Customer Reviews for

Allegiant (Divergent Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 3329 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1347)

4 Star

(476)

3 Star

(395)

2 Star

(373)

1 Star

(738)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

152 out of 310 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait til it is released

This is the only series I couldn't put down the book until it was read.

posted by 10891684 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

803 out of 976 people found this review helpful.

...

I'm disappointed.
I know that Ms Roth wanted her book to stand apart from other teen novels, but she took it too far.
I was really excited to read this, and enjoyed it.
That is, until the ending.
We all love a good happy ending.
Well, it looks like Veronica Roth thinks...
I'm disappointed.
I know that Ms Roth wanted her book to stand apart from other teen novels, but she took it too far.
I was really excited to read this, and enjoyed it.
That is, until the ending.
We all love a good happy ending.
Well, it looks like Veronica Roth thinks that her readers don't need one to still enjoy the series as much as they would have been able to.
Or maybe she just hates happy endings.
The ending made me sadder than a book should ever make you feel.
I wish that Tris lived happily ever after.
Tell B&N that this review was helpful if you agree.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 373 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    So disappointing! **No actual spoilers, but this may reveal mor

    So disappointing!

    **No actual spoilers, but this may reveal more than you'd like, so only read if you're ok with heavy hinting!

    I have never been more disappointed or upset at a book, especially one I was looking forward to so much.  And considering I've read 400+ books in my life, that's saying something!
    First of all, the point of view alternations only had one benefit - that they allowed the plot to develop further, by experiencing two different sets of events when Tris and Tobias weren't together.  But Tobias's point of view was not unique at all.  His internal voice sounded exactly like Tris - same thoughts, feelings, ways of processing emotions, etc.  And worse of all, it made him into a completely different character in this book.  It is one thing to be able to see the point of view of such an incredible and prominent character - but it's another to do it in a way that doesn't stay true to the portrayal of his personality in the other two books, so that was very disappointing.  (And frustrating when I had to re-read things as the correct character's voice!)

    Second of all, The ending was meant to be the natural conclusion that did these characters justice.  In my opinion, it did the opposite, and seemed very forced (which made sense when I read an interview where the author said she had intended this ending from the beginning).  This ending seems like it was purely for a shock factor, and it is very difficult to not let this ending - and the whole book - ruin the rest of the series for me.  

    The reason I think it is so disappointing is that the first 2 books are incredible, and I expected the same of Allegiant.  But it is not even close to the same quality.

    77 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    I understand the author may have been trying so separate her ser

    I understand the author may have been trying so separate her series from other teen series, however, the ending is far too emotionally upsetting and disappointing.
    I also found reading the book a bit confusing because the point of view kept switching.  After such a strong start, the conclusion of this story was really a let down.  It could have been so much better.
    I agree with the others--I read the first two books several times, but I will not read the third book again.

    43 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    I am sad to say that I am little disappointed in this third and

    I am sad to say that I am little disappointed in this third and final installment of the Divergent series. The plot in this final book was flat the characters were a little flat. The first two books introduced two strong characters with human flaws that would make them attractive to anyone. In this final book, the characters become a little unstable in my opinion. I don't even mind how the book ended, but the plot was flat and I feel like there was not really a point in this third book. It took so long for everything to happen in this book. I kept waiting for that "WOW" factor that I got in the first two installments, but in never came in this third book. Sadly to say, I am disappointed in how this installment ended.

    33 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Disappointing

    This book was a disappointment. The writing style was different, too different to even appreciate. I can appreciate an authors style maturing with age and experience, but this wasn't a good maturation. Every chapter flipped between Tobias and Tris, sometimes making it confusing to follow, especially when you can't read it without frequent breaks. The story line felt flat, no passion behind the pen, no true love in the plot, the characters, everything. I love Divergent and Insurgent, but this feels lile it belongs to a totally different trilogy by a different author. Little in this book really made sense and I didn't even feel sad when Tris died because it was just cold writing. Overall, this book was pathetic and a huge let down.

    25 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Boring boring boring

    I absolutely loved the first two books! The third is slow and boring, i am so disapointed. Her main idea for the third book is really weak. I am seriously struggling to even want to finish the book,it isnt going anywhere, she is portaying four as an idiot, she is forcing the activity that is going on and all around it is really flat. I really dont even care what happens in the storyline bc i have completely lost interest. Its hard to understand that Divergent is my all time favorite book and the third is so bad that i dont want to finish. What a waste.

