Customer Reviews for

All the Names

Average Rating 4
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

One word....................amazing

There are not enough stars in the universe to give this book its proper rating........

posted by Anonymous on November 11, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Snoozer

I had to force myself through this book, it was as boring as can be and quite frankly I couldn't focus on it and had no clue what the actual plot was.

posted by deedee730 on February 1, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2002

    One word....................amazing

    There are not enough stars in the universe to give this book its proper rating........

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2002

    great read!

    i have been a fan of saramago since blindness and find that, once again, he has not let the reader down. in his lyrical writing style, he tells the story of senhor jose (perhaps, he is speaking of himself?) a lonely and somewhat pathetic man who embarks upon, probably the biggest adventure of his life. it is a story of love, of death, of desire, or rebellion, of coming to terms with all of these things. i really loved it and recommend it to anyone. it's not that big, but it's very deep.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Saramago's Second Best

    My second favorite Saramago novel, after BLINDNESS. This one is more limited in scope, but powerfully moving all the same.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2003

    superb!

    I'm lucky I read him in portuguese,but this english translation is realy excellent.Parabens!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2003

    a pinnacle of the written word

    Having read Saramago's other masterpiece, Blindness, I felt compelled to read other works of his. This novel did not disappoint me in the least. The beginning wets the brain with a taste of Kafka's The Trial but later grows into something much it's own, stunning with the intricate eccentricties of one man consumed by a life and by the concept of death. A thought provoking story that is enertaining and intriguing.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2002

    >a brilliant translation-tor<

    Saramango is an excelent writer (simply awsome), I wish nothing else so deeply as to learn portuguise and read this book in Its original form. I read the version in Spanish and must say I was not impressed. This woman translator is the best I have ever read. And not taking to much credit from Saramango, I wish to congratulate Ms. Jull Costa for he OUTSTANDING, SHORT OF INCREDIBLE TRANSLATION OF THIS MASTERPEICE. THANK YOU !!! By the way, for all you Saramango adicts, he just published his second book after winning the Nobel prize. Saddly It's not translated yet, I hope Jull does the job, please? please? please? cya guys latter,

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2001

    a beautiful and poetic story

    The book, 'All the Names' is a beautiful and poetic story of Senhor Jose and his noble quest to find out more about a mysterious woman. Working in the Central Registry, where the cards of the living and dead are kept, Jose encounters by chance the card of a woman whom from then on he decides to learn more about. The book itself is alluring. It's not in your standard fiction format. Dialogue is at a minimum and one is able to peer deeply inside the mind of Jose and the ways he thinks. However different the format is, it has twice the impact. It's a must buy and a must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1