BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Allegiant (Divergent Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 3567 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1454)

4 Star

(509)

3 Star

(433)

2 Star

(392)

1 Star

(779)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

159 out of 323 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait til it is released

This is the only series I couldn't put down the book until it was read.

posted by 10891684 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

804 out of 977 people found this review helpful.

...

I'm disappointed.
I know that Ms Roth wanted her book to stand apart from other teen novels, but she took it too far.
I was really excited to read this, and enjoyed it.
That is, until the ending.
We all love a good happy ending.
Well, it looks like Veronica Roth thinks...
I'm disappointed.
I know that Ms Roth wanted her book to stand apart from other teen novels, but she took it too far.
I was really excited to read this, and enjoyed it.
That is, until the ending.
We all love a good happy ending.
Well, it looks like Veronica Roth thinks that her readers don't need one to still enjoy the series as much as they would have been able to.
Or maybe she just hates happy endings.
The ending made me sadder than a book should ever make you feel.
I wish that Tris lived happily ever after.
Tell B&N that this review was helpful if you agree.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 433 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    I read the first 2 books in this series and absolutely devoured

    I read the first 2 books in this series and absolutely devoured them. I've read them multiple times I loved them that much. I have been waiting on Allegiant for so long and couldn't wait to dive into to it.My biggest complaint about romance novels is there is always a spit up or some reason for the hero and heroine can't be together. The face that Tris and Tobias fought tooth and nail to survive and stick together was one of the things I most loved about this story. This book should have 5 stars, however, the ending absolutely killed it for me. Had the rest of the book not been nail bitting good I would've ranked it lower. I am so angry at the ending of this book. I won't give anything away though. I almost stopped reading at one point I was so disappointed, but I kept thinking there is no way this is happening. So, I kept reading thinking I was going to get the miraculous ending this series should've had. I'm sad to say I didn't get that. I just feel let down. 

    17 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I'll be honest, this is an incredibly difficult review for me to

    I'll be honest, this is an incredibly difficult review for me to write. DIVERGENT is one of my favorite reads (EVER) and while I know a lot of people didn't like it, Tris' journey from Abnegation to Dauntless resonated with me on a deeply personal level.

    I've been waiting a year and a half for the conclusion of Tris and Four's story (just like everyone else) and I was expecting a gut-wrenching thrill ride, but not like this. This book has left me heartbroken and disappointed for so many reasons.

    Yes, the choices the characters make are consistent with who they are (mostly) and I "get" how the story comes full circle with Roth's faith woven into the fabric of it all. But the WAY it ends felt like it was done purely for shock value and just seems pointless.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2013

    Anonymous

    In order to get the book you to 1. Archive it 2. Then unarchive it. That should get you the book

    10 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    I think once everyone gets over their fan-girl/boy freaking out

    I think once everyone gets over their fan-girl/boy freaking out over the ending, they'll appreciate it more. Yes, it is very, very sad. I was completely gutted reading the last few chapters. But it was absolutely 100% character driven. Really, what else would you expect from that character at this point?

    Besides the ending, the book was a bit repetitive having the two narrators, but once the story got rolling, it was pretty well done. I thought a few of the deaths (not necessarily the last one) were unnecessary plot devices and the social commentary was a little heavy handed, but overall a well-written book and series.

    5 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Okay. So lets be unbiased here for a minute.  The series as a w

    Okay. So lets be unbiased here for a minute. 

    The series as a whole was fantastic. The plot was amazing, the ideas unique, and the characters very well developed. The path that the books take throughout the trilogy was complex and raised questions on issues such as morality, bravery (of course) and honesty. 

    Allegiant as a book made me exceptionally sad. I don't think a book needs to always have a happy ending but this one did. I like the idea of Caleb finally giving his life for Tris or so many other things that could have happened. Tris suffered a lot throughout the novel and the thought of her and Tobias not being together is heart wrenching.

    I rated this book a three because I love the series, characters, and so much more but the ending was not what the readers wanted. I know Roth probably had this ending in mind when she began writing and it may have been a vision of hers but not what we wanted to read.

     

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    What happened?

