grace from others in the process. Dessa thinks her past precludes her from being able to marry;she believes she will be content in continuing her mentor's dream of opening a house for former prostitutes. Yet, she tends to be impatient when waiting on God so she tries to do things her way (which she thinks would be God's way, too). Henry knows his world was built on a lie of his own creation and he thinks he could never have a wife and family because of his past. They both learn to love each other and accept the truths about each other because their past is what made them into the people of the present. Although I enjoyed their story line, I would have liked it better if they spent more time with each other in the first half of the book. It always seemed like either character was running out of the room for one reason or another. I enjoyed the epilogue so I could get a glimpse of how all the secondary characters were doing. Overall, I'm glad I tried it and would definitely read another of Ms. Lang's books again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    I had a hard time getting into this book. I can't really explain

    I had a hard time getting into this book. I can't really explain why, but the characters never gripped me and made me curious about what would happen next. I usually read about a book every day and it took me four days to finish this book because I kept putting it aside to pick up a different one. I found Dessa's faith and commitment to doing God's will inspiring and commendable, which was the best part of the book. I think Henry's character change predictable and abrupt. All in all, a decent book but probably not one I will read again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2013

    Lovely and Sweet. Maureen Lang writes beautiful stories. I have

    Lovely and Sweet. Maureen Lang writes beautiful stories. I have enjoyed a few of them so far, and I`ll be sure to look for more. Her descriptions are clear and detailed, so I'm never in doubt as to her meaning. Her characters are sympathetic and charming, and I can relate to them. The romance is sweet, gentle, and appealing. There is plenty to keep the interest in the plot, with Dessa’s ambitions and the two men competing for her, as well as the consequences of all their pasts. There is also the exciting city life in the Victorian era. I always like books with a clean theme, by which I mean no goriness or prurience. This one was just to my taste. I recommend it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2013

    I find that the book was really slow; well written with great de

    I find that the book was really slow; well written with great details and good characters but a lot slower than I like personally.  Her faith in God was woven into the story very skillfully; it was a part of who she was and so it was included just as naturally as her breath!  I don't think that non-Christians would find this story stuffy, or "over religious"or pushing religion down their throats.  
    An interesting idea for a story; both Dessa and Henry's. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2014

    Historical Romance Dessa Caldwell wants to open a place of refu

    Historical Romance

    Dessa Caldwell wants to open a place of refuge for former prostitutes in Denver to continue on with the 
    dream of her former mentor.  The only problem is that the charitable donations she has been able to 
    raise are not enough to bring the dream to a reality so she is forced to ask for a bank loan.  She is granted a loan at the most successful bank in town run by Henry Hawkins who is less than thrilled that his uncle granted her the loan. An old house is purchased and  Dessa moves in and is all ready to have the women come to her.  Things do not go exactly as planned and the first "woman" comes to reside at Pierson House after a bank robbery.  Through a series of run-ins Dessa starts to like the mostly stern bank president but he has a secret from his past that he is afraid to reveal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Wheal

    He watches her. Licking his lips.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2014

    Gibbs

    Heklo

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Heyyyyy icewing

    ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Moonbeam

    Sleeps

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    All In Good Time, by Maureen Lang.  Dessa wishes to open a women

    All In Good Time, by Maureen Lang.  Dessa wishes to open a women’s shelter—particularly for former prostitutes. She needs money, but the owner of the bank, Henry Hawkins, isn't exactly willing because he doesn’t see how he can profit. Needless to say, these two ‘duke it out’ so to speak…

    I enjoyed the tension in this book, and how each character developed. The book started out a little slow, but the pace soon steadied out, and in the end I enjoyed the story. The pages are full of imagery, and the author obviously researched Colorado and the history of the 1880s time period. I learned a lot and feel as if I’ve been there.

