Customer Reviews for

All over but the Shoutin'

Average Rating 4
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

One of my all-time favorites!

My Dad gave me this book years ago for Christmas when it first came out, saying "I'd never heard of it, but it seemed like it might be a good read." I was working in Bolivia at the time as a Peace Corps volunteer, and was thrilled to have some new reading material.

...
My Dad gave me this book years ago for Christmas when it first came out, saying "I'd never heard of it, but it seemed like it might be a good read." I was working in Bolivia at the time as a Peace Corps volunteer, and was thrilled to have some new reading material.

I was blown away by the writing. The only way I can describe it is by saying that this book is like gourmet food. The way Rick Bragg puts things into words is so fresh and unique, and he described a world I didn't know but instantly felt a part of.

For me, this is one of those books I always return to and enjoy more and more. I'm purposely not sharing what happens in it, because it is such a treat to have the whole thing fresh and unexpected, and I don't want to mar the experience for any new readers. Plus any description I give would come across as deplorably flat. Like trying to describe the beauty of spring to someone who has only experienced winter - there are no proper words to describe the sensory lushness.

I lent this to a fellow volunteer/writer friend - who ultimately went on to become an established well-known newspaper reporter -- and he was equally smitten. "I just can't believe how good this guy is!" he shared. "Man, that's good writing." He went on to lend my book to another friend, who lent it to another. After a while, everyone lost track of where my copy was, it had been lent to so many. So I bought the first of many replacement copies. If you lend it out (which you will) don't expect to get it back.

Equally good is the prequel, Ava's Man.

My reporter friend was lucky enough to meet Rick Bragg once, and I hope to do the same some fine day, just to express to him how much I enjoy his work. (Again, the food metaphor -- if a meal is outstanding, I always seek the cook out.)

Get this! I'm a little jealous of you, reader. You get to read this for the first time. Enjoy every second and linger in the words ...

~Katrina

posted by Katrina_Shalom_Seach on May 18, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

I don't like it

Okay maybe its because Im being forced to read this book, but I cant get past the second chapter. It doesnt entice me at all!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on August 11, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 18, 2010

    One of my all-time favorites!

    My Dad gave me this book years ago for Christmas when it first came out, saying "I'd never heard of it, but it seemed like it might be a good read." I was working in Bolivia at the time as a Peace Corps volunteer, and was thrilled to have some new reading material.

    I was blown away by the writing. The only way I can describe it is by saying that this book is like gourmet food. The way Rick Bragg puts things into words is so fresh and unique, and he described a world I didn't know but instantly felt a part of.

    For me, this is one of those books I always return to and enjoy more and more. I'm purposely not sharing what happens in it, because it is such a treat to have the whole thing fresh and unexpected, and I don't want to mar the experience for any new readers. Plus any description I give would come across as deplorably flat. Like trying to describe the beauty of spring to someone who has only experienced winter - there are no proper words to describe the sensory lushness.

    I lent this to a fellow volunteer/writer friend - who ultimately went on to become an established well-known newspaper reporter -- and he was equally smitten. "I just can't believe how good this guy is!" he shared. "Man, that's good writing." He went on to lend my book to another friend, who lent it to another. After a while, everyone lost track of where my copy was, it had been lent to so many. So I bought the first of many replacement copies. If you lend it out (which you will) don't expect to get it back.

    Equally good is the prequel, Ava's Man.

    My reporter friend was lucky enough to meet Rick Bragg once, and I hope to do the same some fine day, just to express to him how much I enjoy his work. (Again, the food metaphor -- if a meal is outstanding, I always seek the cook out.)

    Get this! I'm a little jealous of you, reader. You get to read this for the first time. Enjoy every second and linger in the words ...

    ~Katrina

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    Gifted Writer

    Rick Bragg is a just wonderfully gifted writer. Isn't it just great that he has used his wonderful gift! I just happen to be the age of his mother, a mother myself,a Yankee, and am going to give this book to a Southern Woman who could just use a good book about now! I would think that there are a lot of us out here who can identify with that special woman who is his momma!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2008

    Must read for Southerns and everyone else, too

    I found myself laughing or crying throughout reading this book. Why? Because it brings to life so many of my friends and relatives here in the South over the years. We all know a Mark. Many of us have a relative who just never wore those blamed dentures. (That would include my own father-in-law.) This could have been their story. And the narrator is dead-on when he does the voice of Rick Bragg's mother - she (he) sounds just like the older women in our family. I would recommend this book to all Southerners.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    I don't like it

