Customer Reviews for

Allergic to Camping, Hiking, and Other Natural Disasters (Alvin Ho Series #2)

Average Rating 5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(24)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    Halulula!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Halulula they made this book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!It makes a good read!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! + septillion

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2012

    Alvin ho 2

    This is the best of the serious.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2010

    Delightful read for kids and former kids

    Children's favorite grown-ups are often the ones who haven't forgotten what it's like to be a kid. Some of the best children's authors are those who can read their young subjects' thoughts. Beverly Cleary comes to mind with her kindergartner Ramona Quimby. So does Jeff Kinney with his "wimpy" middle-schooler Greg Heffley.
    And now Lenore Look brings us Alvin Ho, whom she introduced in the first book as "Allergic to Girls, School and Other Scary Things" and who is now "Allergic to Camping, Hiking and Other Natural Disasters."
    Alvin Ho is directed at 6- to 10-year-olds. While my 14- and 11-year-old sons are far past the easy-reading stage, they each spent part of a camping afternoon chuckling at hapless Alvin, who in an early chapter dreams he meets a young Henry David Thoreau, who convinces Alvin to try to hatch a nest of bird eggs. (And any second-grader can tell you what happens when you sit on eggs.)
    I needed somebody to keep me alert while driving home from the camping trip, so I asked my 14-year-old to read aloud. I found myself laughing even harder than the boys did at Alvin's predicaments.
    Alvin's father suggests - horrors! - that they take a camping trip. Suddenly Alvin, already a bundle of childhood nerves, has a whole new list of things to worry about: pit toilets, freak blizzards, flash floods, meteorites. In short: acts of God.
    "Millions die at once in an act of God!" Alvin tells his dad. "It's the worst way to go. We could be in line forever!"
    "In line?" asks his dad.
    "To get into heaven," Alvin says.
    "You're not going to heaven," says Alvin's dad. "You're only going camping."
    Alvin's Uncle Dennis gives him some reassurances. One: Used as earplugs, marshmallows help you get a good night's sleep. Two: If you run out of food, you can always eat maggots. Three: Wear a Batman ring.
    Will Alvin survive his camping trip? Will the Batman ring protect the campers from thunderstorms? Will the children be able to free their dad from the snare Alvin sets in the woods?
    Author Look's ability to empathize with Alvin, stuck between a 9-year-old brother who's not afraid of anything and a 4-year-old sister who gets her way by charming the dickens out of their Chinese grandfather, will tickle the funnybone in almost any child. It's also a delightful read for former kids who remember their own childhood anxieties.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2012

    Awesome

    I love alivin ho

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 27, 2013

    No

    No he is chiniese or japinese

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Js

    Sjs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2012

    Fuck off

    Ffdjdfsvj

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2012

    Funny

    This book is funny!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    The best!

    it is a good book and for everyone

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 25, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    My students really enjoyed the first Alvin Ho and they were offering me money to get the second Alvin Ho and they are enjoying this one as much as the first one!!!!

    GREAT!!! Students are enjoying every time I read the novel to them!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    Children's Book

    My son loved the book!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2