Customer Reviews for

All the Pretty Horses (Border Trilogy Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 178 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(66)

4 Star

(63)

3 Star

(24)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

To the abyss and back

This book will reshape your soul. I don't think it's posssible to find another author who can capture the most isolated moment a human soul can bear and give it beauty in a way that releases you. This passage alone is worth the price of the book - 'He slep...
This book will reshape your soul. I don't think it's posssible to find another author who can capture the most isolated moment a human soul can bear and give it beauty in a way that releases you. This passage alone is worth the price of the book - 'He slept that night in a field far from any town. He built no fire. He lay listening to the horse crop the grass at his stakerope and he listened to the wind in the emptiness and watched stars trace the arc of the hemisphere and die in the darkness at the edge of the world and as he lay there the agony in his heart was like a stake. He imagined the pain of the world to be like some formless parasitic being seeking out the warmth of human souls wherein to incubate and he thought he knew what made one liable to its visitations. What he had not known was that it was mindless and so had no way to know the limits of those souls and what he feared was that there might be no limits.'

posted by Anonymous on February 4, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Whatever

Lost me from the beginning. Waaay to much rambling. Wont be reading that one twice

posted by 16847589 on September 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    It's Okay

    This novel is a pretty good plot, but the lack of punctuation and slowly progressing story make it difficult to get through at times. The themes and charactization of the book rely on the main charater, John Grady Cole, adventuring into the dying wild west to live out his dream of living off the land in a life full of horses after growing up in the modernizing of Texas. Throughout the novel the image Cole once had of being a cowboy is wreaked when he faces the reality of social constraits and difficulties presented in the time. Additionally, the book as some comic relief, but at times can be rather violent and saddening.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    My Review For Cormac McCarthy's All the Pretty Horses

    Cormac McCarthy's All the Pretty Horses, first of his Border Trilogy, tells the 1948 coming of age story of the protagonist, sixteen year-old John Grady Cole. After his grandfather passes away, his actress mother sells their west Texas ranch and Cole quickly finds himself as the first line in the family without the comfort of working the family ranch. Fleeing on horseback to Mexico to find work with his close friend Lacey Rawlins, they soon meet up with young Jimmy Blevins as the cross the Rio Grande, who proves to be both a comical and a tragic character throughout the story.

    As they journey through the foreign, unforgiving terrain of Northern Mexico, Blevins becomes separated from the trio and the two friends encounter fierce storms, horse chases, and the unfamiliar lifestyle that comes with the territory before they are hired as vaqueros, or cowboys, on a vast ranching estate. Horses, forbidden love, a new culture, and uneasy locals all become part of the norm for Cole, who ultimately realizes that his Mexican expedition was a riveting experience that he could have never imagined.

    A tale of a boy and his relationship with man, horse, and mother nature, McCarthy's novel describes the infusion of the untamed Mexican terrain with the antiquated culture of the American cowboy. Marked by McCarthy's reduced amount of punctuation, it is complete with drama, loss, and ultimately redemption in this story about the West and Mexico.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    A little drawn out, but likeable. Characters just a little to br

    A little drawn out, but likeable. Characters just a little to broadly drawn, some of the situations just to remarkable. More of a fantasy that a true Western.My top five - True Grit
    The Shootist The Trail, Shane, The Searchers

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    Interesting Read

    I found this book interesting but at points hard to follow. I appreciated that different writing style that was used in this book. It made some parts of the story very touching, but at other points I felt kind of lost.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "It's Aight"

    McCarthy's unique and pleasing style of writing makes an otherwise anti-climactic tale an easy read. Contrary to some of the other reviewers, I found both the quantity and the quality of the dialogue to be appropriate for the characters and the era. I did not, however, connect with the characters or find myself emotionally committed to the plot. Nonetheless, it was enjoyable read, with its share of humor and tragedy, and I most appreciated the opportunity to test my spanish-reading skills.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    A minority report.

    I have read McCarthy compared to Faulkner. Maybe a passage here and there. Overall, he's more like Faulkner divided by 10. This book, especially the last 50-75 pages, is a good read, but I could not buy the 16-year old from somewhere in Texas who plays chess, billards, can discuss the blood lines of famous horses, and be ostensibly interested in the Auntie's long diatribe. I did not find John Grady a believable protagonist, just a convenient one.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    Sixteen year-old, John Cole, leaves home with a friend to wander. The author gives colorful descriptions of scenery as John rides across the Texas plains to Mexico. John falls in love with a horse owner's daughter whom he works for, but her aunt disapproves and the two part. There is no plot. Life is luck and events are random. Trish New, author of The Thrill of Hope, South State Street Journal, and Memory Flatlined.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2005

    I'll stop here for Cormac McCarthy

    The story and characters were OK but the writing style for me was tedious. The absence of quotes was distracting and I simply skipped over the passages in Spanish. If the author wants to insert Spanish that's fine it fits the story but provide some way for the non-spanish speaking reader to follow ... maybe an addendum at the back of the book. I'm not about to read a book while consulting a Spanish-English dictionary to get through the story. Luckily I borrowed this title from the library and didn't buy it. I won't be trying anymore books by Mr. McCarthy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 17, 2001

    I LOVED THE BOOK, BUT THE ENDING WAS RATHER DISSAPOINTING 4 ME.

    WHILE GRADY HAD GONE THROUGH ALL THESE ADVENTURES OF ACTION AND ROMANCE, IT ALL BUILT UP SUSPENSION.Unfortunatly , in the end it just bombed, loosing all its wonder and antisipation.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2001

    What's up with the punctuation

    I haven't finished this book yet, though I'm finding it extremly difficult to read! Why.....simply because there is no quotation marks. The boy and he, could refer to any male character! But so far the actual plot seems quite intresting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 24 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2