    19 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    What!?

    I have been waiting for this book for months! I was so excited and expected it to be completely awesome! But it wasn't!! The characters changed too much, the story line was flat and boring, and on tope of that, the end was depressing!! Very disappointed.

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I just finished reading Allegiant and I am disappointed. This bo

    I just finished reading Allegiant and I am disappointed. This book doesn’t come close to being as good as Divergent, and while I liked Insurgent less than the first book, I still thought it was a good book, but this one doesn’t come close to either of those and fails to do the ending of the series justice. I don’t know if the author was rushed or if she just didn’t have a clear plan as to where she was going with the story, but it was all over the place and awful.

    The intimate scenes between Tris and Tobias were not well written. They were repetitive with almost the same dialogue in each scene and after a while they began to feel ridiculously forced. The switching between the two POV’s was necessary based on the ending, but there was no difference between the two POV’s. I kept having to flip back to the beginning of the chapter to see whose POV I was reading. And while reading Tobia’s POV, I didn’t even feel like he was the same person we came to know it book one and two. He came off as weak. The author didn’t stay true to who he was in the first books. The explanations for why they were kept in the city and the whole GD and GP thing, the people in the Fringe, the experiment cities, it all seemed illogical to me. I get the discrimination after generations and generations of thinking one was good and one was bad, but I didn’t get the beginning…why the purity wars started in the first place and how something like genetics could’ve led to the complete downfall of a civilization. It just didn’t seem logical to me.

    Now to the ending (SPOILERS AHEAD)

    If Tris’s character had stayed as she was at the end of Insurgent, maybe I would have found her actions believable, but she changed so much in this book, realized she had so much with Tobias, so much to live for and she stated several times how much she wanted to live, that I found her sacrifice very hard to believe and almost manipulative. And the fact that it was her brother she sacrificed herself for was even more unbelievable to me…the brother who led her to her execution and was going to let her die, who betrayed her. I find it hard to believe that she would sacrifice herself & her life with Tobias for him. Her dying was not why I didn’t like the ending, it was her dying for her brother, had it been for Tobias, or even Christina it would have been move believable, the two people who stood by her, supported her and loved her. And the death scene was so blah…I was shocked that was it…the heroine of the book just died, after all she’s been through, how brave she’s been, and that’s the death you write for her? It totally sucked. The scenes after that with Tobias dealing with her death were gut-wrenching scenes. I know a lot of people didn’t like the epilogue, but I didn’t have a problem with it except that Tobias states he left her ashes in the Bureau Morgue…that seemed out of character that he loved her so much and just left her ashes in an urn on a shelf in the morgue. That bugged me. I would have rather they stated that it took him so long to spread her ashes because he didn’t want to let her go, or something like that…instead they just sat on a shelf in the morgue.

    As you can probably guess, I will not be reading any more of Veronica Roth’s books. As much as I loved Divergent, she ruined the series with the last book.
    No way I will take a chance on her again.

    16 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    unresolved and disappointing

    I kept waiting for the payoff. Roth seemed to write this for shock value and to be different. I won't waste more time rating this book, kind of wish I'd not wasted my time reading it.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Noooooo

    I hate the way this book ended!!!!!!!! Many people will be dissappointed. Why,Veronica,why?!?!?!?

    12 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Tears, tears, tear... a let down

    I wanted answers but it was so convoluted. Then hard to trace when it switched from Tobias to Tris chapters. THEN death!! Absolutely unnecessary. Its like Roth wanted to deviate from the happy heroic ending, that Twilight or Hunger Games had to be different. Major fail. It was all worst. Poor girl. Poor Four. I hated it. So hard to get through the end.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    What a let down!

