Customer Reviews for

All the Broken Pieces

Average Rating 4.5
( 13 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 21, 2012

    All the broken pieces

    This is about a young by named Matt who is Vietnamese and has to deal with people at school and on his baseball team being mean about him being mean. While the war is still raging and memories of bombings and other traumas are fresh. Matt has to deal with the difficulties that many veterans face when returning home at a time when post traumatic stress disorder wasn't yet recognized.

    What I liked about this book is that it is a novel in verse. So it is kind of a fast read. Also I like this book because it makes you not want to but the book down so you just want to keep reading it.

    I recommend this book to people in either 7th grade or 8th grade there are not any like super hard words that kids in that grade wouldn't understand.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    Compelling ang gripping story. Though a quick read, the text is

    Compelling ang gripping story. Though a quick read, the text is thick with ideas that are rich in history and relevant today. The issues addressed in the story can lead to deep and important discussions and I plan on using this book in my classroom.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Sally Kruger aka "Readingjunky" for TeensReadToo.com

    Matt Pin was airlifted from Vietnam at the age of 10 and adopted by an American family. He is now in seventh grade and has adjusted well to his new family. He remembers the early adoption classes and meetings when he was learning to speak English, and he's glad they helped him remember the customs and traditions of his culture. His American parents now have a biological son, but Matt has always felt loved and appreciated.

    The downside is that Matt also remembers Vietnam. He hasn't forgotten the sounds, the smells, and the horrors of war. He knows his father was an American soldier, but he's not sure why he left his mother behind. Should he want to find this missing father or just put it all in the past? He knows his mother told him she loved him and that was why she sent him away, but how do you give up someone you love?

    What haunts him the most is the younger brother he left behind. Matt can't find the words to share the tragic story that separated him from the toddler. His loving American parents hope time will heal the many wounds created by the awfulness of war. Their encouragement, along with that of another Vietnam vet, the game of baseball, and Matt's interest in music, work together to start the healing process.

    ALL THE BROKEN PIECES is the first novel for author Ann E. Burg. Written in verse, the spare language brings focus to the raw emotions felt by all the characters. Burg examines the effects of war from many vantage points as she involves her readers in this turbulent time.

    Even readers without a connection to this controversial war will come away with an understanding of the widespread damage done when war is chosen over peace.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2009

    Amazing.

    One of the best new books I've read this year. Quick read, but stays with you. Ann Burg's ability to communicate such a powerful message in so few words using free verse poetry is amazing. A great book for the classroom. I'd also recommend this book for book clubs (kids and adults) that want a quick read with lots of depth and complexity.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    All the broken pieces is a book about a 12 year old Vietnamese k

    All the broken pieces is a book about a 12 year old Vietnamese kid who is living in american with his adoptive parents after the war in his home country went down, and he can not stop wondering why his Vietnamese mother gave him away for adoption when he was 10, what happened to the little brother she kept with her, why his American father never returned for them, and when his American parents will send him back. he is sent to school and he gets bullied because he is Vietnamese, he tries out for the baseball team and he makes it. A boy on his baseball team hates him because his own brother was killed in in the conflict in Vietnam. His piano teacher also served as a soldier in Vietnam and won't talk about it. Then a trip to a veteran's group shows him more sides of the war than he knew before, and a new coach forces his teammates to work together. In one summer, Matt lives through a painful season and finally finds safety and the understanding that loving his new family doesn't mean forgetting his first family.

    what i really kind of liked about this book was that it was a quick read and along with that a really good book not the best book that i have read but its is pretty close, when i was reading this book i couldn't put it down because it was that good. If i were to rate this book from a scale of one to ten ten being the best i would give it a 7 or an 8.

    if i were to recommend this book to anyone i would most likely recommend it to people from the age of 12 and up because it is a little more advanced book and it has lots of vocabulary that people younger than the age of 12 would not get or understand, over all this is a really good book so read it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Wonderful Book

    I loved this book. The message of acceptance, tolerance and hope, set during the aftermath of Vietnam, was quite moving. Matt is a compelling main character, a Vietnamese adoptee struggling to adapt and be accepted in America. Ann E. Burg's writing is great. The free verse is wonderful! Buy this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2009

    Story of a Vietnames boy air-lifted out of Vietnam with departing soldiers in his new life with a wonderful American adoptive family. It rings true as he does what children do, trying to put together the pieces he has to make sense of his life.

    I bought this book because I picked it up while waiting for my granddaughter and realized I would be sobbing in the children's department if I didn't finish it at home. The realization of the back story and the main character's confusion at the beginning was so moving. I later found the book moved to growth and satisfactory resolution through loving and supportive relationships.

    The writing was excellent, quick moving and deeply felt. The young narrator's point of view and understandings felt real as he struggled to understand his two worlds: the Vietnam he left behind with mother and brother and war, and the America that was so different and did not accept either refugees or returning soldiers well.

    This book was in the children's department and seems to be viewed as a children's book. It is entirely appropriate for adult readers as well, perhaps enhanced by our memory of the period. Younger children who read this should do so with a caring adult.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1