Customer Reviews for

Allegiant (Divergent Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 3754 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1530)

4 Star

(541)

3 Star

(454)

2 Star

(410)

1 Star

(819)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

164 out of 330 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait til it is released

This is the only series I couldn't put down the book until it was read.

posted by 10891684 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

808 out of 982 people found this review helpful.

...

I'm disappointed.
I know that Ms Roth wanted her book to stand apart from other teen novels, but she took it too far.
I was really excited to read this, and enjoyed it.
That is, until the ending.
We all love a good happy ending.
Well, it looks like Veronica Roth thinks...
I'm disappointed.
I know that Ms Roth wanted her book to stand apart from other teen novels, but she took it too far.
I was really excited to read this, and enjoyed it.
That is, until the ending.
We all love a good happy ending.
Well, it looks like Veronica Roth thinks that her readers don't need one to still enjoy the series as much as they would have been able to.
Or maybe she just hates happy endings.
The ending made me sadder than a book should ever make you feel.
I wish that Tris lived happily ever after.
Tell B&N that this review was helpful if you agree.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3755 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 188
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Don't waste your time with the third book. After counting down

    Don't waste your time with the third book. After counting down for the last year in eager anticipation of the release of the third installment, I happily gave up my evening to read the finale. Now, four hours later, I'm left feeling bewildered, confused and betrayed by the contrived end to this series. Some may call it gutsy, but I fail to see the point. What a disappointment after such a strong start.

    379 out of 475 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Disappointment

    Having read the first two books in this series several times, I have been awaiting the day for Allegiant to come out. I started reading the morning it came out and by the end of the day I was in tears. I read through to the end of all of the acknowledgements thinking there had to be an error, that it all was a dream.
    Having read the last 50 or so pages with tears running down my face, I got up and left the room, and actually started all out crying. I knew that I would never read this book again, but I also knew that I would not be able to read Divergent and Insurgent again knowing the outcome of the 3rd book. I no longer had a desire to read the short stories from Tobias' pov, or even see the movie that I have been so excited about seeing.
    I have no idea why V.Roth would chose to alienate her audience and sabotage a movie that hasn't come out yet. Most authors, I assumed wanted to have successful and lucrative careers. If you want to write the strory that appeals to you...go ahead...keep it in your personal library. What you did was absolutely cruel.
    I did wait a couple of days before posting this review, so that my emotions would settle a little. That said, the double point of view was confusing. On more than one instance I had to scroll to the beginning of the chapter to see who it was. She did not give as much care to her characters or as much detail as in the previous books. As the final book in the trilogy, we shouldn't have had things left unexplained or explored.
    People don't read books to feel depressed and sad, they want to feel happy in the end. This reader will no longer be reading any of Ms. Roth's work....

    326 out of 400 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    I loved these books, but to have it end the way it did leaves a

    I loved these books, but to have it end the way it did leaves a bad taste.  I feel like Roth took the easy way out in order to be true to the time she was writing about.  It would have been a greater challenge to her writing abilities to have a different ending that was true to the series, and I don't think she was up for the challenge.  Very disappointing.  

    249 out of 313 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    What a waste!

    I hate when authors decide to change the formula of their writing at the end of their series. Writing from both Tris and Tobias' POV was a DEAD giveaway. What a waste of a great concept.

    I will never read Veronica Roth again and I won't support the movies. I can't believe I waited for this!

    220 out of 284 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    i LOVED the first two books but this one ruined it for me. I'm

    i LOVED the first two books but this one ruined it for me. I'm sad to say i'll never pick up the third book again

    219 out of 280 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    ****************SPOILERS*****************What a disappointment.

    ****************SPOILERS*****************What a disappointment. Tris' character didn't learn anything or grow from her experiences from the previous books. Also, her taking the place of Caleb was too contrived and predictable. It was just poor writing, and obvious that the author took the bold move not because it fit with the story but because she wanted to be different.
    Due to the fact that Caleb was a coward, he should've been the one to die, but not so willingly. I think Tris taking over, as predictable as it was, would have been okay if Caleb had turned back and sacrificed himself for Tris. The entire theme of sacrrifice and bravery would've come more together had he actually sacrificed himself for his sister after all he'd done. He should've been the hero in the end, the one who saved everyone. That would've been fitting.
    So in the end, we get Tris, who doesn't change, Caleb who doesn't change, but Evelyn who must be bipolar because her change was too out-of-character.

    It was sloppy writing. It seemed like the auther just wanted to get it finished with her big, planned, "shocking" death of Tris, but didn't care about how anything else played out in the story. I wouldn't doubt if the epilogue was written before the end of the book, without care to how those "loose" ends worked themselves out. She was after a shocking moment, but instead lost the trust of many readers.

    I will never read another book of hers again.

