Customer Reviews for

The Alloy of Law (Mistborn Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 235 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(156)

4 Star

(53)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

brilliant story line

In the last few decades a steel based technology boom has come to Scadrial. The new Steel Age has led to railroads traversing the surface, electric lights on streets and skyscrapers. At the same time, the ancient magical system of Allomancy, Feruchemy, and Hemalurgy r...
In the last few decades a steel based technology boom has come to Scadrial. The new Steel Age has led to railroads traversing the surface, electric lights on streets and skyscrapers. At the same time, the ancient magical system of Allomancy, Feruchemy, and Hemalurgy remains potent though more so in the perilous Roughs than in the urban centers.

For twenty years Waxillium Ladrian has enforced the law in the Rough using his Twinborn skill of deploying Allomancy to Pull metal and employing Feruchemy to change his weight. However, his time in the Rough is over as he must return home to the modern city of Elendel to replace his recently deceased uncle as Lord Ladrian. However, he learns upon coming home that a ruthless gang of thieves the Vanishers are abducting women and stealing cargo from the railcars. His sense of justice and honor has Wax, along with his friend depraved Wayne and genius Marasi, on a mission to rescue the kidnapped and to end the Vanishers reign of robberies.

The Alloy of Law is a stand alone urban fantasy that occurs in the lands of the Mistborn Trilogy, but in the future three centuries after the heroes of the previous tales are alive only as legends. The brilliant story line can be read without the perusing the trilogy though those who do so will miss out on a fabulous magical fantasy series. The key to this strong action adventure is the emerging competition between magic and technology except when a rare practitioner combines them. Wax and his two compatriots add amusing banter to a brisk High Noon in Mistborn guns and sorcery thriller.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on October 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

YaWN

Loved the original trilogy. This seems forced. The endless exvhanges between Wax and Wayne point to massive releases of author ego. Inuendo is fun and charming unless fed in massive amounts. Large koloss are growing on energy expended hoping this would be an engag...
Loved the original trilogy. This seems forced. The endless exvhanges between Wax and Wayne point to massive releases of author ego. Inuendo is fun and charming unless fed in massive amounts. Large koloss are growing on energy expended hoping this would be an engaging story.

posted by 10388293 on January 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12
  • Posted October 6, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    brilliant story line

    In the last few decades a steel based technology boom has come to Scadrial. The new Steel Age has led to railroads traversing the surface, electric lights on streets and skyscrapers. At the same time, the ancient magical system of Allomancy, Feruchemy, and Hemalurgy remains potent though more so in the perilous Roughs than in the urban centers.

    For twenty years Waxillium Ladrian has enforced the law in the Rough using his Twinborn skill of deploying Allomancy to Pull metal and employing Feruchemy to change his weight. However, his time in the Rough is over as he must return home to the modern city of Elendel to replace his recently deceased uncle as Lord Ladrian. However, he learns upon coming home that a ruthless gang of thieves the Vanishers are abducting women and stealing cargo from the railcars. His sense of justice and honor has Wax, along with his friend depraved Wayne and genius Marasi, on a mission to rescue the kidnapped and to end the Vanishers reign of robberies.

    The Alloy of Law is a stand alone urban fantasy that occurs in the lands of the Mistborn Trilogy, but in the future three centuries after the heroes of the previous tales are alive only as legends. The brilliant story line can be read without the perusing the trilogy though those who do so will miss out on a fabulous magical fantasy series. The key to this strong action adventure is the emerging competition between magic and technology except when a rare practitioner combines them. Wax and his two compatriots add amusing banter to a brisk High Noon in Mistborn guns and sorcery thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    17 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    YaWN

    Loved the original trilogy. This seems forced. The endless exvhanges between Wax and Wayne point to massive releases of author ego. Inuendo is fun and charming unless fed in massive amounts. Large koloss are growing on energy expended hoping this would be an engaging story.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Yes I pre-ordered this

    Because its awesome.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Yes, I also pre-ordered it!

    Brandon sanderson, gods gift to fantasy readers!

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2012

    Still love Sanderson.

