Customer Reviews for

All the World

Average Rating 3.5
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Illustrations!

This is a children's book which says ages 9-12, but my 4 year old liked it's simplicity and rhymes - not to mention the beautiful and detailed illustrations that grace every page. (I just found another site which places this in the 3-7 age group which I feel is more app...
This is a children's book which says ages 9-12, but my 4 year old liked it's simplicity and rhymes - not to mention the beautiful and detailed illustrations that grace every page. (I just found another site which places this in the 3-7 age group which I feel is more appropriate.)

It follows a family from morning until night with various places, activities, weather - all the while reaffirming that everything that happens is part of our world - yet at the same time, a part of the bigger world - so we are all really connected. Did that make sense? That is what I got out of it at least.

posted by kherbrand on October 12, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Illustrations but a Tad Geocentric

I'm going to get reamed by some people for this review, but I call it like it is. The illustrations in this book are gorgeous. They inject humor into the story in some places and I enjoy that it shows people of all skin tones and ancestral backgrounds.

The poetry i...
I'm going to get reamed by some people for this review, but I call it like it is. The illustrations in this book are gorgeous. They inject humor into the story in some places and I enjoy that it shows people of all skin tones and ancestral backgrounds.

The poetry is simplistic (which you want in a child's book) and easy to understand. The concept is beautiful - we are the world and the world is us.

The issue that I do have in this book is that it's quite geocentric. We're supposed to be talking about how we are all the world, but, while Frazee gives a nod to Mediterranean architecture and vehicles that can be European, it's very obviously set in the United States (or at least Western Europe). If we're supposed to be "all the world" why would the book not present how all the world holds these same activities and shares all of these characteristics? Why not depict different countries following the same activities in different ways?

Maybe it's picky, but children are sharp and intelligent and pick up on these things, so, as adults, we should, too.

posted by The_Almost_Librarian on January 25, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Beautiful Illustrations!

    This is a children's book which says ages 9-12, but my 4 year old liked it's simplicity and rhymes - not to mention the beautiful and detailed illustrations that grace every page. (I just found another site which places this in the 3-7 age group which I feel is more appropriate.)

    It follows a family from morning until night with various places, activities, weather - all the while reaffirming that everything that happens is part of our world - yet at the same time, a part of the bigger world - so we are all really connected. Did that make sense? That is what I got out of it at least.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2012

    Beautiful Illustrations but a Tad Geocentric

    I'm going to get reamed by some people for this review, but I call it like it is. The illustrations in this book are gorgeous. They inject humor into the story in some places and I enjoy that it shows people of all skin tones and ancestral backgrounds.

    The poetry is simplistic (which you want in a child's book) and easy to understand. The concept is beautiful - we are the world and the world is us.

    The issue that I do have in this book is that it's quite geocentric. We're supposed to be talking about how we are all the world, but, while Frazee gives a nod to Mediterranean architecture and vehicles that can be European, it's very obviously set in the United States (or at least Western Europe). If we're supposed to be "all the world" why would the book not present how all the world holds these same activities and shares all of these characteristics? Why not depict different countries following the same activities in different ways?

    Maybe it's picky, but children are sharp and intelligent and pick up on these things, so, as adults, we should, too.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    Highly Recommended!!!

    What a beautiful book!! If you don't love poetry you will after reading this book!!! I agree this book is for 3yrs and up b/c my 2yr old just enjoys the pictures which are beautiful.I love how the book ties everything and everyone together. Some adults should read this and get back to what is important.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love this book!!

    My child came home from school so excited about this book and when we walked into the bookstore weeks later and saw it front & center on a display in the Children's section, there was no question how some of our giftcard dollars would be spent! I love this book so much: the artwork is so beautiful & detailed alongwith the lovely writing that I have googled the author & illustrator to see what else they've created.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    This book gives you a strong feeling of hope.

    For many years I have been teaching early childhood and the one message I want the children to leave my classroom with is what a magical and wonderful world we live on and that we need to appreciate all the gifts we receive. This book also gives you a feeling of being connected to other people and families just by traveling along through one day with two children.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    2010 Summer Reading

    Feel good book for 3 and 5 year old.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2010

    A beautiful story beautifully illustrated

    This book teaches kids about the parts of a whole, but -- more -- teaches them to appreciate many layers of their experiences. The text offers things for kids to find in the wispy, beautiful illustrations. Parents will enjoy the read, too. It's a perfect bedtime read, as it is almost a meditation on a day in the life of a community.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2013

    LOVE this book. I am an education major and I would advise every

    LOVE this book. I am an education major and I would advise everyone to read this fabulous story! Highly recommend. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A new family favorite

    This one ranks right up there with Dear Mili.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Good book!

    Nice story and cool illustrations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 38 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2