Customer Reviews for

All-of-a-Kind Family

Average Rating 4.5
( 35 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Loved all the "All of a kind family" books.


Like everyone else here, these were favorites of mine as a child and I still enjoy re-reading them to my neices and nephews. My 3rd grade teacher read them to us in class right after lunch. We would put our heads down on our desk while she read aloud. Still one of my f...

Like everyone else here, these were favorites of mine as a child and I still enjoy re-reading them to my neices and nephews. My 3rd grade teacher read them to us in class right after lunch. We would put our heads down on our desk while she read aloud. Still one of my favorite memories. These are right up there with the "Little House" books.

posted by Knittychic on May 23, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great book

All of a kind family it is @ least in the begening of the book All nook readers should read this book

posted by Anonymous on January 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    Great book

    All of a kind family it is @ least in the begening of the book
    All nook readers should read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2012

    Loved all the "All of a kind family" books.


    Like everyone else here, these were favorites of mine as a child and I still enjoy re-reading them to my neices and nephews. My 3rd grade teacher read them to us in class right after lunch. We would put our heads down on our desk while she read aloud. Still one of my favorite memories. These are right up there with the "Little House" books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2014

    K

    Kiss your hand and post this on three other books an an iphone five wio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    All of a Kind Family

    I love the book! It is great even though I am not done with it I would recomend it!!! You can get the sample or you can buy it.
    I think you would like it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2013

    I remember reading these books when I was about 10 or 11. I'm 34

    I remember reading these books when I was about 10 or 11. I'm 34 now and I'm so excited that I found it again. For a long time I remembered half of the title of the book but not all of it what I did remember was it was a book about jewish sisters. Reading these books years ago made me love reading. I would look forward to going to the library just to get the next book in the series. I'm going to buy them for my daughter and read them all over again.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2013

    I love all of the all of a kind family books

    This is the best book in the world !!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    All nook readers should read thease books


    P.S. I <3 this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Recomended highly Required in childhood

    It is a great book! These series of books are some of bmy favorite books

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2012

    Cool

    This is a good book GET IT,it is worthspace and your time

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2012

    Joyful reading!

    When I was in elementary school, I couldn't get enough of these books. I was telling my young son about them because he wanted to know what kind of books I read at his age. I told him about all the books I read - from what I could remember - and these books about the girls stood out. I always wanted to be able to get crackers out of the cracker barrel and pickles out of the pickle barrel! Excellent books for any child...a little slice of life from the turn of the century.
    I cried when the librarian said I couldn't buy the books.. : )

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Highly Reccomend

    This book was introduced to me by my elementary school Librarian and I loved it! (I'm 65 now!) I buy it as gifts for young girls between the age of 7 and 10 and they all seem to enjoy it just as much as I did. There is a whole "All of a Kind Family" sseries and they are all just as wonderful about a turn of the century family and how it was like to live then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2011

    Wonderful book

    I read the whole series when I was a little kid. It was so familiar to me and even tho I enjoyed Nancy Drew, The Bobsey <spelling?> Twins, I liked this one better.

    Somehow I enjoyed my mother's reaction the best. She smiled when reading each book. And said she remembered all the sights and smells from when SHHE was growing up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    Wonderful Childhood Memories

    I have wonderful memories of reading this book as a child. I purchased it to give to my friend's daughter as a birthday gift and cannot wait to share this very special book with her. I remember this book being full of love, warmth, and a sense of family. It was one of my favorite books as a child, and I hope that my friend's daughter enjoys it as much as I did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2010

    I wanted to be in this family.

    I heartily agree with the other reviews. This was one of my favorite books as a child. I still have a hardbound copy that was given to me by my best friend in 1967 for my 11th birthday. I've just sync'ed the audio books for the first two books in the series to my mp3 player through the public library. I also found a guide to the series on www.jewishlibraries.org website. I still have vivid pictures in my head of certain events. I can't wait to get reacquainted with these old friends.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2009

    What great memories!

    I loved these books when I was a "tween" (I am 38 now). I remember getting them at my local library and devouring them. I'm disappointed though that only 3 books are available. I know there were more and I really hope the publisher releases the entire set!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2006

    The great all of a kind family

    THis book is outstanding for 10 year olds and above !! I am a 10 year old girl!! this book is about the old ages in 1912 and how a mother gets along with her 5 children when they are sick ,tired and somtimes when they get lost in a big croud. the scarlet fever gets everyone.. the kids are all ready for anything but not the most biggest surprise that they are not getting a baby sister but a baby brother.Just what their dad wanted!! These kids help their mother and some times do whatever they want to do!!! THIS IS A GREAT BOOK!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2005

    Thrilled to find these old friends again

    I have always been a reader. Back in the mid 50s when Ms Taylor won an award for the first book in this series someone (to whom I remain eternally grateful)recommended this book to a non-reader set on buying me a book for my birthday. I cannot tell you how many times I read and reread this book over the years - suffice it to say that 50 years later at the age of 58 I can still name all the girls and remember most of their exploits. I will admit that my own mother got me to dust by hiding buttons and the occasional nickle (the ante had gone up some) in hard to dust places - a game I loved to play along with Henny. As an only child I was rather envious of their closeness and as a lover of history I was intrigued by the glimpse of another world and a religion so unlike my own. I was an adult when I realized that Ms Taylor had penned more books about my old friends and I went out and bought(and read) every one of the sequels I could find. I now have a cousin at the age to meet and share with the 'girls' and I am looking forward to providing her with the entire 'All of a Kind Family' experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2005

    Sharing Old Favorites

    I read, re-read and loved these books as a child! I am so happy to be able to share this favorite series with my daughter now!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    Childhood Books To Cherish

    The All-of-a-Kind Family books are among the top children's books out there. I read them as a child, and still have my worn out copies. I am collecting a new set of them for my keeper shelf, and even now that I am 26, I enjoy reading them. The detail in the stories and the wonderful characters will stick with children long after they have read these books. They are wholesome without being preachy, they are simple yet enchanting, and they provide a window into another time period. No child that loves to read should be without these books. They have truly stood the test of time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2003

    best

    I enjoy them more each day, it's about Ella, Henny, Sarah, charlotte, and Gertie, 5 perfect faces, with character to match. Don't forget to ride the roller coaster at coney is-land behind mama's back! read this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2002

    All about the joy of family and making do

    I remember the All of a Kind Family books fondly from my childhood, and was thrilled to find my son as enamored with the stories as I was. The author truly makes you believe you can taste the hot chick peas, know the pain of a mother having to make do, and the joys of a child sharing secret snacks in bed with her little sister. A wonderful way to introduce a different time and culture to our often jaded children.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2