Customer Reviews for

Allegiant (Divergent Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 3673 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1500)

4 Star

(525)

3 Star

(440)

2 Star

(402)

1 Star

(806)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

162 out of 327 people found this review helpful.

Can't wait til it is released

This is the only series I couldn't put down the book until it was read.

posted by 10891684 on June 12, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

806 out of 980 people found this review helpful.

...

I'm disappointed.
I know that Ms Roth wanted her book to stand apart from other teen novels, but she took it too far.
I was really excited to read this, and enjoyed it.
That is, until the ending.
We all love a good happy ending.
Well, it looks like Veronica Roth thinks...
I'm disappointed.
I know that Ms Roth wanted her book to stand apart from other teen novels, but she took it too far.
I was really excited to read this, and enjoyed it.
That is, until the ending.
We all love a good happy ending.
Well, it looks like Veronica Roth thinks that her readers don't need one to still enjoy the series as much as they would have been able to.
Or maybe she just hates happy endings.
The ending made me sadder than a book should ever make you feel.
I wish that Tris lived happily ever after.
Tell B&N that this review was helpful if you agree.

posted by Anonymous on October 23, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 525 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Easy fun read

    Ok like catching fire but more entertaining

    46 out of 208 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Understanding how an author thinks can sometimes drive others cr

    Understanding how an author thinks can sometimes drive others crazy.  While the ending wasn’t
    exactly what I had in mind it did do the series justice.  I figured that it started with Tris and ended
    with Tobias.  Their love story was not like any others that I have seen in a while.  So passionate but
    would fight like cats and dogs.  I think that this trilogy brings to light the power of love and the embrace
    of forgiveness.  While some might not understand what Veronica Roth was thinking writing an ending
    like she did, you have to give her credit for writing a great story!

    Give up the threats of not watching the movie or continuing to read what Veronica Roth will write next.
    Remember, books allow some to escape into a world unlike their own and experience the mind of
    others.  I would not replace the time I spent reading this series for anything else.

    Bring it on…….Veronica Roth has a great mind and can’t wait to see what she creates next.

    32 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Allegiant is a very powerful book. It pushes limits, breaks hear

    Allegiant is a very powerful book. It pushes limits, breaks hearts and always, always makes you think. It is much more complex than most young adult novels in its challenges of what is logical versus what is right. The characters are infinitely human, neither heroes nor villains, at least not fully.

    Tobias reveals vulnerabilities I never would have guessed he had, and yet, they were completely believable and right for his personality and past. I loved that half of the novel was told from his point of view; the darkness and desperation he fights against were so intense it hurt my heart.

    Tris' side is less complicated and she doesn't change as much as Four, but her coming to terms with her family, living and dead, strengthened her character in subtle but significant ways. She gains a deeper understanding of things, which in turn gives the reader a deeper understanding of the characters and their motivations.

    While I loved so many things in this book, the writing didn't really pop as much as the previous novels, at least not for me and not in the beginning. At first it felt like a lot of exposition as a hundred new things had to be explained all at once. This might have been necessary, but it was also kind of awkward. Towards the middle it gained more intensity and the pace picked up, and by the end I was on the edge of my seat. Crying.

    The end was perfect. Heroic and sad and beautiful and unexpected and so very, very brave. Not just on the characters' parts, but on the author's as well. She took a unique path that, upon the arrival of the last page, made the whole trilogy fall perfectly into place. It was an ending that left me recalling earlier scenes with an 'Oh' of revelation that it was all leading to this.

    This novel is a worthy addition to any bookshelf.

    13 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    I enjoyed the final book. It was interesting and with a surpris

    I enjoyed the final book. It was interesting and with a surprise ending that I didn't expect to see coming as I was thinking it would end differently!! I am looking forward to getting to the short stories of Four when I have time.. Well written and well done!

    8 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2013

    I disagree with some of the reviews here. I finished the book ye

    I disagree with some of the reviews here. I finished the book yesterday and while it was sad, it was very fitting for the series. It isnt a tale of happily ever afters but it mimics what usually happens in real life perfectly. I think many confuse their emotions of disappointment with those of sadness or heartbreak because what happens is truly heart wrenching.  Be warned though, it picks up right from where insurgent left off and hits the ground running. The plot at sometimes does feel forced or rushed but I believe that was to create the 'frantic and panicky state of the characters' situation. If you would rather picture a happily ever after, it may be better not to read. This book also contained much more realism than the first two in the way the characters were developed. If you are curious to find out Roth’s ending of this dystopian series, I’d recommend reading it. I enjoyed it.

