BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

All the Summer Girls

Average Rating 4
( 139 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(49)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(35)

2 Star

(13)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

31 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

All the Summer Girls: A Novel by Meg Donohue This book follow

All the Summer Girls: A Novel by Meg Donohue
This book follows the three women-they are best friends.
NY: Vanessa and Drew have a daughter Lucy and she gave up on the gallery job to raise the baby.
Philly: Kate is in and her husband to be-is also a lawyer but he brea...
All the Summer Girls: A Novel by Meg Donohue
This book follows the three women-they are best friends.
NY: Vanessa and Drew have a daughter Lucy and she gave up on the gallery job to raise the baby.
Philly: Kate is in and her husband to be-is also a lawyer but he breaks up with her the night she discovers she's pregnant.
CA: Dani worked in the bookstore and writes her novel at night while sharing the apartment with 2 other females. The book is about Kate's twin brother who died while they were all summering on the island 8 years prior..
Rather than going to Las Vegas for the bachelorette party they will go to Avalon where they always summered. It's been 8 years since Colin's death and it seems each of them feels a bit responsible for his death.
We learn more as their story continues-the fear they each hold and wanting to be free of their guilt by telling others their held secret...
Love hearing about the travel, each of their cities where they live and of the Jersey shore as I've yet to travel there myself. Such detailed descriptions.

I received this book from Edelweiss by William Morrow Paperbacks and Harper Collins Publishers in return for an honest review.

posted by jbarr5 on May 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

2.5 stars just okay

I really wanted to love this book but it never really grabbed my attention fully. I found it a bit boring and predictable. For a good read about summer friends, try Judy Blume's SUMMER SISTERS?

posted by luvschicklit on August 9, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    2.5 stars just okay

    I really wanted to love this book but it never really grabbed my attention fully. I found it a bit boring and predictable. For a good read about summer friends, try Judy Blume's SUMMER SISTERS?

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2014

    I thought it was a little boring.. it was a cute chick-beach rea

    I thought it was a little boring.. it was a cute chick-beach read kind of book.. but honestly i just wanted to finish it , so i can move on to my next book. 
    Thought it would have been better- i was a little excited to read a book about a group of friends going down "the shore".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2014

    Well done Chick Lit

    This was a cute, easy read. I read the whole thing in 2 sittings (on an airplane & finished up later). Nothing twisty or relatively earth shattering, just a basic story of 3 friends and the ups and downs of friendship through the years.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Okay book

    The book was a little slow and I had a hard relating to the characters at first. Since they change pov each chapter at the beginning it felt like I was just reading a resume of their life before present time. However I stayed with it and felt that Dani was the character who I felt was most real. Just okay...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2014

    Rocky

    Walks in and sees aria and he moans and he gets on the bed and kisses her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 18, 2014

    Cute but think it would be for someone in their 20's not in their 50's

    Brings you back to a point and time when you shared many not forgettable moments with those oh so special BFF's!The secrets only you and they will bond you together.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2014

    Fast, enjoyable read!

    Grrat characters

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2014

    Was good but not what I expected, left much to be desired...to m

    Was good but not what I expected, left much to be desired...to me his book could have gone in more non predicted paths, seemed like a typical book nothing earth shattering.  Will say the book is a quick summer read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2014

    Summer read

    Typical summer reading - enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Okay read - didn't really hold my interest and I usually have a

    Okay read - didn't really hold my interest and I usually have a hard time putting any book down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Not as good as I was expecting.

    Not as good as I was expecting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2014

    Good

    Nice story about true friendship and accepting each others faults.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2014

    A good Read

    I enjoyed the book, but as the secrets started coming out among the three friends it lends a sad but unexpected twist to the story. go for it...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Recommend

    Easy read that I enjoyed curling up with on a cold winter day.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2014

    It was just okay. I thought it would be a good chick lit read bu

    It was just okay. I thought it would be a good chick lit read but it was boring and predictable. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    good book

    i really liked this book and how she writes

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2013

    I Depressing, Intruiging, and Fast

    This book sounded good from its description, but after a segment from each character (this story is told from three different perspectives) the ending was quite obvious. Several concepts didn't seem plausible (best friends since kindergarten cannot discuss the one shared tragic event of their lives, for example). The cast of characters is an old, overdone theme: Gorgeous woman with sexy husband/adorable baby and rocky marriage; Pretty woman with faithful dog and her happily-ever-after going down the tubes; Pretty-but-doesn't-know-it woman with literary talent and a moderate-going-on-serious substance abuse problem. Their problems are due of course to the aforementioned tragedy, and they separately hope that returning to the place of its ocrrence will bring closure and ease their guilt. Not a terrrible book, but forgettable for sure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 35 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2