Customer Reviews for

All the King's Men [2006 Movie Tie-In Edition]

Average Rating 4
( 66 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(15)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

A deep read

I read a lot for school and for fun. By far, though, this is the best book I have ever read! This is the story of Willie Stark and Jack Burden. Two, not so different people. Robert Penn Warren is a poet, and at times it seems like All the King's Men is just one long...
I read a lot for school and for fun. By far, though, this is the best book I have ever read! This is the story of Willie Stark and Jack Burden. Two, not so different people. Robert Penn Warren is a poet, and at times it seems like All the King's Men is just one long poem...it is just that beautiful. There is so much to it and not sentance is wasted. Every detail, every description has a purpose. It does however take a mature reader to really appreciate and understand the philosophy and themes behind this master piece. Don't be discouraged though, anyone can enjoy this book and I recomend this book above all others.

posted by Anonymous on April 12, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Boring!

I had to read this for summer reading and I fell asleep every time I picked it up! There was hardly any plot. It consisted mostly of the main character, Jack Burden, thinking to himself or recalling memories of his past. I hope I never have to read it again, b...
I had to read this for summer reading and I fell asleep every time I picked it up! There was hardly any plot. It consisted mostly of the main character, Jack Burden, thinking to himself or recalling memories of his past. I hope I never have to read it again, but maybe I didn't like it just because I'm not into politics. Oh well. At least it was better than the Odyssey

posted by Anonymous on October 13, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2007

    A deep read

    I read a lot for school and for fun. By far, though, this is the best book I have ever read! This is the story of Willie Stark and Jack Burden. Two, not so different people. Robert Penn Warren is a poet, and at times it seems like All the King's Men is just one long poem...it is just that beautiful. There is so much to it and not sentance is wasted. Every detail, every description has a purpose. It does however take a mature reader to really appreciate and understand the philosophy and themes behind this master piece. Don't be discouraged though, anyone can enjoy this book and I recomend this book above all others.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2013

    Excellent Read despite the language used.

    There is a clear purpose in the authors writing tha teaches us all to stay grounded no matter wha hierarchy of power we attain. The main character Willie Starks rises to the furthest mountain before he crashes his victory ship in apathetic waters. Sacriicing his family, friends,and self to the greedy engulfing monster that is himself.

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2006

    The best work of American fiction

    Not only are the characters excellent, but the language is captivating. ATKM contains the best definition of love I have ever read: 'When we get in love we are made all over again...' it begins. This is more a story of Jack Burden's spiritual journal than of Willie Stark's rise to power and corruption. After reading this,you must read Micah's Child, which is about a woman searching for her own Jack Burden. Micah's Child has many quotes from ATKM.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The most brilliant journey I have ever taken!

    I love this book. It has since wrecked my literary life. I can't find any other book as good as this one! It's wonderfully well written and perfect in every way! It can be a tough, long read but it is well worth it. It captivates you. Easily.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2006

    Brilliant

    Not only is the plot of this novel well thought out and captivating, but the style is absolutely amazing. The language is just plain genius. I would recommend this book to anybody, because you do not have to be interested in politics to enjoy it. The characters are so relatable and you can actually- truly- feel for them. So while it does start out slow, work through it because if not you will miss out on one of the greatest books written during Warren's time.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2006

    A classic in subject and prose a tour de force of narration

    Have been meaning to read this for years and finally have, but chose to listen to the audiobook. The prose is beautiful and reminded me of the lyricism of The Prince of Tides by Pat Conroy. I can understand Warren's status as poet laureate. The subject is timeless and the reading of Michael Emerson is perfectly tuned to the era and the region.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    To Brilliant

    Wow. Exactly my experience. READ IT IN TWELFTH GRADE ALSO. Its power never left me. It taught me how and why to appreciate great literature. That year I also read Gatsby, Cry the Beloved Country, Age of Innocence, Tale of Two Cities, and A Death in the Family. Needless to say I was in heaven. I felt like a geek, though. Everyone else in class was moaning and complaining. I just wanted more. Thanks to Mr Barsky for his great choices and engrossing lectures. By the way, the opening section/introduction to A Death in the Family is one of the most amazingly beautiful pieces of prose.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2000

    The real great american novel

    This is the best novel that I have read to date. It does what I feel that a novel should truly do, which is tell a story and through the story teach something. The story is truly fascinating. There is no emotion left untouched. It has comedy, drama, romance, suspense, action, politics, history and mystery. It also great a great cast of characters, great dialogue and an excellent setting. It is the only book to win the Pulitzer prize for fiction and have it's adaptation win best picture at the oscars. I was truly sad to finish this book, because I did not know if I would ever read one of it's caliber again