    8 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Time to grow up a little bit. Temper tantrums are unbecoming.

    Seriously, some of these reviews are embarrassingly childish. Really? The author ruined her career and your life? Grow up. Give the review based on the storyline, the author's writing style, and the character development. Things that she must have nailed in order for people to become so passionate over this book. You felt like your sister died? Well that's the highest compliment you could offer a writer. She made you believe in this world she created and you felt like you were such a part of the story that when the character's suffered, so did you. How can you bash a writer for that? She gave you a gift. An escape. If Tris had let her brother die, she wouldn't have been Tris. The author would have had to betray the character's personality to allow that to happen. Which would have made me feel betrayed. Happy endings, for the sake of happy endings, belong in the children's book section. And if character's dying is such a deal breaker for you, then I strongly suggest (if you ever decide to move on to an adult book series) that you never pick up a copy of Game of Thrones. Seriously, don't. It's one of my favorites, but you will hate it if you need marshmellow endings. I applaud the author for going with her gut and not caving in to the And They All Lived Happily Ever After monotony that plagues the YA genre. If you liked Divergent and Insurgent, and you don't need pretty pink bows tied to your stories, then you'll enjoy this book too.

    7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Great story!

    I'm seeing a lot of negative feedback on this book, which surprised me. I thought it ended beautifully. I would definately recommend this series.

    6 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Amazing

    This book was amazing. It may not have ended the way any of us loyal Divergent fans would have liked but it was beautiful regardless. I haven't felt so connected to a series since Harry Potter, and to be quite honest Hunger Games cannot compare to this trilogy. Well done Veronica.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 5, 2013

    Short Non Spoiler Review: Fast paced, action filled (towar

    Short Non Spoiler Review:



    Fast paced, action filled (towards the end), answer fulfilling book. You will be nervous, you will be mad, you will be devastated. Prepare yourself. Still read it.



    Long Spoilerful (I realize this isn't a word) Review:



    What to the what just happened. My heart is broken. I am devastated. I feel empty. Why Veronica WHYYY?!?! *Tears and ugly sobbing*



    Ok so that was what was going through my mind upon finishing Allegiant. Having been able to think it over for a little while I get why Veronica killed Tris. Well I get what makes sense to me, whether it's what Veronica was going for I don't know. It's a dystopian book, things are dark. It's not a fairytale and although we wish for happily ever after we don't always get it. Veronica kept it real by killing off Tris, she showed us that sometimes in order to get to the good you have to go through the bad. I'm not happy Tris died and I can think of all sorts of ways things could have gone so she wouldn't have had to, but its not my story. Moving on.



    Up until the end I was very pleased with how the book was going. It really answered a lot of questions. In fact the book was mostly informational compared to the action packed Divergent and Insurgent books. It was also different from the first two books because the story was being told from both Tris and Tobias' POVs. (That should have served as a warning really) I didn't think I would like it, mostly because I don't go for books told from a male POV, but in my opinion it was nicely done. Others seem to think the POVs were too similar too each other, basically that Tobias seemed a little feminine, maybe that's why I was ok with it.



    I was angry with Tris and Tobias pretty much the whole book, ok I was angry mostly at Tobias, for letting their relationship fall apart. I hated Tobias for not trusting Tris and for making dumb decisions. Of course he eventually smartens up and the make up (and more possibly). I think that helps to make me more sad about Tris' death. They had just gotten back to good and were looking forward to planning their lives together then BAM it gets taken away from them.



    Overall I don't regret reading this series. Divergent was my first dystopian book and really is what turned me on to the genre. That being said, Allegiant really makes me think twice about reading another dystopian. It really opened my eyes to the fact that authors really hold the power to break your heart and that there is no rule stating they have to make a book end happy. Looking back I wish I would have waited a little longer to read Allegiant, just so it would have prolonged the sadness.



    I fell in love with him. But I don't just stay with him by default as if there's no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me.

    -Excerpt from Allegian by Veronica Roth

    *Tears in my eyes*

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2013

    Not as good as the first two

    I do not like that the main character dies because, not only does Tris leave the book forever, but Tobias also seems to be a different person without Tris. I think this book would have been better if Tris and Tobias had lived long happy lives together. I know there wouldnt be as much drama, but you could still create drama by making Tris go into a coma and wake up paralized for life or something. At least Tobias would still be the same.

    However, I have to give Veronica credit for making me feel so attached to these caracters that I was very upset when Tris died. To me, the saddest part was reading about how Tobias felt after Tris died.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    People need to read the whole thing before rating.