    I absolutly love, love loved the first two books and was about to say this one was the best one yet until something absolutely horrible happened which ruined the entire book for me. I cried for almost an hour! Not that i like fairy tales or anything but i was really waiting for the they lived happily ever after part of the book which never came. Veronica roth was my favorite author until about an hour ago, i mean seriously, what was she thinking. Still hoping this ending was a dream and will be over soon. And by the way please people stop spoiling the ending in your reviews. I'm 12 by the way.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Slightly disappointed

    I am not a fan of series finales. Allegiant is a prime example of why I am not a fan of them. 1 - because I do not agree with the author's vision of a finale 2 - because there are a lot of slow points with a couple of hit and run fast action sequences that aren't as well thought out as they should be. In fact, it felt like the author had a plan for the ending and had to force fit the characters into that ending, but it didnt feel natural to the reader. I was disappointed. The first two books were amazingly awesome and then you have this! For me, it was not worth the weight. I think Veronica Roth forgot that characters can become organic and grow differently than planned because this book did not have the flow and cohesiveness that the first books displayed. I read the first two books in one sitting each. I found Allegiant took more sittings than that, hence the review two days later. I would give this book 2 1/2 stars.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    An awful way to end such an amazing series

    I was enraptured in the Divergent series. A great author enables the audience to fall in love with not only the characters, but also the plot. I was so enthralled that I finished the final book the day it came out. With that being said the ending of this book has disappointed me greatly. This book has a huge following and as a result many will be left brokenhearted.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Aaaaah man. I was so excited about this book after reading the f

    Aaaaah man. I was so excited about this book after reading the first two back to back and again immediately. People are being very harsh because they're unhappy with the way it wrapped. While I'm in the same unhappy boat, I'm not harping on Roth because of the way the story ended. As a writer, I know we have to make difficult choices our readers won't like. My main problem was the way the ending was written. There were a lot of moments in the first two books where I had to reread passages to see if she was insinuating that something had happened (ie... Did they "hook up" that one time and she just didn't write it? There is one of those in Allegiant too, and you never really know.), and with the main part of the ending that everyone is so mad about, I honestly didn't think it had actually happened until it was undeniable. Trying to avoid spoilers here, sorry for the vagueness. I didn't like the way the "issue" was revealed to the other characters either. It was too quick and honestly a little heartless. I needed more from those two scenes as a reader.
    As for the rest of it, there were lots of questions that went unanswered, including one key fact that I thought was going to save them all... The code to the weapons lab--- "HER." That was a given for me but it never amounted to what I expected it to, when it was so obvious.
    I don't know if I'll ever reread this book again, I feel so let down emotionally. I love Tris and Four, I don't love the way they end up. But that's not going to keep me from pursuing Roth's other books. She tells an incredible story, describes emotions and depth of human character absolutely beautifully. I still love you, Veronica, I just don't like you right now!!! :(

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    I had become emotionally attached to Divergent after reading jus

    I had become emotionally attached to Divergent after reading just a few pages, and I honestly was so inspired by the strength and bravery of the main character and narrator, Tris. Allegiant was a well written, powerful literary piece, but the tragedy at the end was almost idiotic and ruined the entire novel. I had high hopes for this book, but I put off reading it as many of my friends said it would render me emotionally unstable. I must say that a part of me died after reading this book. I am almost angry at the death of Tris as she was an inspirational character. I say this also because her demise was completely unnecessary to the plot and it could have easily been developed another way. Also, her death was extremely uncharacteristic of her and that is only another point on a long list of arguments against the novel's ending. I don't always want a happy ending, but this book needed it after the violence and tragedy of the other components of the series. Other than the emotionally scarring ending, the rest of the book was a bit monotonous and repetitive, as if most of the action was placed in the other two novels. Read at your own risk, and don't be surprised when you're sobbing in a dark room. 

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    SPOILER I absolutely loved the first two books and told everyone

    SPOILER
    I absolutely loved the first two books and told everyone I spoke to they must read them I now feel bad if they do cause their time will be wasted like mine.
    Yes I am shocked and upset that Tris was killed it was not necessary and we deal with enough disappointment in the real world and want to find happiness in our books.
    But what the real problem is was that there are so many things not touched upon or answered. It does not talk about how the faction world and "real world" mix, what people do when they learn the truth,
    and just because the one Bureau was taken down there are more that are continuing so technically nothing has really changed.
    I guess the story is a ending for Fours life, even though you think he would continue to fight for what Tris died for,
    but Veronica Roth had such a good basis that she could have done so much more with and just rushed through an ending.
      