    Okay maybe its because Im being forced to read this book, but I cant get past the second chapter. It doesnt entice me at all!!!!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2002

    Absolutely Fabulous

    I do not even know where to begin...From the minute that I started reading this book, I could not put it down. It came with me everywhere - work, the subway, a walk to the supermarket. Bragg was able to capture his experiences from birth to adulthood in such an eloquent manner. He allows the reader to truly feel and understand the path that his life has taken. My words do not even begin to credit Bragg with the appropriate praise that his work is due.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2010

    Touching and Inspirational

    THis is just a wonderful Mother's Day gift. It is truly inspirational and shows how a mother will do whatever it takes to provide for her children under unimaginable circumstances. Inspiratinal as she just never gave up and never complained. Rick Brag is a great writer I can not get enought of his books. This is just a great book. If you loved To Kill A Mockingbird you will love this also.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2008

    a wonderful read

    I would recommend this book to anyone. I chose this book because some of the thing reminded me of stories my grandmother used to tell me when I was a little girl. And because I enjoy a good memior. This is a very interesting story of how a boy came from the poor skirts of town and was determind to make it and to stay out. Some one that had felt his whole life that he wasn't good enough for society. He not only proved himself wrong he proved everyone else wrong also. He will make it no matter what he ha to do. He will be somebody- he is somebody.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2008

    On Line Book Review of All Over but the Shoutin

    I enjoyed reading All Over but the Shoutin because it was educatioinal. I learned a lot about the South and southern living. The impact this has on society today and in the past is that one can overcome obstacles in life if the effort is applied.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 27, 2005

    Nathan Loveday, student at PSTCC

    This is a great story from a great author. He took us to his home town and told us of his trials and tribulations and life as a young man and up until the time he wrote this book. He grew up in a poor family with and alcoholic father who was never around and bragg's mother would have to raise bragg and his brother's by herself. They had a rough life but they perservered through hard times and everything turned out pretty good. Bragg went on to become a writer for several newspapers and also an author as well. His brother's turned out decent except for his youngest brother Mark who turned out just like his dad. Sam got a good job and got married and took care of his family.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2014

    Loved reading this.

    Bragg writes with such honesty at times funny and others almost heartbreaking. I enjoyed every word. Excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Heartfelt family portrait

    Wonderful book, kept me and my fellow book club readers totally engaged. Rick Bragg writes in a conversational tone that is true to the various dialects of the real characters without caricaturing them. His story is sometimes funny, sometimes harrowing, always honest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    I did not find Rick Bragg to be the author others did, and defin

    I did not find Rick Bragg to be the author others did, and definitely do not believe this is a book for all southerners. I am tired of the typecast way that we southerners are portrayed, and just because his family was portrayed as such, this should NOT be THE book for all southerners. Get over yourself, Mr. Bragg - you aren't the writer you think you are. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2013

    Great book

    It really captures poverty and southern living

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Wonderful read.

    As a native Alabamian, I would recomend this to anyone who is a fan of southern heritage and/or memoirs in general.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2013

    Pitamom4@aol.com

    Not my usual read, but did enjoy.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2013

    southern family history

    I enjoy Bragg's writing style. It was interesting to learn about his family history in conjunction with the history of the South at that time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Love love love!!!!

    What makes this book great is Bragg's ability to make you feel his feelings, be there with him, see what he saw. This piece really moved me. I left the book sad about his opinions on God but understand where he is coming from. Great informaive read. Best memoir yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2012

    A newsman's life

    I rarely do biographies, so this was not something I would normally read, or even know about, except for a book club meeting. It's about a man who was born "poor white trash", to a loving, but whipped Mom and an alcoholic Dad fighting Korean War demons. It's about his life growing up and into a Pulitzer Prize-winning newspaper man. It talks about some of his stories, most of which are on, what he called "the dark side". It has it's laugh-out-loud parts, and the cry-out-loud parts, and the descriptions of Haiti are unbelievable. I think I recommend this, but it's not for everyone, especially those who are sensitive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    GREAT READ!!!

    Best book I have read in a long time, I enjoyed the style of storytelling and the rich descriptions of places, people, and experiences.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    Great read

    Good story about a real situation and the sacrificies of a mother

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4