    179 out of 210 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Disappointing

    Looked forward to this book for so long and now I'm just disappointed. Overall not real great and REALLY crappy ending. Wish I hadn't read it.

    178 out of 226 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Words fail

    I was appalled and horrified at this ending. I could not even finish the book. To build a relationship up and then to end it that way... words simply fail. I feel utterly betrayed by the author and will not be reading anymore of her books. As for being original and stepping out of the box, sometimes the box is there for a reason Moronica Roth.

    167 out of 203 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2013

    Can't wait til it is released

    This is the only series I couldn't put down the book until it was read.

    164 out of 330 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Disapointment

    I loved the first two books and couldn't wait for this one! I am so disapointed. I won't go into too much detail, no spoilers....I was also very confused by the constant changing of points of view. I had to stop reading and go back to the beginning of the chapter to see if it was Tris or Tobias talking to try to make sense of what I just read. I just keep thinking that's not really how this ends is it?

    163 out of 195 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Series Ruining Effort

    If you enjoyed the first two books you may want to avoid this book. For me it destroyed my desire to reread the books or watch the movie. Wow I was so looking forward to this book and the movie now I'm just disappointed and frustrated.

    122 out of 139 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    This book....

    This book ruined the series for me. This was Roth's story, but I hated how she ended it. All this waiting and rereading the other books just to find the story's end made me regret the journey. I know this reads harsh, I normally don't whine about what authors do with their stories. I really got into this series, found it refreshing...was nervous about this third book though...with good reason I guess.
    No spoilers.

    105 out of 125 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    :D

    Omgg i have never been mire excited for a book to come out ^•^

    105 out of 300 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    So disappointing

    Just a very disappointing trilogy. I loved Divergent and Insurgent but this book ruined the story. The plot was pretty weak and I feel the author was just trying to go for shock value when she wrote this story. I normally do not write reviews on books but I have to say I will not be reading another one of this authors books. I understand when authors write and kill certain characters that there is a meaning to it and its pretty clear, but there was no meaning in this book. It annoyed me pretty much that all the author was doing was writing to shock her audience.

    103 out of 118 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    I'll start by saying I loved Divergent and Insurgent. Loved them

    I'll start by saying I loved Divergent and Insurgent. Loved them, but this book was terrible. I'm not even referring to the ending, which was pretty lame and disappointing. The book itself was not good. It was poorly written, boring, contrived and full of plot holes. About halfway through reading it, I felt an overwhelming urge to Google "does anyone else think Allegiant plot stupid". Guess what! I'm clearly not alone. I'm embarrassed that I ever encouraged anyone to read these books. Now I have no desire to even see the movie, although I'd be shocked if Insurgent and Allegiant ever get made into movies after this disaster of a book.

    Ms. Roth's decision to have Tris die like some sort of Jesus figure was ham-handed at best, extremely stupid at worst. Ugh.

    89 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    So disappointing! **No actual spoilers, but this may reveal mor

    So disappointing!

    **No actual spoilers, but this may reveal more than you'd like, so only read if you're ok with heavy hinting!

    I have never been more disappointed or upset at a book, especially one I was looking forward to so much.  And considering I've read 400+ books in my life, that's saying something!
    First of all, the point of view alternations only had one benefit - that they allowed the plot to develop further, by experiencing two different sets of events when Tris and Tobias weren't together.  But Tobias's point of view was not unique at all.  His internal voice sounded exactly like Tris - same thoughts, feelings, ways of processing emotions, etc.  And worse of all, it made him into a completely different character in this book.  It is one thing to be able to see the point of view of such an incredible and prominent character - but it's another to do it in a way that doesn't stay true to the portrayal of his personality in the other two books, so that was very disappointing.  (And frustrating when I had to re-read things as the correct character's voice!)

    Second of all, The ending was meant to be the natural conclusion that did these characters justice.  In my opinion, it did the opposite, and seemed very forced (which made sense when I read an interview where the author said she had intended this ending from the beginning).  This ending seems like it was purely for a shock factor, and it is very difficult to not let this ending - and the whole book - ruin the rest of the series for me.  

    The reason I think it is so disappointing is that the first 2 books are incredible, and I expected the same of Allegiant.  But it is not even close to the same quality.

    88 out of 99 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Just not worth the heartache

    To say the least I am not only sadden by the ending, but that I also waited over a year just to have my heart broken.

    This book could have been, should have been, epic but it leaves you feeling hallow and wishing you could unread the whole book.

    Totally ruined my love for this series/characters. I hope you are proud of yourslf veronica roth.

    73 out of 86 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2013

    Wow!

    This book. Too amazing!

    72 out of 215 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Can't wait :)

    Can't wait to read

    65 out of 244 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2013

    Oh my god

    Octobor is to far away.

    I
    Cant
    BreAthe

    60 out of 213 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 3755 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 188