    This was a good book despite the fact I was not happy with certain events. Very well written. Sometimes a bit confusing when I had to remember whose side of the story I was on.

    People need to stop down rating just because it didn't turn out the way they wanted.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Great read

    I am so disappointed that people are giving this a bad review because it didnt end the way they wanted it to. To me it makes sense as the story is about life, death, war, selflessness, honor, bravery, dedication, loyalty. Yes it had a love story as well but in a situation as in theirs tragic things happen. She wraps everthing up that needs to be, except for explaining the new Government that was in charge of creating the Bureau and who was in charge of that. Please read this last book with an open mind. Veronica Roth is a fantastic writer!

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    An ending that makes you think

    Honestly, i still dont know where i stand in terms of this book, and i read it months ago. Yes, i cried and yes, I felt betrayed and upset, but i understood. The thing people often forget about Tris and Tobias is that they are extremely flawed people who are not stable at all. Tris confuses risk with bravery constantly, and never recognizes how unselfish she truly is. The only way for her to ever redeem herself was in huge acts in which she put herself in immense danger. Through the ending she got in this book (no spoilers), she found her redemption, as sick and twisted as it was. She wouldn't be the Tris we all know and love if she allowed someone else to make a sacrifice for her well being, or if she acepted a situation as it was originally presented to her. She took things into her own hands, and accepted her fate, and I applaud Ms. Roth for knowing who her character was at her core and recognizing the decisions she would make. Please do not deprive yourself of these wonderful books just because of an ending that stays true to the character.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2014

    Reveiw SPOILER ALERT

    I really really love the divergent series they are one of my favorites but the only thing i didnt like was that tris died. I never thought that the main character would die! I was really hoping that her and tobias would have a life together but instead i was cryin my eyes out

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Storytelling I'll do the best I can to not give spoilers.

    Great Storytelling

    I'll do the best I can to not give spoilers.  I'm giving this four stars because it was a good, well written book.  The story line was interesting.  The characters were amazing.  And because of all of that, I couldn't put it down.

    That being said, I hated the ending.  I get that great literature often ends in tragedy, but I don't really think it was necessary here.  When I read other books with tragic endings, I still tend to feel like they ended the way they should.  I didn't get that feeling here.  I kept waiting for the part of the book where they say, "Just kidding! Here's what really happened..."  But that part never came.  Honestly, and please understand I'm saying this mostly in jest, I hope they make the ending different in the movies.  She obviously wanted to think outside the box for her book ending.  It would be cool if they think outside the box again and shock all the readers by changing the ending for the big screen.

    Given how the book ended, I understand why the first person perspective kept changing.  But I agree with someone else's assessment, that at times it became hard to keep track of who's voice I was reading.  IMHO, though, it didn't take away from the story too much.  But I can see how it might be super annoying to others.

    So, given the negatives I just gave, why four stars?  Because I would and will recommend this book, and the series, to friends.  Be angry at the author if you wish (I kind of am,) but the thing is, it was really great storytelling.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 7, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Veronica Roth completes her Divergent Trilogy with a shocking, w

    Veronica Roth completes her Divergent Trilogy with a shocking, well plotted, consistent, rather long installment that has Tris and Tobias venturing out of the only world they have known and being awakened to what is really going on.  Ms. Roth, as has been true for the previous two installments in this (rightfully so) best-selling Young Adult series, pulls no punches and gives the reader no reason to expect the future to be much different from the world inhabited at present. There is much good around each of us, an equaling amount of cause for alarm and each person must make choices that will lead them onto paths that will define the next choice offered them.
    After the “purging” that ended the Insurgent section of the series, the Factions are disbanded, leadership is returning to the tyrannical practices “of the previous administration,” and everyone, it seems, are living with rules that are shadowy and constantly in flux.  Tris, having been branded a traitor because of her actions in the insurrection, must face questioning, after been given Truth Serum, to determine her fate. As a result of her being “divergent,” she is able to withstand the effects of the serum and is given a sentence that gives her to opportunity to escape and fulfill Edith Prior’s directive of “helping us outside the fence.”  Tobias, son of the new leader of the City, surrenders his position to join the Allegiant, a group who want to overthrow the present regime and return to life as it was and also to escape to the world beyond the boundaries of the only reality he has ever known. 
    Similar to Plato’s cave analogy, discovering that what they “knew” to be true was but a illusion meant to keep them entertained until they discovered they were only looking at shadows.  This is an incident of being confronted with truth that was not True.  With each new revelation, each person must assess the information, choose what to believe and take action.  There are changes that must be made and difficult selections to face by all. Late in the book Tobias gives definition to the trilogy, “Sometimes, all it takes to save people from a terrible fate is one person willing to do something about it” (p.438).  
    The story is a bit draggy for the first third to half of its length but once it starts rolling, the reader is often left breathless in an effort to keep pace with its cadence. There is some harsh language , and occasional “romantic” moments that are warm. Told from the alternate, perspectives of Tris and Tobias, the viewpoints are often at odds but whose tension isa foundational to the series. 
    Ms. Roth is brave in her ending the trilogy as she did.  It would have been just as easy to have all the heroes walking in a world that is clean, orderly and without conflict. To have done so would have been to lessen the impact of the trilogy.  It has been honest, offering a realistic assessment of the world, demanding in its assessment that not all good choices end with the reward expected or merited but that does not make the choice any less needed or correct. Difficult conflict will occur and be resolved; life will offer new conflicts just as difficult tomorrow.  Living requires that we: work hard, laugh, make connections, watch those connections be suddenly severed, go make new relationships just as vital, rise each morning with the knowledge that 
    “Life damages us, everyone. We can’t escape that damage. But now, I am also learning this: We can be mended. We mend each other” (p. 526).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2013

