Customer Reviews for

All the President's Men

Average Rating 4
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Intriguing! So interesting, it kept me on the edge of my seat. T

Intriguing! So interesting, it kept me on the edge of my seat. The story line is incredible, starting with just a minor break-in, that later lead to scandal Nixon started against the Democratic party. I also loved the way it was written, with intimate detail and descrip...
Intriguing! So interesting, it kept me on the edge of my seat. The story line is incredible, starting with just a minor break-in, that later lead to scandal Nixon started against the Democratic party. I also loved the way it was written, with intimate detail and description. The reason why I'm only rating it four stars though, is because new people were constantly being introduced, and often they'd only appear once. Minus one star for the confusion, but in the end it all comes together. I find it amazing how this duo of reporters kept on this story for so long until piece by piece they solved the puzzle. I also would often hear about Watergate and never knew what it was, and I'm glad I now know! It is also played a big role in my decision to try out journalism and see what it's like. Also saw the movie, and it certainly lived up to its standards - and cleared things up a bit! I would recommend this to anyone who likes a good mystery or likes journalism!

posted by Anonymous on September 6, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

reccomended, but hard to stay with

i also chose to read all the president's men because of a school book report. i found it very hard to stay with, especially since i was reading it little bits at a time. it took some time to understand, but in the end, i had it figured out. if you enjoy the background ...
i also chose to read all the president's men because of a school book report. i found it very hard to stay with, especially since i was reading it little bits at a time. it took some time to understand, but in the end, i had it figured out. if you enjoy the background of historical events, this book is for you. it reviews two writer's views on the Watergate trials, and their first-hand look into what the journalism world thought of the Watergate trials.i strongly reccomend this book if you enjoy suspense and truth.

posted by Anonymous on January 18, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Intriguing! So interesting, it kept me on the edge of my seat. T

    Intriguing! So interesting, it kept me on the edge of my seat. The story line is incredible, starting with just a minor break-in, that later lead to scandal Nixon started against the Democratic party. I also loved the way it was written, with intimate detail and description. The reason why I'm only rating it four stars though, is because new people were constantly being introduced, and often they'd only appear once. Minus one star for the confusion, but in the end it all comes together. I find it amazing how this duo of reporters kept on this story for so long until piece by piece they solved the puzzle. I also would often hear about Watergate and never knew what it was, and I'm glad I now know! It is also played a big role in my decision to try out journalism and see what it's like. Also saw the movie, and it certainly lived up to its standards - and cleared things up a bit! I would recommend this to anyone who likes a good mystery or likes journalism!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2011

    Good for journos

    A good read for any reporter.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2010

    The complicated, but worthy novel

    The presidents men is primarily about the Watergate scandal. Two 'Washington Post' reporters, Carl Bernstein, and Bob Woodward went through arduous months of investigation, and blew the story out of the water and into the public. This story is not full of themes seeing as it is about investigation, and a never ending chain of questions.One of the things about this book i actually enjoyed, was how attentive the two reporters were. They used their sharp minds to investigate, and plow through deep wells of information. I did not like the fact that it seems there were two new characters every 10 pages. The amount of people connected with the scandal was very large and made the story a lot more complicated. However, this book is my recommendation to some one looking to get the facts and storyline of the Watergate scandal. I haven't read any of the author's other works, therefor i have no other recommendations. I give this real-life detective story a "4 1/2 Stars" rating due to the intellectual capacity one needs to read it, and the challenge of full comprehension.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 13, 2010

    A Remarkable Story of one of America's Biggest Lies

    Through out The President's Men, Carl Bernstein and Bob Woodward show an interesting and intriguing look on how they cracked the Nixon scandal wide open. The book starts out on June 17th, 1972 when the burglaries at Watergate/ The National Democratic headquarters happened. Once one of the burglars confessed to being a former CIA security consultant, Woodward and Bernstein knew that something was different about this case. As the case unfolded in front of theses two amazing detectives, a clear path leads to President Nixon and they lay their jobs on the line so then the public can know the truth about the scandal.
    I highly recommend this book to anyone who is at all interested in the Nixon and Watergate scandal. This book goes in depth about their investigation and how they cracked the case wide open. Although it is a little confusing at first and it may seem to drag on in the first few chapters, the read and the confusion is worth it. This book is the perfect example of how government can be corrupt and how the American people are always able to rise to the occasion and uncover the truth.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2010

    An Intellectually Simulating Piece Of Work About The True Story Of Watergate

    For anyone wanting to really know what Watergate was all about, this is a must read. Bernstein and Woodward credibly write and retell a true story that is remarkable unbiased. When was the last time you truly could trust reporters with their stories, sources, and words? The reporters make it clear throughout the entire book that they are about finding the truth and the story, not about promoting any political party or campaign, specifically McGovern who tried to use the reporters to his campaigns advantaged, but was slapped down by them in an angry call explaining they are not part of the McGovern campaign. From the early hours after the break-in up to Nixon's final state of the union, Bernstein and Woodward remake their remarkable detective journey. Their ability to contact numerous sources under enormous pressure to speak the truth and have enough information to write story after storing on Watergate to the extent that it brought down the Nixon Presidency, is astonishing and worthy of a read. This book is clearly written for those who care about the subject and can use critical thinking. If you are looking for a quick, thoughtless read, this is not your book. All The President's Men requires critical thinking and a good memory that can map out the year of Watergate. If you don't already annotate your books, I suggest you do for this one as you will most likely have to flip back through the pages and to the "Cast of Characters" to connect and analysis pieces of information. The entire book is full of thrilling stories, conversations and events that never before was heard of or seen in the public's eye. The reporters risked their lives and the entire Washington Post to uncover the cover-up and on their quest, uncovered more espionage and scandals than one could imagine. It seems almost unrealistic a Presidential campaign team could get away for so much dirt for so long without a word breathed about it. Had Woodward and Bernstein not took on the story, our entire nation would surely be drastically different. There is a unique writing style involved with this non-fiction book that is often not seen. Woodward and Bernstein literally get to the point, use the details that matter and leave out anything that is useless and still they have a 350 page book packed with information. One often confusion part of the novel is trying to remember anonymous sources without confusing them. They are often mentioned and contribute much to the story, but the minor sources that are not given a title like "Deep Throat" or "The Book-keeper" can be often confused with one another. Overall, the entire book is a thrilling and simulating mystery that gives you a front row seat to Watergate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2010

    A Great, Entertaining, Non-Fiction Book About an Important Point in American History

    I thought the book was highly entertaining, and I came away with a much better understanding of not only Watergate, but of journalism and investigative reporting. The details are incredible, and it was fascinating to read the development of the public knowledge of Watergate and what was going on behind closed doors at the White House. I would recommend the book to anyone interested in the topic, or in investigative reporting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2007

    Worth Reading

    This book is worth reading although it is a bit jumpy at times and sometimes hard to follow.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2004

    Watergate

    If I could, I would give this book 4 1/2 stars. It is absolutely worth reading to gain a perspective on Nixon and Watergate, a very important period of American history. My only knock on the book is that I wish it hadn't ended as quickly and open-ended as it did. Towards the end, it almost seemed like the writers were trying to meet a deadline and hurried through some of the most important material such as the tapes and their impact. I also didn't like how the book was written so as to put Woodward and Bernstein in the 3rd person, although I think that was done so that it wouldn't seem like a monotone narrative. All that being said, this is good book to read about Nixon and Watergate.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 21, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1