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2013

    Ok

    I was very excited to read this book. I absolutley loved divergent and insurgent. I was hoping I would feel the same way about allegient but that's not the way things turned out. Overall, this book was o.k. It was confusing at times so I had to reread sections multiple times to even understand what was happening. I honestly disliked the end. I would've been happy if the ending ended any other way than it did. It makes you sad like the book mockingjay does in the hunger games series. I still recomend you guys read this book.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2014

    After reading Divergent and Insurgent I could not wait to get my

    After reading Divergent and Insurgent I could not wait to get my hands on Allegiant.
    I will try my best to not have spoilers, but just in case....you have been warned, but unfortunately because some people do suck at hiding spoilers I saw a pretty BIG spoiler that people had their panties all in a twist about. Well not everything can end in a cute little bow surrounded by glitter. Sometimes endings are messy. Not every story can have a "happily ever after".
    I loved the blossoming love between Tris and Four. It was about damn time she started smooching that boy. Jeez. I loved seeing what was going on overall and not just within the factions. I loved the conspiracies and back handed crap that we finally got to the bottom of.
    I did feel at times like I didn't know what side was the correct side to be on based on which chapter I was reading (whether it was Tris or Four's POV), I felt their voices were very similar and sometimes had to flip back to see who was doing the talking, but overall I liked it. Do you want to see people die? Not really, but sometimes sacrifice is needed in order for change to occur. That choice can be a tough one, but a necessary one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This is the final book in the Divergent trilogy. You can see my

    This is the final book in the Divergent trilogy. You can see my review for the first and second book on my blog (KDH Reviews).

    First, let's talk about the point of view of this book. The first two books are told exclusively from Tris's point of view. This book, however, is told from the POV of both Tris and Four. In general, I like seeing a story from multiple points of view, but not always. This is one of those cases. I didn't like the switch up. I would have preferred sticking to one point of view.

    Let's discuss the good parts of the book. One, we get answers. We learn about the city and what's happened in the world. These are answers we've been waiting for since the beginning of the trilogy. Second, I enjoyed the ending. Allegiant has an ending that's polarizing. Some people will love it and some people will hate it. After everything that's happened, I liked it. It was fitting.

    Now, let's get on with the not so good parts. One, this book moved so incredibly slow. Compared to the first two books, Allegiant moves at a snail's pace. It bordered on boring, if I'm completely honest. Two, this book kind of left the entire trilogy feeling mediocre to me.

    Overall, I don't really know why there's so much hype surrounding this trilogy. Yeah, it's good, but it's *not* that good. I expected more and am left feeling disappointed. I don't blame the books (they are worth reading), but all the hype surrounding them.

    Be sure to check out all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Spoiler Alert!

    *SPOILER ALERT* I was really looking forward to reading this book. This series was another example of one of the books I could never put down. I would gladly rate Divergent and Insurgent 5 stars, because they were excellent. But I must admit, Veronica disappointed me in this book. She started strong, then gradually began fading. Like most people, the ending was the most upsetting bit of this book. I'm sure most of the people in the Divergent fandom loved TrisxTobias, but then Veronica crushed our hearts and killed Tris. I am rating this book 3 stars because it was alright up untill the end, and I appreciate the fact that she was creating a moral to the story, but you don't just burn a ship down. Killing Will and all those other people was bad enough, but to kill Tris? That's just going too far. I hope you all find this review helpful.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2013

    What if your whole world was a lie? That is how i felt when i he

    What if your whole world was a lie?
    That is how i felt when i heard tris dies in the book. I was so excited to read the book. I feel like all the hype for the last book, was for nothing. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2013

    Very disappointing

    I was so disappointed in the last book in the divergent trilogy. As I read I was disappointed and then when I finished I absolutely hated the end. What a let down and sad end to two previously will written books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Ok

    Ok so i absoultly loved the 1st and 2nd books. But the third? Not so much. I dont think that it was only one star worthy. If you loved the other books then read it, just know that you wont like it as much as the others.... im sorry veronic roth, but it was just dissapointing and super confusing at parts.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2013

    Mixed feelings

    I have been waiting for so long for this book to come out and I think overall I am very disappointed. I thought the first two books in the series were far better. I almost felt like a different person wrote this last one. I get that not every story has a happy ending but I can't help but feel cheated by the way she ended it. It isn't a complete failure, it just doesn't do justice to the first two books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2013

    Paige s

    Okay so were to start....first off I was bored until about pg 250...then all of a sudden there was action. To be honest the first part of the book to me felt like there was really no point to it what so ever.
    SPOILER : at first I was saddened to learn Tris would die however, when she was reunited with her motherand tobias finally let her go it was painfully beautiful. This story did not meet my high expectations from the first two books but it wasn't horrible.
    I give it a 3.4

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 433 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 22