Customer Reviews for

All the King's Men

Average Rating 4
( 67 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A deep read

I read a lot for school and for fun. By far, though, this is the best book I have ever read! This is the story of Willie Stark and Jack Burden. Two, not so different people. Robert Penn Warren is a poet, and at times it seems like All the King's Men is just one long...
I read a lot for school and for fun. By far, though, this is the best book I have ever read! This is the story of Willie Stark and Jack Burden. Two, not so different people. Robert Penn Warren is a poet, and at times it seems like All the King's Men is just one long poem...it is just that beautiful. There is so much to it and not sentance is wasted. Every detail, every description has a purpose. It does however take a mature reader to really appreciate and understand the philosophy and themes behind this master piece. Don't be discouraged though, anyone can enjoy this book and I recomend this book above all others.

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring!

I had to read this for summer reading and I fell asleep every time I picked it up! There was hardly any plot. It consisted mostly of the main character, Jack Burden, thinking to himself or recalling memories of his past. I hope I never have to read it again, b...
I had to read this for summer reading and I fell asleep every time I picked it up! There was hardly any plot. It consisted mostly of the main character, Jack Burden, thinking to himself or recalling memories of his past. I hope I never have to read it again, but maybe I didn't like it just because I'm not into politics. Oh well. At least it was better than the Odyssey

posted by Anonymous on October 13, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2000

    One of the last GOOD books!

    Robert Penn Warren gives the perfect answer to all solipsists and behaviorists who ever lived. Jack learns through Willie Stark, the powerful politician who fought corruption with corruption, that life is not all about 'me'. He sees through many meetings and partings, that we are all a part of something. Great reminder of Faulkner's voice: past, place, community and family; important things we often forget.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2000

    Warren's Truth

    Jack, the main character, sold into many different theories throughout the novel but by the end realized that there isn't just one truth to life. After the death of his friends and family members understands that each one of them lived and survived without sharing the same beliefs.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2014

    The truth is ...

    I didnt really read it so i cant even reccomend this book to anyone. But if i can say one thing it wlould be dont judge a book by its cover meaning givr the book a chance before saying it is boring

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2014

    Fox

    Tell me where your clan is and i will rp a fox, badger or snake there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2014

    Waste of My Time

    This was one of the most tiresome books I've ever read. The author took way too many detours from the main story, so much so that I sometimes forgot what the premise of the book actually was. And the main story was not even that interesting. It included politicians' maneuvering and game plans and unethical actions, and it could have been interesting, but wasn't. The author went into way too much detail about things that didn't matter. It may be a classic and a Pulitzer prize winner, but it was b-o-r-i-n-g!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    Neutral

    I'm stocking up on future reading material in case B&N decides to stop supporting the NOOK. That would be a shame if it happens. I enjoy my NOOK very much.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Great read

    Well written book. The book us very thought provoking.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2014

    Tough read

    Hard to comprehend why this is so great. Too descriptive.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2014

    ?

    Man the reviews on this book date back to 2000

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    BEST BOOK EVER IN THE WORLD!

    I love this book because it was super cool and a awsome reward thos book should get aa super reward!

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    this book was about the same time as elmer gentry

    That had a less than kind view of a church. as one review said it was the start of the less than kind historical fiction however check book with movie ......the elmer gentry movie ended before elmer ended up almost a bishop page counter

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    Do Not Listen To what the World Tells you

    My advice for anyone who reads the political mambo-jumbo within the crests of these pages is `readily think' about what the author was to convey. Who listens to molds of convention anyway? I used to think dishonest brutality is why 'we' Americans left the starved horizons and decrepit walls, which is known as England. To read the book with intelligence about why people resist governmental oppression is to have an insight into why the book was written. Furthermore, do not yield to conventional thinking, abstract what you think truth is, and make it a policy you stand for (truth). Good Day and Remember "Man is the only animal that bushes, or needs to.¿

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 67 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 4