Customer Reviews for

All the Words on Stage: A Complete Pronunciation Dictionary for the plays of William Shakespeare

Average Rating 5
( 31 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(31)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 21 – 31 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2002

    All the Words on Stage: A Complete Pronunciation Dictionary for the plays of William Shakespeare

    I recommend this book. If you're an actor and you've been cast in a Shakespeare play, this is a great book to have. When I look through this book, I'm embarrassed to see how many times I've pronounced a word wrong in the past, and nobody ever corrected me! It's nice to know that won't happen again. This book is easy to read and contains lots of interesting information that I haven't seen anywhere else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2002

    Finally, no more STUMBLING

    Finally, no more stumbling and tripping over numerous names, places, Gods while trying to perform Shakespeare with confidence. This book is truly a gift from nature, it abhors a vacuum and fills it. It shall sit proudly beside the Lexicon as my other indispensible source when scanning and preparing a piece of Shakespeare for performance or for my students.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2002

    Thank you Ms. Younts and Mr. Scheeder

    At last, a book devoted to pronunciation for Shakespeares' plays. And now, after seventeen years in the theatre, no longer do I need to fear the erudite audience member waiting for me at the stage door to correct my pronunciation of one of Shakespeare's more obscure words or names. They're all here, in this wonderfully researched and authoritative text that is remarkably easy to use and understand. It will be my trusty companion whenever I audition, rehearse, or simply sit in a comfortable chair and read the immortal genius that is William Shakespeare.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    Love this book!

    They say there are no answers in the back of the book? That's cause there all in this book! If you do Shakespeare, if you love Shakespeare, if you teach Shakespeare, then you need this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2002

    Vital for all Shakespearean Actors

    All the Words on Stage is not only informative but essential to any actor who plans to perform any of the plays of William Shakespeare. It explains in laymen¿s terms how to pronounce any of the words that appear in Shakespeare¿s text. It is as vital as the Shakespeare Lexicon. I recently completed a run of three Shakespeare plays from the history cycle, Richard II, Henry IV:Part l and Henry IV:Part 2. I found All the Words on Stage invaluable in my rehearsal process. No matter how talented your dramaturge or your speech coach is, they can¿t possibly provide the pronunciation for each word that appears in the play¿All the Words on Stage can. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2002

    A Must-Have Standard Reference Work

    Imagine being able to find the correct pronounciation for every single word that appears in Shakespeare's plays, and all in one volume. Believe it or not, such a thing has not existed until now. For actors, this comprehensive (and comprehensible) reference book is a priceless tool. No library should be with it. And all of us average people who have thought ourselves 'not smart enough' to understand Shakespeare are in for a big surprise; all we need is 'All the Words on Stage' to become experts on the beauty and clarity of Shakespearean language. For the first time in four centuries, William Shakespeare can stop rolling in his grave.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2002

    Shakespeare for Everyone!

    ¿All the Words on Stage¿ is a gem. The benefits to any actor or director are obvious. Where else can you find a source that helps you with every single word William Shakespeare ever wrote? You can¿t! Besides being a Rosetta Stone for dramaturgy, the book¿s strength comes out of its strong respect and love for language. The beginning and ending sections of the book help explain why Shakespeare¿s words are so powerful and moving. The book takes away the ¿mystification¿ of Shakespeare making him and his poetry accessible to everyone. ¿All the Words on Stage¿ will no doubt join the pantheon of must-have books on theater.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2002

    Excellent Resource

    This book is an excellent resource for every Shakespeare student, actor and teacher. Finally, a book that answers all our questions regarding pronunciation of difficult words.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2002

    Bible for Shakespeare Actors

    Auditioning and performing Shakespeare? Want to do it well? You need this book. This extremely handy red volume boasts of an easy-to-use pronounciation key and the phonetical explanation and scanning possibilities of every single persnickity word (including characters' names) in every single one of Shakespeare's plays. With this book in hand, I no longer embarass myself in auditions by butchering the pronounciation of names like 'Hermoine,' 'Palamon,' etc., etc. HIGHLY recommended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2002

    A Must Have Reference Book

    It may not contain 'all' the words on stage, but this extraordinary volume does provide a complete phonetical listing of every word and name from every Shakespeare play - words not found anywhere else, including Webster's and the Oxford English Dictionary. This book fills a long-awaited need on the bookshelves of anyone involved in theatre, linguistics, literature, education or who just happens to be a 'Bardophile.' The idiot-proof format gives complete pronunciation breakdowns in 2 ways, using standard phonetics (the International Phonetic Alphabet) and using a simple respelling (the authors' own system). Also included is a column listing common words to demonstrate the proper sound.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 21 – 31 of 31 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 2