    Sad

    Crying

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First of all, I love this series. I've loved it since I read Div

    First of all, I love this series. I've loved it since I read Divergent over a year ago. I gave both other books in the series five stars for how amazing they were. But in Allegiant, it really slowed down for me about 1/4 of the way through. I really reached a point where I had to push myself through. That has never happened before with Roth. Now, it could be because it I was resisting what was happening in the story. It was just falling really flat for me and I was hoping that the series wouldn't go out so ... blandly. Oh, and I guess that it needs to be put out there that it is written in both Tris and Four's pov. Annoying? A little. But I can't imagine the story being written any other way. I think that it's important for us to get inside both of their heads at this point in the story and it really paid off for me in the end.

    But. Veronica Roth really reestablished my love and adoration of the Divergent story. I had lost my way in the big picture of this dystopian society but she pushed it back into focus for me. Man, she is an amazing author. And to think that she started writing this while she was in school ... I see amazing things to come for this lady and I'll be the first in line for any future works.

    Now, before I get too derailed on how awesome Roth is, there is this one quote that Tris says that I absolutely adore ...

    "I fell in love with him. But I don't just stay with him by default as if there's no one else available to me. I stay with him because I choose to, every day that I wake up, every day that we fight or lie to each other or disappoint each other. I choose him over and over again, and he chooses me."


    How awesome is that?!? I'm telling you, you've got to pick this book up.

    There's not much to say about character development, writing style or any of those other things ... Roth really sets up her stories beautifully and you become invested quite quickly in the outcome of the character's lives.

    Anyhow ... I really can't say all that much more about the book ... there are too many things that could be given away. But I will say this ... I didn't latch onto this series because of the warm fuzzies I got while reading it. I like it because of the grittiness of the characters' feelings and the constant internal character struggle between what you should do and what you want to do. I wanted the last installment of this series to rip me to shreds and leave me just sitting there wondering what in the hell happened. Well, to say it plainly, it did. I'm still sitting here wondering how the series could be over and mulling over what took place. Now THAT, makes a great novel.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Saddness beyond words

    The book really tugged at me- it was going okay, although it was a bit confusing about who's P.O.V it was. I was very excited when I found out I lived in Dauntless, but I was hoping for a better ending, instead she gave us the serious reality. It seems like she's taught us a great lesson- possibly accept the cruel reality of life? I'm not quite sure, I can't grasp it. I cry everytime I think about it. It is important that we face the author's point of view. At the time, I regretted reading it. But now, as I feel the emotions, I regret nothing. I understand. This book made me open my vision up to whar we have to accept and I strongly suggest you read this book if you are trapped inside your mind.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Good Book, Still Trying to Process

    I still dont know what to make of this book. Overall, I think it was a good book, but the ending was heartbreaking and totally crushed me. I seriously sat and cried for an hour. I was expecting a happily ever after, that maybe Tris and Tobias would finally have a chance to have a normal relationship, but it was not to be. At least the epilogue was sweet and wrapped up all of the tumultuous emotions presented.

    I do not agree with all of the reviews saying that Veronica Roth ruined her career with the ending. If anything, all of those horrified and jeering reviews will skyrocket her into stardom, making her bigger than she is now, or ever could have been without that ending.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 525 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 27