Customer Reviews for

Allergic to Death (Gourmet De-Lite Mystery Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 18, 2012

    I like it. The key characters are all likable, from Gigi whose

    I like it. The key characters are all likable, from Gigi whose dogged
    pursuit of justice helped to apprehend a killer. There’s her best friend
    Sienna who plays the role of sidekick and lends a welcome ear when
    needed. Adorable Reg who gives Gigi unconditional love and then there’s
    Detective Mertz. The author did a good job in keeping me in suspense in
    this nicely prepared mystery that entertained me from beginning to its
    rewarding conclusion. This is an irresistibly and appetizingly
    delightful debut in the cozy genre that I hope is here to stay.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 12, 2014

    Allergic to Death

    This was an enjoyable mystery story. It was a quick read and interesting that it touched on peanut allergy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2013

    The idea of this first cozy by Peg Cochran is very practical and

    The idea of this first cozy by Peg Cochran is very practical and timely.  Gigi runs a delectable gourmet diet food catering business where she prepares delicious whole fresh foods for her clients every meal.  Unfortunately, someone used her delivery service to manage to murder one of her clients. Even though the death is deemed  'accidental', death of a customer is never a selling point for this type of service.  The only reasonable thing GIgi feels she can do, is find out for herself what really happened.




    Many characters in this story are centered around a local theater group.  Overacting and huge temperaments prevail to make detecting difficult for Gigi.  Tall, handsome Detective Mertz tempts Gigi to make friends, as does Carlo, who runs an Italian restaurant.  Convincing people that someone is a murderer and it's not her, Gigi gets into many fascinating, and sometimes dangerous situations, but her whole business and beautiful new cottage will only remain hers if she can reveal the murderer.  The only good result of all this seems to be Reg, the adorable dog of the murdered woman.  Gigi adopts Reg and he becomes her 'buddy' and informal body guard.




    Fun characters, yummy foods, an adorable dog, and a mysterious 'accident' makes this a great first read that left me with an appetite for more!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Loved it

    I really could not put it down. Gigi was not full of herself like so many charactes are. Which tells me that the writer is not either, how refreashing. I can't wait for her new book. I hope that she gives detective mertz a chance.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Gigi Fitzgarald has brought a new diet plan to Woodstone with he

    Gigi Fitzgarald has brought a new diet plan to Woodstone with her business Gigi's Gourmet De-lite. She makes 3 meals a day for her clients. With Martha Bernhardt, a restaurant reviewer, as her newest client she just knows her business is going to grow as her clients lose some inches. When Martha drops dead after eating one of Gigi's meals things just go nuts! Seems Martha had a peanut allergy and there were traces of peanut oil in her last meal.

    Gigi know she didn't drizzle any peanut oil anywhere near Martha's meal so she needs to find out who did and fast before more of her clients start dropping like flies instead of dropping the pounds.

    The author has created a wonderful mix of characters in a wonderful setting. Gigi has just enough spice to make her a woman to reckoned with and a heart that will have you rooting for her from the first chapter. Her friend Sienna is a great sounding board and Detective Mertz was really growing me and Gigi too. The puppy on the cover is a lovable Westie that used to belong to Martha. Gigi wastes no time in agreeing to take in her new four legged friend.

    As someone who is allergic to nuts this story his me on a personal level. Thankfully I have never had a severe reaction and watch what I eat so have not even had a minor flare up in years. But what a perfect way to commit a murder. Well almost perfect because the culprit does get caught.

    A great debut for what I know is going to be a great series. There are even some of Gigi's de-lite-ful recipes to try and some dieting tips too!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2012

    Love the t Love the theme

    Satisfying read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 9 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1