Customer Reviews for

Allergic to Girls, School, and Other Scary Things (Alvin Ho Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 81 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(47)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Alvin the greatest book

This book will get anybody exctied to read the next book

posted by 10631388 on January 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This book is to cute

I read this book because the cover was cute. And it turned out being the cutest book EVER he is so shy and overcomes his fears read this book rox!!!!!

posted by Anonymous on September 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2012

    Alvin the greatest book

    This book will get anybody exctied to read the next book

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2011

    Great book

    Our son is 8 and a second grader who was diagnosed with Asperger's Syndrome this year. He relates to Alvin and this character has become one of his favorites. He sees himself in many of the things that Alvin does. I'm not sure if the author wrote this book with the intention of making him something a child on the Autism Spectrum can relate to but the book does such a good job that I've suggested it to other parents.

    Our son devoured this book and is now asking to get all the others on our Nook so he can read more about Alvin and how he is coping with his anxiety and issues.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Same here

    I have to read it to for a book club if you're reading this tell me what teacher you do it with maybe we go to the same school or are close by to each other

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Anymonous

    Alvin is a character most people can relate to this is a great book read it twice its really good if you dont like school but yeah best in the series

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    alvin ho

    So funny:-,

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2012

    Raft

    I am 1,000,000,000,000,000,000,000,000 thuw this book wich is ? done

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Alvin Ho: Great book for the shy kid!

    Alvin Ho is a Chinese-American boy living in Concord, Massachusetts, who is terribly shy and quiet at school. No matter how hard he tries not even a peep will exit his mouth. There is one girl who understand him, his desk buddy, but she's a girl! To make up for all that shyness on weekends and holidays he is "Firecracker Man" His bouts of silence at school, and his allergy to girls, school and other scary things, make for some fun-filled adventures. They also help him come to terms with who he is. Along the way Alvin learns about Shakespeare, the American Revolution, and Chinese traditions. He also learns who is true friends are and that joining a gang doesn't make life any easier. As I read this book I could imagine a shy first or second grade boy reading it and sympathizing with all of Alvin's woes and worries. It's written in the voice of second grader, Alvin which makes it really easy to read. Overall I would rate this book right up there with Junie B. Jones,(which I consider I very enjoyable books for 1-2nd grade students to read as a first chapter book.) I would recommend it as a read aloud in second grade or individual read for a child who is reading at least on a second grade level or higher. Very enjoyable for boys to read. I can't go without saying something about the pen and ink illustrations. When I first saw the book I couldn't believe the publish date was 2008. The ink drawings reminded me of old cartoon commercials or magazine cartoon characters. They just lead to an old time feel but complimented the story so well due to their simplicity. The drawing also represented the characters emotions to a tee.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book!

    This is one of the best books for children my son and I ever read. I love the way the author includes a bit of biographical facts, historic facts and humor into the story. My son got a brief introduction to The American Revolutionary War, Shakespeare, Beethoven, Concord Massachusetts, true friendship, Chinese culture and other fun facts. We highly recommend this book to everyone.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    Dumb

    Awsome

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2013

    #7

    Whoever wrote #7that person is inapropet i am 9am i dont want to know that so ya thanks for runing my day

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Funny

    Ffffffffuuuuuuunnnnnnnnnnyyyyyyyyyyyyy he is so scared

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2012

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 1,000,000,000,000% #1

    Alvin Ho has a brother called Calvin and a sister called Anibelly.
    He has a interesting life.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's funny!

    Great book!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    Such a great book!!!

    If I had any contacts I would recomend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    funny funny funny

    i loved it it wad very funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    TO:Mean

    Then your gay

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Fart

    Butt town

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2012

    Awesome

    Awesome

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Fantastic series!

    These books are great for elementary kids. Funny and clever, I think a lot of kids will relate to Alvin's struggles. Lenore Look does an amazing job capturing the voice of a 6 year old.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 6, 2011

    Wrong review book naame

    It was santas red spaceship , the review i did ***nyan cats are epic** epic nyan cat-reviewer

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 47 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3