Customer Reviews for

Alligator Records 40th Anniversary Collection

Average Rating 5
( 1 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star


4 Star


3 Star


2 Star


1 Star


Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation


  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted May 7, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    40 Years Of Lively Blues (And Proud Of It)

    While many record labels began to stop recording blues artists as the 1970's progressed, Alligator Records has been making them steadily over the years. Formed in 1971, the Chicago-based label was personally funded by Bruce Iglauer who produced Hound Dog Taylor & The House Rockers. It has since become the home of Koko Taylor, Albert Collins, Son Seals, Marcia Ball, Charles Musselwaite and many others. While their 20th and 25th anniversary compilations were less than spectacular, their 40th anniversary collection is truly just that. The reason for that is because Alligator's roster has gotten better in the last decade alone. Another reason is that these recordings are not overproduced and have a clear, audacious sound with very few overdubs, giving these recordings are truly live sound. Among the up and coming artists are Tommy Castro ("Backup Plan"), Shemekia Copeland ("It's My Own Tears") and Coco Montoya ("Last Dirty Deal"). Meanwhile, it has also been the repository of past greats who still had a few more good recordings in them, such as Johnny Winter, Mavis Staples, James Cotton and Professor Longhair. The collection begins with Koko Taylor (who recorded with the label for 25 years) doing her smoldering take on Muddy Waters' "Mannish Boy" and turns it into "I'm A Woman". There are also updated versions of classic blues such as Roomful of Blues take on "That's A Pretty Good Love". Buckwheat Zydeco appears here as well with a little bit of cajun music on "When The Levee Breaks" (not to be confused with Led Zepellin's song of the same name). However, the truly remarkable songs here are the ones by the unknowns. These include Guitar Shorty's triumphantly defiant "We The People" and Lil' Ed & The Blues Imperials' grossly hilarious "Icicles In My Meatloaf". My personal favorite is a faster, louder and arguably better rendition of Lonnie Mack's "Wham!" done by Lonnie himself and guest Stevie Ray Vaughan. Alligator has often prided itself on "Original Houserocking Music". The 40th anniversary collection proves that and demands that you turn the volume all the way up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1