    I love the cover art, there are discussion questions in the back of the book, and I've added another author to my growing list of good'uns. ;)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Jake

    Walks in

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    To jake

    Result 4

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2013

    I enjoyed this book; I can appreciate Dessa's commitment to the

    I enjoyed this book; I can appreciate Dessa's commitment to the girls held against their will in brothels regardless of what it cost her. I can also understand her tendency to plough ahead without always considering the ramifications of what could happen. I admire someone who takes up a cause and is willing to do all in their power to fight for it and I think that is what Dessa did. It was also fun to watch Mr. Hawkins change as the book progressed and he learned to know Dessa better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    Enjoyable historical fiction.  The write up didnt sound all that

    Enjoyable historical fiction.  The write up didnt sound all that fascinating, but the story was good.  I have read other things by this author and liked those as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2013

    This book is great because of the main character not going again

    This book is great because of the main character not going against her values even when she meets Turk Foster, which turns her head slightly, but not all the way. Henry is the second main character who Dessa eventually falls in love with. She has such a big influence on Henry that he doesn't believe in her at the beginning. He thinks she will fail and his money he invested in Pierson House is a total loss. But eventually Dessa wins the hearts of everyone around her. Maureen Lang is an Excellent romance writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 14, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Maureen Lang in her new book "All In Good Time" Book T

    Maureen Lang in her new book "All In Good Time" Book Two in the Gilded Legacy series published by Tyndale House Publishers takes us to 1887 Denver and into the life of Dessa Caldwell.




    From the back cover: Denver 1887




    Dessa Caldwell has a dream: to open Pierson House, a refuge for former prostitutes in Denver's roughest neighborhood. But after exhausting all charitable donations, Dessa still needs a loan, and nearly every bank in town has turned her down. Her last hope hinges on the owner of Hawkins National Bank.




    Henry Hawkins has a secret: though he owns the most successful bank in town, his initial capital came from three successful raids on Wells Fargo coaches. Now he's the most eligible bachelor in Denver, but to protect his criminal past, he's built a fortress around his heart. Not even the boldest matchmaking mother can tempt him . . . until the day Dessa Caldwell ventures into his bank requesting a loan.




    Though he's certain her proposal is a bad investment, Henry is drawn to Dessa's passion. But that same passion drives her to make rash decisions about Pierson House . . . and about whom she can trust. One man might hold the key to the future of her mission--but he also threatens to bring Henry's darkest secrets to light. As the walls around their hearts begin to crumble, Henry and Dessa must choose between their plans and God's, between safety and love.




    "All In Good Time" is a story about the timing of God and how do we know when the time is now or we still have to wait. I think this is an area where all of us have missed the mark at some point and it is nice to see this topic tackled in novel form. Ms. Lang has given us great characters with great themes. Dessa wants to open a home for former prostitutes but finds it difficult to find these women to come to her home even though it is open. You'll be interested to know why. Henry is a banker with a secret that he feels will ruin him if it is known yet he feels God poking him to tell. Both Dessa and Henry have secrets that are holding them back from fully embracing their present and launching into the future. It is going to take God to heal them of their past hurts and give them their destiny. ""All In Good Time" is about friendship, love, betrayal, healing from past sins and finding your place in the world. This is a fun read filled with adventure and romance. I do not recommend starting this book late at night because it will cost you sleep as you will not want to put it down. Ms. Lang has given us another excellent story in this wonderful series and I am looking forward to the next one.




    If you missed the interview for "Look To The East", a different series from Maureen Lang, and would like to listen to it and/or interviews with other authors and professionals please go to Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand.




    Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from Tyndale House Publishers. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission's 16 CFR, Part 255: "Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 6, 2013

    All in Good Time was a nice summer read about a woman who opens

    All in Good Time was a nice summer read about a woman who opens a home to help girls coming out of prostitution. She falls in love with a banker. They both have secrets that are keeping them in shame and out of relationships. This is a book about God’s grace and second chances.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 2, 2013

    While at times the characters could be a bit cheesey, the modern

    While at times the characters could be a bit cheesey, the modern-day issues portrayed in the story are quite relevant for today. The story also explores how the characters' secrets and feelings of inadequacy affect their behaviors, choices, and how they can lead to pushing others away. Well-written, a good summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    Read as part of the Tyndale House Summer Reading program and tho

    Read as part of the Tyndale House Summer Reading program and thought it was cheesy and a bit too Christiany.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2