Customer Reviews for

All the Summer Girls

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

30 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

All the Summer Girls: A Novel by Meg Donohue This book follow

All the Summer Girls: A Novel by Meg Donohue
This book follows the three women-they are best friends.
NY: Vanessa and Drew have a daughter Lucy and she gave up on the gallery job to raise the baby.
Philly: Kate is in and her husband to be-is also a lawyer but he brea...
All the Summer Girls: A Novel by Meg Donohue
This book follows the three women-they are best friends.
NY: Vanessa and Drew have a daughter Lucy and she gave up on the gallery job to raise the baby.
Philly: Kate is in and her husband to be-is also a lawyer but he breaks up with her the night she discovers she's pregnant.
CA: Dani worked in the bookstore and writes her novel at night while sharing the apartment with 2 other females. The book is about Kate's twin brother who died while they were all summering on the island 8 years prior..
Rather than going to Las Vegas for the bachelorette party they will go to Avalon where they always summered. It's been 8 years since Colin's death and it seems each of them feels a bit responsible for his death.
We learn more as their story continues-the fear they each hold and wanting to be free of their guilt by telling others their held secret...
Love hearing about the travel, each of their cities where they live and of the Jersey shore as I've yet to travel there myself. Such detailed descriptions.

I received this book from Edelweiss by William Morrow Paperbacks and Harper Collins Publishers in return for an honest review.

posted by jbarr5 on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

2.5 stars just okay

I really wanted to love this book but it never really grabbed my attention fully. I found it a bit boring and predictable. For a good read about summer friends, try Judy Blume's SUMMER SISTERS?

posted by luvschicklit on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    All the Summer Girls: A Novel by Meg Donohue This book follow

    All the Summer Girls: A Novel by Meg Donohue
    This book follows the three women-they are best friends.
    NY: Vanessa and Drew have a daughter Lucy and she gave up on the gallery job to raise the baby.
    Philly: Kate is in and her husband to be-is also a lawyer but he breaks up with her the night she discovers she's pregnant.
    CA: Dani worked in the bookstore and writes her novel at night while sharing the apartment with 2 other females. The book is about Kate's twin brother who died while they were all summering on the island 8 years prior..
    Rather than going to Las Vegas for the bachelorette party they will go to Avalon where they always summered. It's been 8 years since Colin's death and it seems each of them feels a bit responsible for his death.
    We learn more as their story continues-the fear they each hold and wanting to be free of their guilt by telling others their held secret...
    Love hearing about the travel, each of their cities where they live and of the Jersey shore as I've yet to travel there myself. Such detailed descriptions.

    I received this book from Edelweiss by William Morrow Paperbacks and Harper Collins Publishers in return for an honest review.

    30 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Donohue has done it again and I could not be more happy. There


    Donohue has done it again and I could not be more happy. There is a risk that when you love an author's debut novel the subsequent books may not meet your high expectations. I loved How to Eat a Cupcake and I am happy to report that I also loved All the Summer Girls. Donohue writes compelling characters, ones that you can relate to. In ATSG Donohue brings three friends back together for a weekend getaway, back to the place that all feel at home. All of the women are facing person struggles, mixed with ghosts of the past and guilt that has fractured the foundations of the friendships years ago. What unfolds in ATSG is not only a universal story about love, friendship and ultimately finding ones self among the chaos of life, but also a story of the weight of secrets kept, forgiveness, growth and redemption. ATSG is a book to take to the beach, to share with a friend or is your next book club pick. This is a must read for summer 2013. Donohue knows how to write novels that cause you to become invested, to turn pages and to ruminate on what you read after the book is finished. A talent worth noticing. 5 stars.



    20 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2013

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings Three friends w

    Check out the full review at Kritters Ramblings

    Three friends who grew up just as close as sisters have now grown apart and are brought back together and their shared history will either tear them apart or bring them closer.  Each of the friends were unique, but it was easy to realize how they would become friends and that they each were a part of how they stayed friends for so long.    

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    very good

    Good summer or beach reading

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2013

    Good Summer Read/Escape

    Good read

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2013

    Nice beach read

    I'm a Philly gal, so I liked reading about the towns I'm familiar with, however, it went slow at times.,the back and forth between the characters. I do recommend this book, it keeps you wanting to know their secrets.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Recommend!!!

    Loved the book!! Great summer read!!

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2013

    Engaging read!

    Loved this read. Very easy to follow and kept me interested at all times. Would highly recommend this book!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    2.5 stars just okay

    I really wanted to love this book but it never really grabbed my attention fully. I found it a bit boring and predictable. For a good read about summer friends, try Judy Blume's SUMMER SISTERS?

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2013

    Very well written book, a perfect summer page turner. I couldn't

    Very well written book, a perfect summer page turner. I couldn't put it down once I picked it up :) I'm excited to read more from this author!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Reallly enjoyed,over too soon!

    Loved the chsaracters and the story, great relaxing escape

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Rock ob

    ?MuST read

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    Facbook

    Its a good book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    To kas

    Bout wut

    1 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Francesca

    You should read this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2013

    Taleyah

    Must this one ot good

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Wh I want what

    I want this

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Great

    Absolutely loved the book!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    I likethe Book

    Ike the Book

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    Grea Great book.I love this story.Soooooo gooop

    I love hanging with girls and it's called The Summer Girls

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6