    I am a huge fan of Brandon Sanderson's books and the original trilogy was outstanding! As interesting as it was to see this world move on and follow someone else, this book really felt forced. The writing is still wonderful and the book was enjoyable, but why was it even written? The trilogy ended beautifully and this just feels like an uneeded sequel. Still a good short read, but this is the only book by Sanderson that I have felt dissapointment of.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    It was a good book. A quick read & you don't have to read th

    It was a good book. A quick read & you don't have to read the prior series as it can stand alone. My biggest problem was that I got the "free" prequel & then paid 12 bucks to get the last few chapters & the book was only 279pgs so I felt cheated. For 12 bucks I was expecting a 500ish pg book. While it did have a few twists & turns it wasn't as good as the majority of his other books are.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2011

    Excellent

    Takes a justice bound sherlock with powers and matches him with impossible odds- all the time with good humor and character development.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2011

    A great stand alone book but a little short

    This was a great book with a lot of excitement and a great western/steam-age feel. If you haven't read the previous books that's all right this book is a fresh start for a new series. Some of the pictures are hard to read on the nook version, which is kind of important for the full feel of the story. Also I wish the book was a little longer, only 200 or so pages.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    More Please.

    For some reason this book reminds me of Firefly/Serenity. Loved it :)

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2011

    Promises to be another great Sanderson novel!

    From the preview, starts slow but picks up quickly, as typical with his books. Just push yourself through the first ten minutes, you will be glad you did. Undoubtedly one of the best fantasy fiction writers yet.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 15, 2013

    Not Sanderson's best novel but it is a fun and quick read. The

    Not Sanderson's best novel but it is a fun and quick read.
    The plot is acceptable and the characters are somewhat interesting, but seem borrowed from other Sanderson novels. The action sequences in this novel get a little tired and comic.
    What makes this book worth reading is that Sanderson is a good storyteller but the original Mistborn novels where significantly better.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Feels nice to return to the lands of the mistborn

    My favorite parts of the Mistborn trilogy were the well done action sequences, and Alloy of Law did not disappoint on that measure one bit. The evolution of religion in the intervening years between Hero of Ages and this fourth Mistborn book was super interesting for me as well. Can't wait to read another book involving Wax and Wayne(nice character pun there, Mr. Sanderson). Feels complete, yet more to come is exposed in Epilogue. Recommend to any who enjoyed the Mistborn trilogy, and also as a first book in the series to those who may not like fantasy but love steampunk. Will be letting the ten year old read for that reason, and because while there is acknowledgment that men and women interact and love each other, the book is neither too sexy, not too gory.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    A book Mistborn fans will enjoy.

    You don't have to read the previous books to read this one. There is a character that appears at the end of the book that is from the original trilogy who is supposed to be dead. I'm interested in seeing where that story line goes so I'll probably be reading the next one. Even though I liked this book, I liked the original trilogy more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Just wasn't for me. Did I enjoy this book: It was everything I

    Just wasn't for me.

    Did I enjoy this book: It was everything I loved about the Mistborn Trilogy, but set, unfortunately, in some sort of post-Vin-and-Elend Wild West.  I like Wax and his crew, but I’m not really a fan of gun fights, train robberies, or the classic “Bad Guy Kidnapping Girls for Use in His Evil Scheme” bit.  I suppose it’s an interesting Metallurgic version of the Old West, but it just wasn’t for me.




    I’m contemplating the pros and cons of continuing the series.




    Would I recommend it: Actually, yes.  Especially if you’ve read the Mistborn Trilogy, would you pretty please read this one and get back to me?  I can’t possibly be the only one who loved the first three books and didn’t really care for this one, can I?




    As reviewed by Melissa at Every Free Chance Book Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2014

    Very good...ties into the world of the Mistborn

    I really liked. This book. It has several nods to the Mistborn books, but this one can stand on its own. I highly recommend it if you liked the Mistborn books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Not bad

    If you liked the mistborn series you'll enjoy this book. He did a god job of moving the series into a new era i would say.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    An OK read

    Not anywhere as interesting or deep as the Mistborn series. The book had a bit of a caper feel to it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2013

    If you liked the Mistborn Trilogy, You will like this addition!

    Set three hundred years after the events in the Trilogy, this books follows Waxillium Ladrian as he tries to untangle the problems associated with a family empire that has fallen into direpair through neglect. His. Electricity runs the lights and businesses in Elendel, but allomancy is still alive and well, with a few surprises. A must read for Sanderson fans!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Another awesome Sanderson novel

    This one took me a bit longer to get into it but midway through it becomes very action packed. I think the lack of Mistborn also kind of threw me but he really does an amazing job making the mistings diverse and interesting.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 10, 2013

    Browse read

    Difficult to follow.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 235 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 12