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿A classic. Pulitzer Prize winner. Modern Library¿s 36th greates

    “A classic. Pulitzer Prize winner. Modern Library’s 36th greatest novel of the 20th Century. The fictional rise of governor Willie Stark and the self-discovery of Jack Burden. Written in the classic voice of a true Southern writer. Prose reads like poetry.” – Clay Stafford, author and founder of Killer Nashville

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    Complex, but Incredibly intelligent

    All the King's Men, by Robert Penn Warren details the rise and fall of Willie Stark as seen through the eyes of Jack Burden. The book also details Jack's history research, as well as his attempts to hide a destructive family secret. It is very philosophical, and Robert Penn Warren uses his ideas of life, the universe, and existence to make the book interesting. However, I found it very complicated as a result.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    The greatest work of Robert Penn Warren

    In Robert Penn Warren¿s All the King¿s Men, Warren traces the life and experiences of Louisiana Populist, Huey Long, rewritten as Willie Stark. The book traces his rise and fall during the 1930¿s. All the King¿s Men is a remarkably well-written novel with extraordinary characters and an imaginative setting, a remarkable plot, and easy-to-make connections for any reader. Written in chapter format, All the King¿s Men is a 610 page fiction novel suitable for ages 13 and up.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    Intellectual Ambrosia

    Some people criticize this man for his '2 page descriptions of town life' well maybe he had a reason? This man was a literary genius, maybe he knew what he was doing? And for you, person who believes the above, maybe it was a technique to show hey, in the town life is slow, and it might take 2 pages to summarize. The syntax and the diction lull you, it has an intended effect. This book is amazing, every single literary device imaginable is present in a cohesive, stimulating plotline. To the Yale student, its not a political novel, dig deeper, did you cvompletely ignore Jack Burden's quest. I question Yale's decision. To all high schoolers, read this book, first time through you WILL NOT enjouy, but you will learn to love it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2004

    Boring!

    I had to read this for summer reading and I fell asleep every time I picked it up! There was hardly any plot. It consisted mostly of the main character, Jack Burden, thinking to himself or recalling memories of his past. I hope I never have to read it again, but maybe I didn't like it just because I'm not into politics. Oh well. At least it was better than the Odyssey

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2002

    Mesmerizing Writing, Wonderful Reading

    To put it simply, it is impossible to understand American politics without having read All the King's Men. The story may be fictional, the themes and conflicts are real. For good and ill, this really is what part of American politics is about, the wonderful clash of trying to accomplish great things while being tempted by the dark side. The writing is mesmerizing; the story told in a unique way that makes it impossible to put this book down once you start reading. A masterpiece, pure and simple.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 1, 2000

    Genius

    Warren successfully takes the complex elements of early twentieth century America and creates a work that accurates potrays the disillusionment and breakdown American politics suffered during the deprerssion years. Willie Stark's amibition, blindness and sincere compassion makes for very realisitic character and not simply a caricature of the idealistic statesmen or corrupt politician. For any historian or scholar seeking to understand the mentality of 1930s American politics needs to read this books. Its success emphasizes not only importance but also its impact on the very society Warren attempted to portray.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2009

    A must in anyone's library!

    A classic that's well worth reading. Truly real characters, in a very realistic story.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2004

    Thinking Before You Act

    This book was a joy to read.While reading this book I couldn't put it down. There were so many things going on.Things were happening one after the ohter.It has also taught me so many lesson to take with me on my life journey. It has taught me how to think for my self and how to take the worst things that could happen and turn them into the best things that could happen. Everyone has their time to shine. Patience in this sotry is very rare. I would reccommand anyone to read this book. I think that everyone could learn something from it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2004

    A Good Book To Read

    I had lots of fun reading this book. At first I though I would get stuck because the book is so long, but the events happen right after another. When their is so much going on at the same time it makes the book better. Robert Warren is a very good author hope to read another book by Warren.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2003

    Best novel I've read since Dostoevsky's 'The Brothers Karamazov'

    I was most taken with Jack Burden's character and world, and by Robert Penn Warren's style. I plan to read it again someday, it was that good. This is not a political book, people, it's just that the plot involves politics. Read it for yourself to discover RPW's marvellous diction, characters, and tone.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2001

    AMAZING.

    I am a 17 year old girl and was forced to read this book for school. i have just finished it and have been left deeply affected. i don't know specific literary terms, or how to criticize it effectively, but i am giving you my emotions, which are, 'jesus christ.' R.P. Warren can write and brillantly. i recommend it a thousand times, even if it does take some will power in the beginning.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 66 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4