    Like everyone else, I was really excited for the last book in this series...until I read it. The ending to this book feels like such a betrayal to the readers and leaves a bad taste in your mouth. I understand wanting to make a statement that life isnt always fair and not everyone lives happily everafter....but this is fiction! People like their characters to defy all of the odds, to triumph over obstacles, and for the guy to get the girl! Can we ask for a rewrite of the ending? Bad move Veronica Roth.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 27, 2013

    Allegiant review

    *SPOILER ALERT*
    I was so excited for Allegiant to come out and had been waiting for months. I fell in love with protagonist, Tris, who even though shes small and not that "attractive" still is strong, brave, and sure about herself(most of the time). I thought the whole series was beautifully and wonderfully constructed and well thought through. At least until the very end. While reading Allegiant, i was not bored through it unlike other people said they were. There wasnt action on every page, and i didnt think it had THAT much of a story plot, but i thought it was still good. I dont think you need action on every page to write a good book. The ending however, killed me. Some of my friends had just finished the book right before i was about to and they didnt give me spoilers, but they warned me the ending was terrible. Even though i was prepared for a horrible ending i was not expecting Tris to die. I understand why she had to save Caleb and set off the memory serum but still. Its a YA book and there should be at least somewhat of a happy ending. Everything Tris and Tobias had gone through in the last few books they DESERVED IT. But to kill the main character (not to mention uriah) is completely uncalled for and cruel. I have read a ton of horrible, crummy endings but this one tops them all by miles. The worst part about all of this? She doesnt say exactly what happens to Tobias except that he kinda moved on, but for we know he dies despressed and alone. After reading this I sobbed for hours and now everytime i think of anything related to tris or tobias i get all emotional. I feel like there is this empty void in my chest that is eating me away. No book should end like this and no author should do this to their fans. Because of this im probably going to never read one of veronica roth's books again or see the movies. What a waste of such a talented author.

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Allegient has a totally different feeling to it than the other b

    Allegient has a totally different feeling to it than the other books did. I felt a lot of the parts in it were dull until the end. She was definitely trying to go for something new in her writing in Allegient but then it all seemed to become extremely more mainstreem than it had before. I just wish instead of buying it I had borrowed it from the library and read it. 

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Skipping the movie after this book.  I was excited about it but

    Skipping the movie after this book.  I was excited about it but I don't see the point now.  I wish I had read the reviews before I read the last book.  I don't have to have a happy ending if it furthers the lessons of the book.  Tris' death doesn't do that.  After killing off so many characters it just seems like Tris and Tobias deserve their happy ending.  Disappointed.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Great Dispointment

    It's hard to believe that I waited so long for the final book. Such a disapointment. It feels like a different author wrote the third novel~~someone who didn't know the characters or the storyline. Now I need to find a new author.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Very disappointing

    I stayed up all night reading this and for Tris to die just feels like a big emptiness to the story. I understand death but for her to die after being such a fighter is like HUH??? It just doesn't seem like the end was justified by the means. I dealt with having to keep going back to the beginning of the chapter just to see who was talking because I wanted to finish the book but this just seemed like a complete mess. Tobias seemed like a total wimp and parts of the story just didn't make sense. After everything it took to get to the end this just feels like it was all a waste of time.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    This book was terribly written. The 2 POV was confusing, I've r

    This book was terribly written. The 2 POV was confusing,
    I've read plenty of books with different character POV's and
    this book is an example of how it should NOT be done.
    2 character POV should = 2 voices, not 1 where I have to keep
    going back to check and see which POV I am reading.
    Plot holes. Plot changes based on out-of-character decisions, at least 5.
    An author using her thesaurus would have been nice.
    No imagination, no answer for it and it was fixed with a serum.
    Lack of continuity. Oh the problems, I could go on. But I have wasted
    enough time on this series when it was blaringly obvious the author didn't
    want to waste her time actually writing a third book.

     Don't waste your money.
     I will be returning my copy.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    Lousy ending to a great series. Disappointing

    Lousy ending to a great series. Disappointing

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    first off, the ending was awful, it was completely forced, and i

    first off, the ending was awful, it was completely forced, and i think mainly done for the shock factor. The big ending was completely unnecessary for the rest of the book events to occur. All it did was ensure that i was bawling for the last 6 chapters. Furthermore, the book itself didnt seem to go with the rest of the series, it was slow and boring, and i started to hate both Tobias and Tris due to their petty behavior towards each other. I wish i could unread this book, because now i am not sure that i can sit through the movies knowing what happened, never mind the fact that i waited a year and a half for this book just to have Roth rip out my heart and crush it. Very dissapointed with the whole book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    I LOVED the whole book series it was hands down one of my favori

    I LOVED the whole book series it was hands down one of my favorites but the ending ruined the complete series for me. I wont read this book again and I am just going to pretend that this book never happened and that Roth ended the series with Insurgent and it was incomplete 

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 373 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 19