Customer Reviews for

All the Presidents' Children: Triumph and Tragedy in the Lives of America's First Families

Average Rating 5
( 22 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2003

    Excellent Read!

    Truly a captivating read. I plan to purchase additional copies and send them as gifts. Congratulations Mr. Wead, you offered an honest and educational experience!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 8, 2003

    Classic Wead.

    I have been following Wead's books & speaches for over 25 years. This is classic Wead. He reaches back into history and makes it relevant to us today. He captures the 'moral of the story' and serves it to us, 'Wead style.' He's done it again!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2003

    Longevity

    Doug Wead's book, ALL THE PRESIDENTS' CHILDREN, will be an excellent resource to educate future generations about the personal lifes of our presidents and their families. Doug illustrates, in a profound way, the humanism of these families through their vulnerabilities, weaknesses and above all their strengths. Thank you Doug! Pam, Troy MI

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2003

    A great book to study in school!

    This is a must read and a keeper. I would have loved to have had this book in school. What an amazing trip thru our history. The presidential families came alive with the pressures and challenges that they have had to deal with. It holds your interest all the way to the end. You feel like you are actually there experiencing everything right along with them. This book is not just for history buffs. It has something for everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    Outstanding Book!

    This book is informative and very interesting. Once you start reading, you will not want to stop. I find the conclusions well thought out and the whole book will give you a fresh perspective on our first families.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    A great read

    I had been privileged to hear Mr. Wead speak before. I did not know what an insightful and meticulous writer he was, however. This book, carefully researched and well written, gave me hours of enjoyment and information in the dynamics of father/mother/child relations in the families of the highest political achievers in our nations history. This is a must read for both serious and casual followers of the history of our nation.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2003

    Deepens Understanding of Presidents and U.S. History

    The value of this book is that it covers new territory. No matter what you have read and studied about American History or the American Presidents, there will be many surprises here. The perspective alone brings out many things and there is new information here from various presidential letters; but the greatest contribution comes from connecting the dots, putting all of these stories back to back, clearly demonstrating trends. I was riveted by Lincoln. I had thought we had pretty well exhausted him but seeing his children in light of other presidential children made him fully dimensional in a way I had never seen before. This book is fasincating!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    This book is outstanding

    How reassuring to know, as this thoroughly unpretentious, candid account of the lives of the presidents' children lets us see, that the great and powerful are not immune to the temptations and the family griefs that the rest of us face. The best thing about this delicious volume is that unlike so much pompous history, this book is written extremely well without any self-indulgent intellectualese. For anyone who wishes that more insightful American history were available without so much rhetorical posturing, this book is a cool breeze in a domain filled with far too much hot air. I gave a copy of this book to my father in-law and would recommend it as a gift for anyone who plays a parent's or mentor's role in the giver's life. It is a marvelous way to show appreciation to anyone who has avoided the mistakes that many of our presidents and first ladies made while raising their families in that pressure cooker, the White House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2003

    The family names we all know; the idividuals we don't

    Having an interest in US history, but by no means an authority, I casually bought Wead's book. After starting to read it, I couldn't put it down. I read it from cover to cover in two sittings. Previously, I had never thought about the children of presidents and don't know of another author who has written on the subject. Wead writes so clearly -- as great storytellers always do -- that I felt like I was there with the children. I celebrated with some, felt sorry for others and laughed throughout the book. A facinating look into the famous families whose names we all know, but whose members we have never heard of. Enjoyable, fascinating reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2003

    A Power- Packed Book of the US Genealogy.

    It was designed to be fun to read and to indulge the reader. No other book has been too specific in delineate the abstract of this hiding topic. It is part of our structured history!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    Excellent Reading

    Wead has done an outstanding job following the lives of the the president's children. I found the book an excellent and informative read. I would definately recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2003

    enjoyable

    Enjoyed learning more of the history and mysteries surrounding the presidents and their children especially being an immigrant here where I never knew much of this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 20, 2003

    A Remarkable Look at History

    This must be the one book that has been written that covers the entire history of the leaders of our country in such a unique and comprehensive way. It is not unusual to read the history of one President, but to see the human side of so many great leaders in one document is astounding. It is hard to imagine what it took to accumulate all the research necessary to compile the information for this book. It is such an insightful look at the enormous demands of leading a nation and a family at one time, and in some cases, the toll that it took on the latter. You will find in this book, details of history that perhaps have never been written about in this way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2003

    The definitive work on the subject

    This is the definitive book on the subject and full of extraordinary stories. I will never see the presidents the same way again. I was impressd by the source notes, well over a thousand and found myself spending days buried in them even after reading the book. Robert Todd Lincoln was a favorite and Wead's treatment of Alice Roosevelt is unforgetable and haunting. This really gets you thinking about George W. Bush who is, after all, a president's kid himself.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2003

    Fascinating Looks at Fishbowl Kids

    Doug Wead has always been a favorite storyteller of mine, but in his new book, he has outdone himself. His sketches of the presidential children brought them alive for me, and it was gratifying to learn new information about some presidential kids who had gotten a pretty bad rap in the past (see Margaret Wilson). Wead focuses on lessons learned (see Amy Carter, Michael Reagan, and Patti Davis.) There were stories of strength and invaluable service to our country (see Charlie Taft and John Eisenhower)and iron will (see Margaret Truman). I also liked the way he wrote about the White House weddings, focusing not on sappy gowns and cakes, but on the fascinating mysteries that surrounded many of them. This book is a must read for history buffs and anyone in search of a new perspective on life in the White House.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1