Customer Reviews for

All the Colors of Darkness (Inspector Alan Banks Series #18)

Average Rating 4
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted December 3, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    This is an excellent one sitting English police procedural

    The corpse of theatre set designer Mark Hardcastle is found dead hanging in Hindswell Woods near the River Swain by boys playing nearby. With Detective Chief Investigator Alan Banks on leave spending time in London with his girlfriend, Detective Investigator Annie Cabbot leads the on-sight inquiry that looks like a suicide. She goes from there to the deceased¿s home he shares with his significant other Laurence Silbert. There she finds Silbert dead beaten to a bloody mess.<BR/><BR/>Although on the surface the two deaths appear to be a nasty murder-suicide, Annie and Banks, who has returned to investigate, have some doubts about the obvious as Hardcastle had no motive to kill his lover or himself especially at a time he received tremendous accolades for his work on Othello. Increasingly they wonder if the two scenes were set up to make it look like a murder-suicide as they investigate the activities of the two gay lovers in locales that are dangerousfor even cops.<BR/><BR/>This is an excellent one sitting English police procedural, which retains a freshness although it must be the trillionth investigation worked by Banks. The story line is fast-paced as the audience and everyone even Cabbot and Banks believe a murder-suicide is the likely scenario although long time fans will know they can bank on Peter Robinson to do what afterward seems obvious keeping the exciting plot fresh and the reader hooked.<BR/><BR/>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Mustacheluvr

    Good start

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Re:Volted//Twighlight's Minion Chapter One --Reckless

    "Well, well. What do you think?"<p>Kiru shut his eyes, trying to ignore the voice that was dripping, sickly sweet like poisoned honey, from his left. Just listening to that voice could give you a stomach ache. But the unsettling feeling in his stomach now was not a result of the evil voice, but from what he saw on the screen in front of him.<p>He slowly reopened his eyes and saw on the small screen what had happened to Destiny City. Buildings were destroyed, people running everywhere, Heartless having their way with what had once been a magnificent place. And then, like a forsaken lover, ripping up a letter that was once so dear to him, the landscape of Destiny City was torn into a thousand pieces.<p>"Hmm hmm hmm..." the voice laughed. "Isn't it wonderful?" Out of the shadows, a dark and twisted form appeared. It was that of a woman, with a curvy body, and plenty of eyeliner, but the human resemblance stopped there. Her skin was a very, very muurky shade of green, and her dress was as black as night.<p>"Dat's right Malificent!!" Said a loud, goofy voice from Kiru's left. It came from a strange creature, not unlike a pitbull in facial apperance, but it walked as a human would, and was quite fat. He addressed Kiru. "And to think it was all youse who did it!!" He said happily.<p>"Oh shut up, Pete. Leave the poor boy alone." The witch said sharply. Then she turned to Kiru again. "After all, he did just trade his home and friends for power! Mwahahahahaaa!!!" She laughed evily as she exited the room.<p>Kiru banged his head on the desk. Why had he done this? He was too reckless for his own good.<p>((Gargamel here- I kept Kiru's story pretty close to Riku's (his counterpart) in Kingdom hearts. Tell me how you like it!!!))

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Very Highly Recommended !

    The Peter Robinson series of Alan Banks are my favorite British mysteries. I somehow missed this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Must Read!

    Brilliant, quite the best thing that PR has written thus far. Can he better it? Time will tell. Not going to spoil the plot, just go out and buy it you will not be disappointed (unless you dislike brilliant writing and British Detective fiction)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2009

    One of His Best

    Outstanding work by one of the best crime writers working today. (And I've now read all 18 in the Banks series.) Combining the police procedural with the spy novel is no easy thing but Robinson pulls it off effortlessly. Highly recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 15, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Loyalty amongst friends....

    This newest Banks novel lived up to expectations. The story line was great and I hope the new character, Tommy, stays in for future books. Annie is very loyal to Banks as a friend more than former lover and I find that very noble. In the end, Alan Banks is still a dedicated detective, complex, intuitive, flawed yet sensitive. His tenacity to finding out everything, bit by bit, piece by piece is greatly respected by his co-workers and believe it or not, his superiors. Not too crazy about the new love interest, as she a little whinny and self-centered. It does'nt take much too see where her heart lies! You'll do better Inspector Banks and you deserve it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A new wrinkle for a great series

    You probably know the basic plot of "All the Colors of Darkness" from the other reviews, so I won't rehash it. Suffice it to say that Peter Robinson's latest is up to his usual high standards, with an unexpected plot element that makes the book half spy novel and half mystery. It's also one of the growing number of suspense novels (like Lee Child's and Barry Eisler's latest, among others) whose main characters are critical of the current state of Western politics, mainly concerning Iraq and the war on terror. Maybe I'm biased for being such a big Alan Banks fan, but in this book Robinson made all the political commentary fit within the story seamlessly: the viewpoints expressed did not come off as an author preaching, but as real opinions held by a real character. Alan Banks gets deeper and more human in each successive book, with his growing misgivings about his career and the effects it has on his personal life. I think he's just a fascinating hero, and I'm sure I'd read an Alan Banks novel even without a mystery attached. Can't wait for the next installment, especially after this one's startling ending.<BR/>Also recommended: A STRANGER LIES THERE - another great character-driven thriller, it won the Malice Domestic Award for best first mystery.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1